We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a motel and I wouldn't recommend staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Reviewed March 30, 2009

The options on the island might limit choices, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel or a visit to the island. The hotel is so old and the rooms are what I'd expect in a low end motel (such as a Motel 6). We had millipedes in the room all the time and I feared they'd get in our luggage and come home with us.

The staff was nice and for a motel, the hotel was exceptional. The best food we had.

Our purpose for this visit was to see an abundance of wildlife in their natural environment. We really looked forward to Kangaroo Island but were extremely disappointed because we saw more animals dead on the side of the road than we did in the wild. Ended up having to go to a santuary to see much of the wildlife (which we could get in Sydney and saved the trip to KI).

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzybeeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 416 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2009

Excellent experience simple but very nice. Great atmosphere. Great restaurant. Beautiful views. Beautiful pelicans. Loved it.
Kangaroo Island is a magnificent experience very recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank maurit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

Spent 2 nights at KI Lodge and was very satisfied with the accommodation. We had a river view room directly across the road from the water. Very peaceful setting, nice to have a small balcony to sit on and enjoy the tranquility. The room was clean and comfortable, with microwave and basic utensils. The only negative was the poor supply of hot water in the shower. The staff were all very genuine in their friendliness. However we found the evening meals served in the restaurant (there is no other option to dine in American River other than cooking for yourself!) were a bit variable in quality and quantity. The serving portion of my main meal on the second night was barely of entree size.
In all a great base to stay, although some may find the location too isolated as there is very little else there. But we enjoyed the peace and found it a good base to travel from.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2008

Peaceful and quiet ,the lodge is located ont the bay,there is a trail nearby if you want to walk along the shore,it's not far from the ferry terminal.The decoration of the room ,the materials used for the buildings are clearly sophisticated comparing to others places.We had a wonderful stay with my family. Kangaroo island is on the beaten track but it's really a fullfilling place for nature lovers.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pausadias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

We stayed at the KI Lodge for three nights.
The rooms were average, but clean.
At night we saw wallabies, and during the day there were many different varieties of birds.

What really stood out for us was the staff. They were friendly and attentive and went out of their way to help us. We were allowed to drink our own drinks by the pool, and they even bought us ice for the esky. The food was also very good; we ate there twice!

I'd highly recommend the KI Lodge to anyone who only uses a room for sleeping.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2007

Loved Kangaroo Island. The KI Lodge is just a nice place to stay, nothing more, noting less. Rent a car and explore the island.

Stayed: November 2005
1  Thank EHTB02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2007

The fabulous kangaroo Island was one leg of my trip to Australia, and I stayed here at this fantastic, lovely and cosy hotel.
the Kangaroo Island Lodge is absolutely great. Staff is nice, polite and very helpful, from checking in to goodbye.

My room, ground level, was big and cosy.
Location is of course, very quite, you cant hear a thing at night, and that's waht I really was looking for, coming from a busy and hectic city like Roma in Italy!

The restaurant is very good serving great food, I especially advice you to try the seafood.

Kangaroo Island is a true gem, wildlife is incredible. I experienced great moments there. And the Kangaroo ISland Lodge has been part of them.
See you soon Kangaroo Island ! ( I hope so! )


  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KeyaraEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
9.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
388 reviews
56.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
11.3 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
0.1 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
36 reviews
11.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Address: 73 Scenic Dr, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Price Range: $115 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kangaroo Island, one of Australia's great wilderness destinations, is best known for its magnificent coastal views, unique landscapes, uncrowded beaches and fascinating wildlife, including kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, Australian sea-lions, New Zealand fur seals and Little penguins. Kangaroo Island is a place of natural beauty and a place to escape. Kangaroo Island Lodge is situated on the banks of Eastern Cove in American River, with all rooms perfectly perched offering exceptional water views over the bay. Amid lush coastal vegetation, Kangaroo Island Lodge blends in with its natural surroundings. There is no better place to unwind and to enjoy the peace and tranquility. The seclusion of this area allows for the abundance of wildlife to roam free. Tammar wallabies, brush tailed possums, black swans, Cape Barren geese, Australian pelicans and the rare and endangered glossy black cockatoos can all be found in here. The outer bay of Eastern Cove offers excellent sailing and fishing in protected waters. The Kangaroo Island oyster industry is also located in American River, with the Oyster Shed located just down the road from the Kangaroo Island Lodge. If you are a keen walker, there are two main walking tracks, the Independence Trail and the Fish Cannery walk. Both walks meander through the natural coastal scrub where numerous species of wildlife and birdlife can be seen. So why not come and escape to the Kangaroo Island Lodge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel All Seasons Kangaroo Island American River
Kangaroo Island Hotel
Kangaroo Island American River
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing