We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Melbourne
2 reviews
“Nice hotel, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed in one of the studio rooms, decor and bathroom were the best features. The bed was two singles pushed together, which was rather uncomfortable. Staff were friendly, unfortunatley the hotel resteraunt service was terrible. The first time we ate there it took a long time for the food to come out which was poor considering we were one of two other couples dining there. I had to change my order due to difficulties with cooking my meal! Giving it another chance we ate there again. It took 1&1/2 hours to be served our meal, without much acknowledgment or apology from the staff, just the excuse of "we only have one cook tonight". This is a shame as it takes so long to get to any other resteraunts on the island. Still a decent place to stay but would expect a little more for the rating.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LNass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    185
    88
    26
    14
See reviews for
67
251
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our stay at this hotel was a short overnighter only. We found the room to be very comfortable and clean. The hot water was hot and the addition of shampoo etc. was appreciated. There were tea/coffee making facilities in the room for that early morning coffee. An added bonus was the gorgeous view from the room across the bay.
Internet was available in the main office area as was WiFi.
The restaurant served both breakfast and dinner. We didn't have breakfast there so I can't comment, but we did have dinner. The meal we had included oysters, pasta and a chicken dish all of which were quite delicious - particularly the oysters kilpatrick.
The hotel staff could not be faulted and everyone we met was courteous and helpful. We particularly appreciated the local knowledge they shared.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the office level as some rooms are a bit of a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wazzat69, Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently installing Wifi throughout the entire hotel, and this should be completed by the end of September.

Kind regards,

Warwick Tomlinson
General Manager
Mecure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Mercure brand is global and you expect a standard but at this hotel the staff are terrific and set the standard. The restaurant manager was well informed, knew his menu, food and wines. In the morning we arranged to feed the pelicans on last nights whiting scraps. Terrific fun. We had thirty of the hungry blighters vigorously attending. Our room was in the rammed earth section and it is a wonderful building medium. The rooms have a view to the east over the bay so you wake up to the sunrise. By chance I had an Accor membership so we got a really good deal in the off season but it really didn't make much difference to us

Room Tip: Get an Accor Plus club membership to pick up the specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RossGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wazzat69, Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Yes, I do believe we have some great staff who go towards ensuring you have a wonderful stay with us.

Kind regards,

Warwick Tomlinson
General Manager
Mecure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

was named All Seasons before and stayed here only one night for the 2-days trip of kangaroo island; most likely a motel-style accommodation; everything was very basic-small room; fairly clean; bed was comfortable though; wasn't too bad for the price offered during low/rainy seasons.
may not consider to stay again but hopefully some improvements have been made since re-branded to the higher level cataloged name - Mercure...

Room Tip: very basic, not much to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Spent 5 nights there. Had mixed feeling about it.
Great location, great staff, great food in the restaurant.
I was worried before arrival as all the hotel at remote places are kind of poor on sound proof due to the way it was built. This hotel is no exception. As it was full house for the first few nights (I was told), I got waken up by next door or upstairs very often at night. There was one night I was waken up by the guest next door even at 4am, sounds like they were having very loud conversation or an argument...the last two nights were ok since most of the guests have checked out.
I don't mind staying there again but I just don't know what kind of room I should ask so I can avoid all those annoying noises!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 223lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

My spouse and I recently stayed here on a Sunday night to celebrate our 30th. We found it to be and excellent, quiet, clean hotel and good value for money too - all together with a great resturant. I'd stay here again and recommend this hotel to others as well -its roughly 30-40 min from Penneshaw and the Sealink Ferry and a similiar travelling time to Kingscote. Allow about two hours to reach the Flinders Chase National Park. We were last on KI 30 years before and so really enjoyed the experience of going back again. Its also amazing to see how many international travellers are visiting KI,

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking American River
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnOG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
11.3 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
56.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
9.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
11.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
19.8 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Property: Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Address: 73 Scenic Dr, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kangaroo Island, one of Australia's great wilderness destinations, is best known for its magnificent coastal views, unique landscapes, uncrowded beaches and fascinating wildlife, including kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, Australian sea-lions, New Zealand fur seals and Little penguins. Kangaroo Island is a place of natural beauty and a place to escape. Kangaroo Island Lodge is situated on the banks of Eastern Cove in American River, with all rooms perfectly perched offering exceptional water views over the bay. Amid lush coastal vegetation, Kangaroo Island Lodge blends in with its natural surroundings. There is no better place to unwind and to enjoy the peace and tranquility. The seclusion of this area allows for the abundance of wildlife to roam free. Tammar wallabies, brush tailed possums, black swans, Cape Barren geese, Australian pelicans and the rare and endangered glossy black cockatoos can all be found in here. The outer bay of Eastern Cove offers excellent sailing and fishing in protected waters. The Kangaroo Island oyster industry is also located in American River, with the Oyster Shed located just down the road from the Kangaroo Island Lodge. If you are a keen walker, there are two main walking tracks, the Independence Trail and the Fish Cannery walk. Both walks meander through the natural coastal scrub where numerous species of wildlife and birdlife can be seen. So why not come and escape to the Kangaroo Island Lodge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel All Seasons Kangaroo Island American River
Kangaroo Island Hotel
Kangaroo Island American River
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing