We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very different accom choice - it's good to be different!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penneshaw
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation
Cremorne, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very different accom choice - it's good to be different!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We took our Scottish friends to this fabulous location and stayed in Seymour cottage for 2 nights. The drive there does involve a bit of 'dirt road', but that shouldn't put you off. The two cottages (both identical) can house about 8 people, so it's ideal for families or two couples travelling together as we were.. however, there's only one bathroom and a separate toilet.
The first night was very wild - howling winds and driving rain - we loved it! (my husband kept looking at the little red light on the fire detector on the bedroom ceiling to make sure the ceiling was still there!!!)
We self-catered and stayed in for breakfast & dinner - you need to take everything with you, as there's nothing provided beyond a few tea-bags and long life milk - so head for the supermarket in Penneshaw or Kingscote before you head 'home'.
We just loved the place (which dates to 1927) and our very kind (and informative) hostess/ranger gave us a private tour of the lighthouse on the morning we left (as it fitted into our schedule better) - all most interesting. Our only complaint was the lack of a 'Trivial Pursuit' game.
We can definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting a different experience and not worried about a 'posh hotel' environment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rbinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear rbinsydney,

One thing you don’t have to worry about when you’re staying at the lighthouse keeper’s cottages at Cape Willoughby is “bad” weather! Guests often report that storms experienced from within the comfort and protection of either Thomas or Seymour Cottage make the stay even more memorable. We’re glad you found the experience so exhilarating!

As you have noted, guests staying at Cape Willoughby only need to bring their food supplies as these cottages are fully self-contained with modern conveniences. We’re pleased that you appreciated the sense of history in these spacious cottages and the homely feel, including the range of board games. We’ll take on board your suggestion of including Trivial Pursuit!

Thank you very much for your positive review. Your kind remarks will be passed on to the staff at Cape Willoughby.

Regards,


Carol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

The time we stayed in this location for 1 night in April 2012 we found it very spacious and clean, the accommodation was fantastic. The Views and the solitude was worth every penny.
The people we met where all so very friendly. At sunset we went for a walk to take in the whole ambiance of this location and take in the fresh air.

Room Tip: Take a punt and expect the ordinary and be totally blown away with the quality and comfort of the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnom47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Guest Jonnom47

Thank you for your glowing review of our accommodation at Cape Willoughby! We are pleased that you found your cottage to be such a comfortable refuge after enjoying the breathtaking coastal scenery on your evening walk. The staff at Cape Willoughby make every effort to make guests welcome and take pride in the presentation of Thomas and Seymour Cottages. They will be delighted to hear that their efforts added to your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed at Seymour Cottage for 6 nights and it was a great base for our KI holiday. The cottage had plenty of space, beds, facilities and was very well maintained which made for a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. The local roos were a treat especially when they greeted us each night on our return. The views were spectacular and the kids loved the night sky with so many stars. The free KI Parks Pass which came with our stay was well used. The staff were excellent and friendly with lots of local knowledge of what to see and do. The lighthouse tour is a must with lots of historical information and incredible views. Dudley Winery on Willoughby Road is great for a tasting, gourmet pizza and views. The wildlife on the road at night was incredible but drive slowly and enjoy the parade.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

An idyllic setting in which to take time away from the 'real' world. The scenery is breath-taking, the wildlife is fascinating, and the peace and tranquility are priceless. Not to mention the staff who are friendly, helpful and obliging.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLF_48_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Guest KLF_48_12
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Cape Willoughby and for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. The remote location, stunning coastal scenery and encounters with wildlife certainly make Cape Willoughby the ideal place to get away from it all. Your compliments on the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff will be passed on to the team at Cape Willoughby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

We had 5 nights in restored lighthouse keeper cottages reun by by the South Australian Government and they were fantastic. the 5 night stay also gave us a free National parks pass which was excellent value. The cottages were very spacious and had ample beds and bedding. The views were amazing, enhanced by the tour of the lighthouse. We had to bring everything in and the foodie spots on KI provided plenty of good ingredients as did the lovely local wines.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bronwyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Guest bronwyn p,
You found the perfect combination – taking in the magnificent views at Cape Willoughby while sampling Kangaroo Island’s fine wines and other delicious local produce! We are pleased that the lighthouse tour added to your experience and that by staying for five nights you were able to enjoy the bonus of a complimentary Kangaroo Island Tour Pass for free entry into Flinders Chase, Seal Bay, Kelly Hill, Cape Borda and Cape Willoughby. Thank you very much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed at all three lightkeeper’s cottages on Kangaroo Island managed by the National Parks and all were of a high standard and spotlessly clean. Cape Willoughby offers views back to the mainland and interesting walks on the Dudley Peninsula. In good weather Antechamber Bay is the place to be. If the weather kicks up a visit to the local wineries is the go.
There are three lightkeeper’s cottages here, one used as the national parks office, interpretation centre etc and the other two available to visitors. At night when everyone departs you have the whole area to yourself. The house was comfortable, clean and welcoming.
Don’t miss the lighthouse tour with the knowledgeable guides who will explain the amazing feat of the construction of the light. Walks to the local beaches and coves are most rewarding.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

A fantastic location, good accomadation and excellent service from National Parks staff

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebbedydoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penneshaw
75.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
13.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
30.5 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
30.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation

Property: Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation
Address: 2708 Cape Willoughby Road | Kangaroo Island, Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Penneshaw
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Penneshaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular sunrises, listen to the waves crashing onto the nearby cliffs and catch a glimpse of a Sea Eagle whilst staying in one of two beautifully restored five bedroom Heritage listed Lighthouse Keepers Cottage at stunning Cape Willoughby on Kangaroo Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Willoughby Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation Kangaroo Island/Penneshaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing