We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hosts & great views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My hubby & I stayed with Chris & Ros from 3 - 6 Feb 14 & had a great time with the elderly couple.

We reached their place around 7pm, after a rough ferry ride & shuttle service. The friendly couple walked us round the place ~ which has a living room for guests to mingle & surf web, a dining area, followed by the rooms. The rooms are away from the dining & living room, leaving guests with lots of privacy in their rooms. Our room was spacious & so cozy! Best of all, we enjoyed the sunrise daily from the balcony of our room. It is priceless to wake up every morning to the chirping of the birds & amazing views.

During one of the night, we decided to follow them to the community hall for dinner, where the kitchen run by volunteers. What a better way to soak the culture of the local! After dinner, Chris drove us round, hoping to catch some wild kangaroos & wallabies. And because I was having a cough, Chris kept away if he could prepare some drinks for me to soothe my throat. Another gesture from the warm elderly, we found our national flag hanging at their porch throughout our stay with them. :-)

Ros cooked our dinner on the last night of our stay. Yummy & nice presentation of the room as well! Wished we could stay longer.

If you are looking for a cozy place to stay @ American River, I strongly recommend Wanderers Rest. Chris & Ros care for their guest like parents do, and would go the extra mile to help their guests in any way. Not forgetting the wonderful views that will tear you away from the comfortable bed!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moussie_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 106 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

Rooms in the hotel are spacious, comfortable and very clean. On top of this they have fantastic views with balconies. Rooms are in the grounds, but it is only a very short walk to the hotel’s restaurant. American River is very quiet, and not commercialised. You can view plenty of wild birds there. We ate all but one of our meals in the hotel. Continental breakfast is substantial and a cooked breakfast is made to order. The evening meals are good, although there is not a wide menu and quantities could be larger. Meals were more expensive then many other places we ate at in Australia, but seemed in line with the rest of Kangeroo Island, which is generally a very expensive place. We went on a night trip with Chris. There are very few penguins left on the island, so it probably isn’t worth travelling to Pennshaw to try to see them. We ate a meal in the Pennshaw hotel, which was disappointing and didn’t have that much time to look for the small numbers of penguins that are still around. On the way back to American River, Chris ensured that we saw some wallabies and kangeroos in their natural habitat. We were, however, fortunate that Chris was willing and available to take us on two full day trips of the island. This gave us the opportunity to set our own agenda, spending time on the sights that interested us the most without having to pay for expensive lunches that didn’t interest us and are a feature of many of the expensive tours that are most widely reviewed on trip advisor. Chris was very knowledgeable and a very informative guide. Throughout our stay Chris and Ros were very helpful. Chris picked us up from the airport on the day of our arrival, but there was a charge for this.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thompsonUK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Chris and Roz welcomed us to their 4 star country guest house with a warm handshake and welcoming smile. We enjoy an uncrowded, clean and comfortable stay with just the right balance between privacy and personal attention. The evening meals were delicious with a variety from which to chose and a wine to accompany the meal. The bacon and eggs were a special treat for our breakfast.

We enjoyed leisurely after dinner stroll with guidance from Chris on the route to take, he assisted us by pointing out the Southern Cross in the night sky and provided a flashlight(torch) which we used to spot kwalabes out for their evening search for food. We would defiantly return to enjoy Chris and Roz's warm hospitality.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at 240 dollars a night for a middle of the market motel room. Had we wanted breakfast it would have risen to 300 dollars per night for a double room. Our Booking confirmation gave 30 dollars per person per night for breakfast.

The accommodation is in a standard pre-fabricated eight room motel unit of some vintage. The redeeming feature is a great view from the balcony

Things for us started badly as our reception was not good.

We ate in the motel restaurant for two nights and the food was very good, but as others have said the menu is limited, so eating more nights would not have given us much change. The problem is that there is nothing else available locally, and the motel unit had no cooking facilities

Perhaps I was wrong in expecting a room at this price to offer more, but in six weeks in Australia we have found most properties offer much better value for money.

The problem here may be that much, if not most, of their business is with group tours of one sort or another, so individual booking like ours are of little interest to them

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

View of the Bay from our room was beautiful, dinner and breakfast were delicious and Ros and Chris were most gracious. We stayed one night and it was most pleasant. The room was simply furnished with a small bathroom and shower.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanderersrest, Owner at Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for your comments, Kangaroo Island does need more than one night to enjoy completely, but I guess you can always come again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

As many have said, the owners are fantastic. Ros and Chris were both very welcoming and helpful with suggestions of places we might go throughout our stay, and also very good humoured and pleasant.

The accomodation is good; air conditioning and heating both were briefly used whilst we stayed (the weather can be like that!) and worked well. The room was clean and modern - and the whole place feels "looked after". In some hotels I have stayed in, there are scuffs on the paintwork from people moving their luggage in and out. Not here.

Location is great; possums and wallabies can apparently be seen at night/dusk and the owners will even provide you with a map and torch for this purpose.

The food was also a treat. The menu is (I suspect deliberatly) quite small, but what they do they do brilliantly. We ate at the Wanderers Rest on two evenings, and had breakfast there one one morning. All were excellent. Especially try the lemon delicious pudding if they are doing it.

We briefly used the pool, which isn't heated but is perfectly warm enough for a dip on a hot day. It was very pleasant.

We also used the wifi, which doesn't reach to the rooms but works very well in the restaurant/lounge - especially considering the distances of phone lines involved in getting it there! It isn't massively fast - perhaps a couple of megabits/second or thereabouts, but we found it perfectly reliable for facebooking and emailing/skyping.

Finally, we both found we slept very soundly indeed, and our room (and I suspect all rooms) had a fantastic view through the trees onto the water. Wonderful. I have already recommended it to my parents who will be staying there next year.

Room Tip: We had room 3. But I bet all the rooms are equally as good.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThatHairyBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanderersrest, Owner at Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay, we enjoyed your company

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was the upgrade to "deluxe" rooms on our tour. The rooms here are just like you remember from the 1960's. Small, wood paneling. Quant, one might say. They do have ac/heat both of which you may need. The veranda in our room looked over the bay and there were birds. Very nice. The owner came to greet us, took our luggage, gave us the nickel tour, took our dinner order. The menu is small and if you are there for more than 2 nights you may want to try some neighboring restaurants. There is a lovely walking trail along the bay where you will see black swans and pelicans. I do not exaggerate when I say it was very windy, rainy and chilly while we were there. KI can be that way apparently and I would not expect to be without a jacket.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffreyjonkoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
0.1 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
416 reviews
56.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
10.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
844 reviews
11.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
11.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island

Address: Lot 2, Bayview Road | American River, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in American River
Price Range: $130 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderers Rest Of Kangaroo Island American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing