We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This charming B&B overlooks American Bay. The beds are very comfortable. Each room has a private balcony overlooking the water. The food was very tasty and professionally presented. The host, Chris, was very sincere in his desire to make sure we had a great time, which we did!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 106 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

Ros and Chris have been in the business for years and it so shows – lovely to stay at a B&B where the client really does come first.
Rooms are a bit dated but with a nice view over the American River itself.
Cooked breakfast is sumptuous, with a promotion on the fresh local produce.
The hosts are extremely knowledgeable about everything to do with the Island (and more besides) and are happy to share that knowledge – they even tailor their recommendations by understanding the client’s individual wishes.
Comment on Kangaroo Island (no reflection on this hotel): it is a very large island! Bigger than most people think. Do not underestimate the time it takes to get from American River over to the Flinders Chase area – it needs an early start to make the most of a day in the Park.
Tips: do the night stroll Chris recommends (he lends you a torch). Chris also offers private tours – take him up on it.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We only stayed here one night, and we were the only guests as we were at the tail end of the season. Our room was lovely - very light and airy, spotlessly clean, and with views across the beautiful bay of American River, through trees bursting with birdlife (including the black glossy). The owners were extremely welcoming and attentive, without being at all obtrusive, and we enjoyed a lovely meal with stunning views in the evening, including watching some of the birds through Chris' telescope. If anything, a little on the expensive side, but nonetheless a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveT8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in October 2011 for two nights as a part of our honeymoon in Australia and Fiji.

It is truly a lovely place, which we would highly recommend to all visitors of Kangaroo Island. Chris and his wife are very very kind, nothing is too much trouble but, if you value privacy, this too is exactly what you will get. Nice touch: the Dutch flag was put up outside every day we were present, very nice when you are so far away from home!

One of the nights we arrived back at the B&B quite late, and still we were able to get a lovely dinner eventhough the chef already had gone home. Outstanding service! We also enjoyed the wildlife night tour with Chris to see the wallabies, penguins and kangaroo's.

A great and intimate place for romance, to go on wildlife tours or to generally explore the beauty of Kangaroo Island. The rooms are spacious, nice and comfortable and perhaps a little bit old fashioned in decoration, which in our opinion only adds to the charm of the place.

Thank you very much for a lovely stay! We'd very much like to come back one day.

Paul & Linda
Amersfoort
The Netherlands

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pullie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We enjoyed Chris and Ros' hospitality for three nights in September. The rooms at Wanderers' all have a view down to the water filtered through the tree tops, the early morning and evening light is beautiful and the silence ( apart from bird song) is relaxing. The rooms are well appointed, a comfortable bed, flat screen TV table and chairs and a terrace with the great views. Bathroom is good, with a nice shower (tank water I think, which makes for a great lather).
We ate dinner there our first night after a late arrival, the food was reasonably priced and hearty. Breakfast is a delight with local honey and sheep's yoghurt, perfectly cooked bacon and eggs. Ros and Chris are naturals for this line of work, warm, welcoming and knowledgable, able to craft a tour of the Island to suit your time frame. Would stay again if we are lucky enough to return to the beautiful K.I.

Room Tip: They're all good
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The Wanders' Rest affords great viewing of the endangered Glossy Black Cockatoos at treetop level. Ros and Chris are wonderful hosts, attending to every need, and preparing delicious, simple meals accompanied by excellent local wines. The rooms are cozy and private, with balconies that overlook the American River and offer good birding. Overall, a great place to stay while touring KI.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleDMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

My son and I recently visited Kangaroo Island on a special trip for his 11th birthday. We spent the first night at Wanderer's Rest. The room was immaculate and the view from our balcony was beautiful. The room also had one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Chris and Ros were extremely welcoming and went out of their way to make it a great stay. They even lent us their torch and showed us where to walk for the best chances of viewing wildlife. My son kept a strict count--we saw 102 wallabies and one kangaroo! He was very excited. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. We enjoyed sampling the local yogurt and honey and my son has discovered that he loves haloumi cheese. A wonderful beginning to our vacation--just wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Expats5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
0.1 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
416 reviews
56.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
10.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
844 reviews
11.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
11.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island

Address: Lot 2, Bayview Road | American River, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in American River
Price Range: $130 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderers Rest Of Kangaroo Island American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing