We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at the home of your favorite aunt and uncle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casuarina Coastal Units
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in American River
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like staying at the home of your favorite aunt and uncle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We have never had such accomodating hosts. We stayed three nights in the budget friendly Casuarina Coastal Units. The location was perfect for planning/launching our sight-seeing adventures during the day and a safe, quiet place to rest/sleep at night. Ken and Kim offered keen tips on places to eat, provided fishing equipment to help entertain the children, gave us goodies for the local wildlife, brought wonderful lemons from their tree, and were wonderful in every way. We started our trip to KI with a slight car problem (a junction of the exhaust system broke on a bumpy secondary road). Ken took time from his schedule to have a local craftsman look at the issue and helped secure the system until we returned home for a proper fix. We had a wonderful trip to KI with much credit to Ken and Kim. Thank you!

Room Tip: Off season provides lower rates and fewer tourists
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scheckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

Kim and Ken are wonderful hosts and will bend over backwards to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The cabins are basic and very clean. Our cabin had room for three people to sleep and would probably suit small families, couples or singles best. It is a great base for a relaxed holiday with great views, lots of wildlife and peace and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

The owner Ken and Kim are warm and helpful. Before we actually place a booking with them, they were already helping us eg. sourcing for a car rental company and patiently answering long list of questions we had regarding the Island and the unit.

The rooms are clean and spacious. The kids loved to spend times on the swing outside the office. The kitchen is neat and fully equipped. Though some of the utensils are slightly worn out but it is clean and totally usable. The bathroom is heated on winter night. We stayed 3 nights, on the 1st night after returning from dinner, we actually saw Wallabies outside our unit. The unit is very near America River. Every morning as we drove passed the beautiful river, we will see many Pelicans gathered together. The units is 35mins drive from the jetty and Kingscote.

I give a 5 star for their excellent service and 4 star for the apartment as it fit our purpose well. Upon arrival, I requested for a high chair for my baby. Kim told us that she does not have it in Casuarina Units but will help to source for us. In less than 30mins she was back with the high chair and later we learn that she has actually gone all the way to borrow for us from a nearby restaurant.

The other owner Ken gone fishing and caught a Whiting for us. They helped to clean, prepared the fish and placed it in a cooler box outside our unit when we went out for day tour. They are so thoughtful that they even leave a simple instructions on how to cook the fish and provided all the necessity (cooking oil, lemons, flour etc) in the box together with the fish.

I did not give a good rating on sleep quality because the heater is not warm enough on cold winter night. And that is the only draw back of the unit. However I would say that the blankets provided are good enough to keep all of us warm.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yumi_Betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
254 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

We also liked Casuarina a lot. Kim is lots of fun and gave us very useful advice for visiting the island (go tothe Caltex petrol station in Kingscote for great fish and chips), and Ken helped us with the barbeque. The units are cozy, clean, and decorated in bright Caribbean-type colors. There's no actual range with oven, just a gas cooker top, and a microwave, but that was ok with us. Whether the unit is quiet will depend on your neighbors; one night the baby next door screamed much of the night, but the rest of the time we had a great family with two older kids next door. The location is great, with birds all around, and American River is a nice town--not too isolated, but not too busy. You do need to conserve water, so the owners do not encourage you to use the washing machine unless absolutely necessary. Wallabies come around at night for the (healthy) food put out for them. You can walk to the jetty and see pelicans and other birds. For a casual, inexpensive holiday, this is the place. And free internet for guests too. You do need a car; we rented on the island and so didn't have to deal with the expensive ferry.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jeanfrombos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underberg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2009

Well done to the new owners Kim and Ken. This place is just majic. Better than what their website says. It is so quiet here, you wouldn't believe it. We did think of staying at Emu bay, but so glad we didn't. casuarina, and American River is just the best. It just grows on you. It is away from the busy kangaroo Island towns. We stayed for 5 days, and just could have stayed another week. There is so much to do on the island and would recommend that you do the self drive option, as you get to travel at your own pace, not the tour guides. Casuarina Coastal Units make this possible through their incredible rates..
The uniit at casuarina are all that you need. Everything is there.
The wallabies kept us entertained at night, as did the possum running over the roof early evening. Walking down to the waters edge, for sundowners will be sorely missed.
Again, and from a B&B Owner ouselves, we will be back to Casuarina!
Thanks Kim and Ken, you made our trip to K.I. the best!

P.S. Parking on the ferry is very tight, so if you are planning to do the self drive option, I did see the staff driving on some of he cars..

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
252 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2008

The units are bungalows with 2 bedrooms and kitchen and bathroom, all very clean, colourful and well equipped. The owners are English and also run the Post Office. The village is very small with one shop, which closes about 6.30, and very limited eating places. There is a seafood restaurant which is open some lunch times and some evenings. The motel restaurant was acceptable, but nothing special. The roads here are fairly quiet and driving is easy, but be prepared for long drives to the national parks. You can park your car in front of your unit and in the evening the wallabies will come and inspect it! There are also plenty of pelicans, and other birds on the river side. A very peaceful place away from the big cities.

My only dislike was the ferry crossing. Loading and unloading was very slow and very tight. My small car was jammed between big vehicles and as it was a rental car, I did not feel very comfortable with their procedures.

  • Liked — pleasant, colourful units
  • Disliked — limited eating places
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

What a great place to stay, so near to nature in this quite island resort, with friendly welcoming owners of these purpose built bungalows. Being on a ‘round the world’ trip we just had to add Kangaroo Island to the places to visit and arrived at the little airport to pickup our hire car for the week, which was so easy to arrange.
The accommodation was just what we required, private yet with just a small number of other guests, there being only six units, some interaction with fellow travellers.
Just one step away from the Post Office, so do not forget to send some postcards home of this idyllic place. With all the comforts of home, these bungalows are only a very short walk away from the sea and are situated on the edge of woods, so that wild life visits you, in the form of wallabies in an evening and all kinds of bird life.
This is an excellent place to stop if you are interested in fishing and there is space to park your boat on the front of the property.
We set off most days to the surrounding national parks and found the roads interesting, but rather dusty and looked forward to a beer or a glass or two of wine, each evening. Out back is a barbeque for those who have enjoyed a good days fishing and now intend to sample their catch.
American River has a general store and petrol station, with grog shop attached so all provisions are available and easily at hand as this is two minutes back down the road.
Whether you like us where here to see and experience the natural beauty of this island or just getting away for the weekend, then these bungalows are an ideal place to stay. We had a great time and found that being situated in a small community offered so much more, than a main town. A real touch of Ozzy life at its most relaxing and at its best!

Stayed February 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank 01943863515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
11.3 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
56.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
11.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
11.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casuarina Coastal Units? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casuarina Coastal Units

Property: Casuarina Coastal Units
Address: 9 Ryberg Rd, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in American River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casuarina Coastal Units 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casuarina Coastal Units reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casuarina Coastal Units Kangaroo Island/American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing