We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bed and Breakfast I have had the opportunity of staying in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
217 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Best Bed and Breakfast I have had the opportunity of staying in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

While my mother and I only stayed one night, it made an impression on us that will last forever. The owners were extremely friendly and wanting to help in anyway possible. The food was outstanding. They were very accommodating allowing us to take the night tour at the last minute which was very exciting. I had birding questions and they were very enthusiastic to help, providing me with various books as well as their own knowledge. If I ever get a chance to return to the island, I don't think I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czematis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    18
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
69
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

We loved this place! Chris and Ros were delightful, helpful in everyway. The breakfasts and dinners were DELICIOUS. Unlike the other small inns in Australia that we stayed at during our trip, Ros was willing to cook up a hot breakfast. The cold breakfast offerings included sheep's milk cheese and sheep's milk yogurt with honey (all of the yogurt, cheese and honey were produced on the island!) The bread pudding at dinner was scrumptious! The beds were comfortable. The view was fabulous. Chris showed us how to go on an after dark self guided tour of the neighborhood and we saw dozens of wallabies hopping around! The next evening, we went on a nocturnal guided tour (arranged by Chris) of the island and saw many penguins. The day tours we had arranged ahead of time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annmarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

Wanderers rest is sited on a hill overlooking American River , the veiw is stunning.

The accommodation is extremely clean and the attention to detail remarkable,

Chris (full of dry wit) and Ros are wonderfull helpfull hosts who go out of their way to assist.

The food was delicious and generous with had plenty of choice

The location is great for exploring Kangaroo Island

  • Liked — Its quality and simplicity
  • Disliked — nil
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank paulw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2008

This little gem of a B&B shouldn't be missed, The owners make for an informed and enjoyable stay. Kangaroo Island itself is just an amazingly unspoiled place and shouldn't be missed. After a day of "wandering" this is the place to stay )

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank axw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2007

We discovered Wanderers Rest through friends who raved about it, and stayed there in Feb, 2002. We loved it! Margaret and Robert couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. They provided us with flashlights to walk to the post office at night, and we counted at least 30 wallabies in a very short walk. The food was incredible, accomodations comfy, and we had a marvelous time. In fact, we loved it so much that we returned in Nov., 2003. It was lovely coming back, and this visit we also saw an echidna on our night walk. (We also saw the penguins another evening, and enjoyed that too.) We are now scheduled to return to Wanderers Rest in February, and will be interested in seeing how its new owners compare. Will they fry up the local cheese for breakfast as Robert did? (It was so good that I would have given a lot to have been able to take some home!) Will the meals be as good? Tune in after our return to see if indeed it remains our favorite B & B in Australia!

  • Liked — Food, comfy room, location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Night walk to the post office area is a must!
  • Stayed November 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank seasonedcitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2006

We had an amazing overnight stay here at the start to our tour of Australia. The owners were fantastic and made us feel completely at home and the meal really was one of the best I've ever had. The owners went out of their way to accomodate us (such as providing torches so we could go for a 'wallaby' walk at night). I would go back to the island just to stay at this B&B again!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2004

Great View from the rooms and the dining room, overlooking the water.
Good food. Friendly helpfull staff. I felt like they really appreciated my business and wanted to make my stay as enjoyable as possible.

Helpful?
2 Thank B3319KWpauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
0.1 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
56.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
11.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
19.9 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island

Property: Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
Address: Lot 2, Bayview Road | American River, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in American River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderers Rest Of Kangaroo Island American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing