We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Views, Very Comfortable Accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penneshaw
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We already had 3 nights at Cape de Couedic under our belt by the time we got to Cape Willoughby. We had enjoyed Cape de Couedic so much I was concerned we would be disappointed. Wrong! Seymour Cottage was just as wonderful and quite a different experience, I highly recommend staying at both.

The "cottage" is huge, 5 bedrooms, big kitchen, dining room and lounge. I was a little concerned that there were only electric column heaters and it was the middle of winter but the cottage was very warm and cosy.

The cottage has all mod cons, a well equipped kitchen, very comfortable beds and a BBQ is supplied if you ask the Ranger.

The lighthouse tour is a must do and we loved walking down to the ocean to fish off the rocks in the late afternoon, no fish, but the seal and dolphins swimming past right in front of us more than made up for that!

The lighthouse is located 26km from either Penneshaw on a part sealed part dirt road which was closed on the day we were due to arrived, the Ranger kindly rang to tell us an alternative route which was the same distance but all unsealed, despite an extended period of rain beforehand the road was easily navigated in our car.

Bring what you need for meals from Penneshaw or Kingscote, its a long drive in the dirt if you forget something!

Very highly recommended for anyone looking for peace and quiet, mobile phone coverage (Telstra only) but no TV make this a relaxing getaway!

Room Tip: Stay 5 nights at any of the Lighthouse Keepers cottages and receive a free parks pass. Doing this me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3littlepigsgotroppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear 3littlepigsgotroppo,

Thank you again for another glowing review! It sounds like you planned your holiday well, saving travel time by booking accommodation at more than one location and giving yourselves plenty of time to explore Kangaroo Island. We’re pleased to hear that you found your experience at Cape Willoughby just as rewarding as your stay at Cape du Couedic. As you have noted both are ideal locations to escape to and enjoy Kangaroo Island’s wild and natural environment and yet each has its own special character. We’re glad that you found your stay at Seymour Cottage so comfortable and relaxing – even if the seals and dolphins did beat you to the fish!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 84 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We drove from Sunny Queensland in the middle of winter for this experience, it took us 4 days and the stay at Seymour Cottage was well worth the drive. The staff are great and very helpfull. At night we enjoyed playing board games and going over our adventures for the day. The cottage is huge with 5 bedrooms and huge living areas. Take a group of friends and have a weekend of a lifetime without even leaving the lighthouse. Their is a short but stunning walk from the cottage to the waters edge and wildlife at the front and back door. I would recommed staying at a lighthouse at either end of the Island as it is a very large Island.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear Jessica F,

We’re glad that your long journey from Queensland was rewarded by such a positive experience at Cape Willoughby! We agree that a holiday at Seymour or Thomas Cottage is a lifetime experience which everyone should take the opportunity to enjoy. Guests often find that walking in the spectacular natural environment surrounding the lighthouse and relaxing in the comfort of the lighthouse keeper’s cottage is the perfect combination. Visitors wishing to explore more of Kangaroo Island can choose from three other equally stunning accommodation locations – Cape Borda on the north west coast, Cape du Couedic in the south west and Rocky River in the heart of Flinders Chase National Park. Add these to your bucket list too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in Thomas Cottage for 2 nights and wished we could stay for a night or two longer. The cottage was spacious, very clean, beautifully decorated and kept us warm in winter (June 2012). The location was great (lighthouse was literally at our backyard, best place to view sunrises, and away from main roads) but anyone staying here must get used to the 40min of slow drive (more than half of it on gravel road) from Penneshaw. But we are not complaining for we love the leisurely drive (driving within natural arches formed by Eucalytus trees, with roos hopping here and there). We also took some leisurely strolls around the location and we just loved the solitude this place offered. Next door to us is the visitor centre and the guide there was friendly, offering information whenever we needed any. Highly recommended for groups of 4 to 8 looking for some quiet get-away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWTok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear SWTok,

Thank you for your positive review of your stay at Cape Willoughby! We’re pleased to hear that you not only enjoyed the comforts of Thomas Cottage and its spectacular setting amidst stunning coastal scenery, but also took pleasure in driving through the beautiful landscapes on your journey to Cape Willoughby. The staff at Cape Willoughby are delighted to receive your compliments on the presentation of Thomas Cottage – thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We took our Scottish friends to this fabulous location and stayed in Seymour cottage for 2 nights. The drive there does involve a bit of 'dirt road', but that shouldn't put you off. The two cottages (both identical) can house about 8 people, so it's ideal for families or two couples travelling together as we were.. however, there's only one bathroom and a separate toilet.
The first night was very wild - howling winds and driving rain - we loved it! (my husband kept looking at the little red light on the fire detector on the bedroom ceiling to make sure the ceiling was still there!!!)
We self-catered and stayed in for breakfast & dinner - you need to take everything with you, as there's nothing provided beyond a few tea-bags and long life milk - so head for the supermarket in Penneshaw or Kingscote before you head 'home'.
We just loved the place (which dates to 1927) and our very kind (and informative) hostess/ranger gave us a private tour of the lighthouse on the morning we left (as it fitted into our schedule better) - all most interesting. Our only complaint was the lack of a 'Trivial Pursuit' game.
We can definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting a different experience and not worried about a 'posh hotel' environment.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank rbinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear rbinsydney,

One thing you don’t have to worry about when you’re staying at the lighthouse keeper’s cottages at Cape Willoughby is “bad” weather! Guests often report that storms experienced from within the comfort and protection of either Thomas or Seymour Cottage make the stay even more memorable. We’re glad you found the experience so exhilarating!

As you have noted, guests staying at Cape Willoughby only need to bring their food supplies as these cottages are fully self-contained with modern conveniences. We’re pleased that you appreciated the sense of history in these spacious cottages and the homely feel, including the range of board games. We’ll take on board your suggestion of including Trivial Pursuit!

Thank you very much for your positive review. Your kind remarks will be passed on to the staff at Cape Willoughby.

Regards,


Carol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The time we stayed in this location for 1 night in April 2012 we found it very spacious and clean, the accommodation was fantastic. The Views and the solitude was worth every penny.
The people we met where all so very friendly. At sunset we went for a walk to take in the whole ambiance of this location and take in the fresh air.

Room Tip: Take a punt and expect the ordinary and be totally blown away with the quality and comfort of the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnom47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear Guest Jonnom47

Thank you for your glowing review of our accommodation at Cape Willoughby! We are pleased that you found your cottage to be such a comfortable refuge after enjoying the breathtaking coastal scenery on your evening walk. The staff at Cape Willoughby make every effort to make guests welcome and take pride in the presentation of Thomas and Seymour Cottages. They will be delighted to hear that their efforts added to your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed at Seymour Cottage for 6 nights and it was a great base for our KI holiday. The cottage had plenty of space, beds, facilities and was very well maintained which made for a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. The local roos were a treat especially when they greeted us each night on our return. The views were spectacular and the kids loved the night sky with so many stars. The free KI Parks Pass which came with our stay was well used. The staff were excellent and friendly with lots of local knowledge of what to see and do. The lighthouse tour is a must with lots of historical information and incredible views. Dudley Winery on Willoughby Road is great for a tasting, gourmet pizza and views. The wildlife on the road at night was incredible but drive slowly and enjoy the parade.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

An idyllic setting in which to take time away from the 'real' world. The scenery is breath-taking, the wildlife is fascinating, and the peace and tranquility are priceless. Not to mention the staff who are friendly, helpful and obliging.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLF_48_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear Guest KLF_48_12
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Cape Willoughby and for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. The remote location, stunning coastal scenery and encounters with wildlife certainly make Cape Willoughby the ideal place to get away from it all. Your compliments on the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff will be passed on to the team at Cape Willoughby!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penneshaw
75.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
53.9 mi away
Waves and Wildlife Cottages
Waves and Wildlife Cottages
#1 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Flour Cask Bay Retreat
Flour Cask Bay Retreat
#2 of 2 in American River
30 reviews
14.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
399 reviews
13.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Backpackers - Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation

Address: 2708 Cape Willoughby Road | Kangaroo Island, Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Penneshaw
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Penneshaw
Price Range: $170 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular sunrises, listen to the waves crashing onto the nearby cliffs and catch a glimpse of a Sea Eagle whilst staying in one of two beautifully restored five bedroom Heritage listed Lighthouse Keepers Cottage at stunning Cape Willoughby on Kangaroo Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation Kangaroo Island/Penneshaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing