We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity and private beaches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antechamber Bay Retreats
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Serenity and private beaches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The views will blow you away immediately! A true 180 deg view of farm lands through beaches lighthouse and across the ocean to mainland Aus. The beaches are secluded white sand with crystal clear waters full of fish. This place is a small piece of paradise. This is a working farm with all the prerequisite animals and wildlife. The old house is one of south australias oldest homes and is in fantastic conditon and very comfortable with open fire and views to die for from the kitchen dining room. We had a fantastic stay and I hope you do too!

Room Tip: Swim in the sea. Walk or run for fitness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilfo, Owner at Antechamber Bay Retreats, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to respond to your stay at Nats we look forward to the next visit. Regards Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We cannot recommend Nat's House more highly. The position is beautiful with spectacular sunrises and sunsets overlooking the ocean. The historic house is full of charm and character. The family that own the farm are lovely and extremely helpful. Our children loved being on a real working farm, feeding chooks and swimming at the long deserted beaches. The whales frolicking in the bay were an added bonus.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buddkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilfo, Owner at Antechamber Bay Retreats, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and your comments on trip advisor. Regards Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

We were seeking a beautiful, country getaway and we found it. We stayed for two whole weeks with our toddler. 'Nat's', as this rambling old house is called, sits atop a cliff with a stunning view in the most beautiful corner of Kangaroo Island. You can amble down to a pristine private beach, lounge on the huge verandah watching the sun go down, and watch wild peacocks and curious sheep mill about on the lawns. The house feels like a home, not a hotel, fully equipped with everything you'll need for a summer (or winter, for that matter!) holiday. Kate and Andy's hospitality was great, and we enjoyed collecting fresh eggs and cuddling a real, live filthy baby lamb! We heartily recommend this lovely place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyfamily092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

Antechamber Bay Retreats was exactly the sort of place we would happily re-visit time & time again. We stayed at Nats, an old cottage, in fact the oldest cottage in SA. It is rich in history, charming and comfortable. Don't be alarmed by a leaking roof (there's a bucket for drips) & a few harmless millipedes, this is truely a place you can relax in, kick your muddy / sandy shoes off at the door & feel at home.
The hosts, Andy & Kate Gilfillan went out of their way to ensure we had a memorable stay. Our two children aged 8 & 4 busied themselves collecting eggs, lemons, figs & exploring the farm. It was so wonderful to allow our 'city' kids the freedom one enjoys living in the country.
The views from the cottage are nothing short of spectacular, the verandah is perfect for that glass of wine at the end of the day. You must make sure you try the Gilfillans' Southrock Lamb, it is delicious.
I don't want to say too much more or we may find it too hard to get a booking next time!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hooperholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

Kona - wide open spaces with lovely uninterrupted coastal views looking north over the ocean (Back-Stairs Passage) to the mainland ahead.
The accommodation was exactly what we wanted. Comfy beds, quality linen and plenty of living room, inside and out. Bathrooms and facilities well finished.
The kangaroos grazing and the sea a sight to behold. No more was needed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIPG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

The accommodation was very relaxing with only the sound of the birds and sheep to be heard. The furniture was very comfortable as were the beds. Great blinds to block out the morning sunlight and a large deck on which to sit and enjoy the view.

Lovely to be able to take the dog.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

The Kona house was well presented and appointed. The location is to die for.
The beds were excellent - better than many expensive hotels we've stayed at.
The outside setting & BBQ was good and conducive to outside living.
The private beach an easy 15 minute walk was a highlight.
Excellent fresh food venues nearby to purchase local produce - seafood, cheeses, wines and of course the property's own SouthRock lamb.
This is a place to relax and enjoy. Even wildlife walks past at a quiet pace.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penneshaw
10.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
27.7 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
74.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
27.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antechamber Bay Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antechamber Bay Retreats

Property: Antechamber Bay Retreats
Address: 2131A Cape Willoughby rd | Antechamber Bay, Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5222, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Penneshaw
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Penneshaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antechamber Bay Retreats 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona and Nat's homestead are located in the most spectacular coastal/ beach setting surrounded by 3500 acres of farm and bush land teeming with wild life. Both Houses have seclusion and a private beach and are only 23kms from the nearest town, Penneshaw. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Antechamber Bay Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antechamber Bay Retreats Kangaroo Island/Penneshaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing