We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a great little hotel, with our room overlooking the Tasman Sea, with its beautiful hues and colours. From arrival the front manager was terrific, what an asset to the group, nothing a trouble, knowledgable and friendly. His staff were good to, however, as much as they tried hard, being backpackers taking an opportunity to work, they were probably not as efficient as staff that we are used to in other locations.

Happy hour was good, half price from 5 - 6.30pm, and the menu had a variety of selections, we both had the reef and beef, and it was surperb, although expensive - all the choices on the menu are priced well above what we are happy to pay, so you can expect to pay more, but there is no doubting the quantity and quality. Breakfast was different in that the normal continental was available, but the breakfast chef did'nt know how to do a omellette, and the alternate scrambled were pretty rubbery and the bacon overdone - maybe we were there on the wrong morning, but again the quantity was good. A quick dip in the pool which was nowhere near as cold as we thought it'd be, and we were on our way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthonyjw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    187
    88
    26
    14
See reviews for
68
257
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great place to stay. Great staff, good clean rooms and very comfy beds.
If you are a light sleeper or have trouble getting back to sleep ask for a room away from the paths or stairs as they have buses bringing guests that stay overnight and leave early. First two nights this wasn't a problem but on our third night we had inconsiderate guests who talked loudly & laughed outside our room at 6 am and then moved to the front of the motel outside our room again talking loudly. I know this can’t be controlled by the Motel and they were extremely apologetic about it, which makes a huge difference as usually you just get palmed off.
Another note, if you upgrade from a continental breakfast to a Big Breakfast make sure the waiter knows what it is and asks what you want from the Big Breakfast list. Our plan was to have a big breakfast that would last us all day until tea time. The young lad who was on breakfast duties had no idea what was included in either the usual breakfast or the big breakfast. So two small poached eggs came out and 1 ½ rashers of over cooked bacon. It didn’t last us until tea; it was irritating to see other patrons order the same breakfast and get bacon, eggs, tomatoes and mushrooms that filled the plate.
We would also like to mention the blonde lady on reception in the morning, who makes every guest feel welcome and special. We were tickled pink by your friendliness, service and assistance. Great staff like this is a rarity and we would like to commend you for it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Trudy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilodge, Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will ensure that all our restaurant staff are properly trained and have full knowledge of our products and menu in future.Our apologies again about the early morning noise. Thank you for your glowing comments on our staff. Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a hot day only to find that our room was stiflingly hot. The receptionist said the room would soon cool down and turned on the air conditioner. I happily collapsed on the bed only to find that the air con had started to make loud squealing noises. My husband and I tried changing fan speed etc to no avail as the noise would momentarily disappear and then the squeal would come back as loud as before. And it didn't seem to be cooling the room down a whole lot. I advised reception and they were fabulous. Showed us another room in a different part of hotel. The new room was very cool and didn't need any air conditioning at all, although I briefly tested the air con and it was 'noise free'. Very happy. Breakfasts here were great. Loved the pancakes. The pool was lovely. The location felt a bit remote but had a certain charm. The garden was lovely. Overall though I think this hotel needs a major revamp or just a spruce up.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sharroncarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilodge, General Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to announce we were successful applicants in the TIRF government funding project for tourism and are now excitedly embarking on a refurbishment of the property. We hope the next time you visit you will see aesthetic improvements and have an overall better experience with your room comfort. regards, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very conveniently located at American River to allow exploring KI!
Nice & friendly staff, average breakfast buffet for the category, but good quality restaurant for dinner [although quality varied depending on whether 'the chef' is there or not] - having a restaurant in the complexe is a big plus, a distances are substantial on KI so not needing to drive somehwhere for dinner is much appreciated!
Overall rating is 'good', average too low, very good too high!
Overall, rooms could probably get renovated, you see that things have been there for a while.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jod_mod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilodge, General Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are focused on bringing excellent standards for our guests in our restaurant every time you dine regardless of our Chef having the evening off. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as we will conduct assessments and introduce additional training to this area. regards, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I'd stayed at this property maybe 30 years ago when it was full of moths and called called Linnets Island Lodge I think, and didn't have any massive expectations from a return visit, but instead, I was blown away. The property has been extensively but carefully redeveloped. Our spacious room had a gorgeous outlook over the lagoon and beyond, and with a massive immaculate dreamily comfortable bed, and tastefully soothing decor with original art works in the KI theme, more than fulfilled the description and photo on the hotel web site. Another excellent surprise was our dinner in the hotel restaurant crafted by their new German chef/genius Sabrina who will surely give this hotel a superb reputation for food as well as accomodation and ambience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilodge, General Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is very pleasing to hear how much you enjoyed our property and noticing the changes we have been making is very encouraging. Sabrina our Chef is a delight to work with and is very passionate about Kangaroo Island produce. We are also mindful of how we promote our property, our belief is that the photos should truly represent the Hotel. Regards, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We booked our trip at short notice when family came to visit, so not much research or choice given that it was the holiday season. However, it was fine. Can't quite see the four star rating, but it was comfortable and more than adequate. Had a great view of the American River estuary, and the location was convenient to whatever amenities American River had to offer. Getting up early one morning to see the sun come up and the bird life emerging was a bonus. We ate at their restaurant one night. Slightly odd booking system - we were stagedas there was only one cook and he had to meet demand. Staff were friendly and obliging. Renovations are foreshadowed for 2013. Quite a long history as holiday accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilodge, General Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. The shore birds and wildlife in the immediate area is truly magnificent and we also have some of the best sunrises due to our easterly facing location. We are proud to announce extensive refurbishments and upgrades are underway. By Christmas 2013 we expect a true 4 star plus experience for all our guests. Regards, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
9.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
382 reviews
56.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
11.3 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
36 reviews
11.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
0.1 mi away
Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Property: Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Address: 73 Scenic Dr, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kangaroo Island, one of Australia's great wilderness destinations, is best known for its magnificent coastal views, unique landscapes, uncrowded beaches and fascinating wildlife, including kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, Australian sea-lions, New Zealand fur seals and Little penguins. Kangaroo Island is a place of natural beauty and a place to escape. Kangaroo Island Lodge is situated on the banks of Eastern Cove in American River, with all rooms perfectly perched offering exceptional water views over the bay. Amid lush coastal vegetation, Kangaroo Island Lodge blends in with its natural surroundings. There is no better place to unwind and to enjoy the peace and tranquility. The seclusion of this area allows for the abundance of wildlife to roam free. Tammar wallabies, brush tailed possums, black swans, Cape Barren geese, Australian pelicans and the rare and endangered glossy black cockatoos can all be found in here. The outer bay of Eastern Cove offers excellent sailing and fishing in protected waters. The Kangaroo Island oyster industry is also located in American River, with the Oyster Shed located just down the road from the Kangaroo Island Lodge. If you are a keen walker, there are two main walking tracks, the Independence Trail and the Fish Cannery walk. Both walks meander through the natural coastal scrub where numerous species of wildlife and birdlife can be seen. So why not come and escape to the Kangaroo Island Lodge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel All Seasons Kangaroo Island American River
Kangaroo Island Hotel
Kangaroo Island American River
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing