We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxed, luxurious, beautiful”
Sitting & Dining Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting & Dining Room
Sitting Room View from main deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Sitting & Dining Room
Sitting Room
View from main deck
Exterior
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Bedroom two
Study Library
Sitting Room
Sunset from deck
Dining area
View from sitting room
Sitting Room
Early morning drive
Master Bedroom Bath
Third bedroom
our neighbours!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TieTravel...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Relaxed, luxurious, beautiful”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

A good holiday means staying in a place that relaxes and inspires and this place did all these The house is stylishly decorated, with plentiful supply of good books and music to make one want to cocoon one self on the sofa and never to venture out but just gaze at the ferry coming in and an odd wallaby dropping by in front of the deck. We did venture out though and enjoyed lazy lunch at Chapman River wines, discovered a hidden beach at Stokes bay and sampled local honey. But the highlight was always heading back at night to our home away from home. The bottle shop supplied the excellent Chapman Rover Rose, the sunset was to die for and that night we caught a glimpse of a resident albino kangaroo. A perfect ending to a perfect stay. And that is with a toddler in tow!! A miracle really...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the stylish yet relaxed decor
Liked least: nothing - loved it
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G
Mornington Peninsula
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hospitality”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

What can I say about our stay at Thorn Park on the Island. We arrived about a week ago, and there is always some hesitation when arriving at your chosen lodgings but as soon as we pulled up in the car and saw all the wildlife surrounding the house, the beautiful deck and the magnificent view, we knew we had chosen well (or at least Mum had!!!). But once we got inside we couldn't believe how spacious and beautifully furnished it was and that David and Michael had thought of everything. They obviously enjoy this house and use it a lot, there are a lot of books, music, movies and artworks that reflect them and to allow us to share all of that was so generous. Mum delighted in the books, Dad in the music (big opera fan) and the children in the fact that they had the wallabies to feed every night. We leave tomorrow but it has been such a joy to stay in this special home in the lovely Penneshaw. KI is wonderful and we have enjoyed every minute. We highly recommend Seal Bay, Admirals Arch, Remarkable Rocks, Kelly Hill Caves, BushGetaway adventures with the inspiring Ben and his dream for the future. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the fact that you were surrounded by wildlife that came up to your door
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewed October 26, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Walkerville
Reviewed October 7, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adelaide
Reviewed August 23, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sally C
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for anything more as everything was provided.”
Reviewed May 17, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Thorn Park has everything you could possibly want with all the comforts of home. The views are fabulous, the beds comfortable and plenty of space for our group of 6 to spread out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing