We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Room with a view!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wish we could have stayed longer. We enjoyed the hospitality, the room with a magnificent view and such peacefulness only interrupted by the most amazing bird sounds at dawn. The food was fantastic, the tours fascinating and our hosts were charming. We'd go back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    18
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
70
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

After having been moved from the KI Lodge because they overbooked, we had the fortune of landing in the care of Chris and Ros at the Wanderers Rest. Now we wish we stayed there from the start. First off, the grounds and rooms and food were all superb. But the hospitality we received from Chris and Ros were even more so. The view of the water from the balcony was great over an after dinner drink and morning coffee. Its just too bad we were only able to spend one night there. Thanks Chris and Ros.

Dave and April (transplanted Americans now living in QLD).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveandApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The rooms in Wanderers Rest has an excellent view of the water. Food is good, place is quiet. We walked to the wharf and the Oyster Shop where we lunched on (very) fresh oysters and bottled rain water. We then went via the General Store to the Fish Cannery trail at the other end of American River. We had not brought our car with us, so we were limited in what we could do but this did not impede us. We went on a couple of coach tours to see parts of the island, and we also had a night time trip run by Wanderers Rest, to see the fairy penguins and wallabies, American River is very uncommercial and peaceful.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sawley00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Thank Ros and Christ for your hospitality. The 2 nights we had at the Wanderers Rest were perfect. Good bed, good food and your warm welcome, it is all it needs to make a great "souvenir" of our stay in Australia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernardBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

we stay here on our last night on kangaroo island, I just wish we could stay longer. Love the private balcony overlooking, great service,comfort bed, yummy food,the host was very warming and welcome. Everything was great, I would recommend this place for couple if your looking for something romantic. In the early morning you can see sunrise and in the evening twilight, very beautiful view of the water too. would totally come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leyly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This charming B&B overlooks American Bay. The beds are very comfortable. Each room has a private balcony overlooking the water. The food was very tasty and professionally presented. The host, Chris, was very sincere in his desire to make sure we had a great time, which we did!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Ros and Chris have been in the business for years and it so shows – lovely to stay at a B&B where the client really does come first.
Rooms are a bit dated but with a nice view over the American River itself.
Cooked breakfast is sumptuous, with a promotion on the fresh local produce.
The hosts are extremely knowledgeable about everything to do with the Island (and more besides) and are happy to share that knowledge – they even tailor their recommendations by understanding the client’s individual wishes.
Comment on Kangaroo Island (no reflection on this hotel): it is a very large island! Bigger than most people think. Do not underestimate the time it takes to get from American River over to the Flinders Chase area – it needs an early start to make the most of a day in the Park.
Tips: do the night stroll Chris recommends (he lends you a torch). Chris also offers private tours – take him up on it.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
0.1 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
410 reviews
56.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
10.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
827 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
19.9 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island

Property: Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
Address: Lot 2, Bayview Road | American River, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in American River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderers Rest Of Kangaroo Island American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing