We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Like”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
A TripAdvisor Member
Adelaide, Australia
33
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Location is Beautiful. Comfortable beds, Clean linen, Quick Service, Very Nice Staff. Recommended for a peaceful romantic stay. Enjoyed my stay with my family. American river is the beginning point of KI so you have Kingscote very close to it and all other attractions are close as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. American River is such a tranquil place to stay and is great for getting away from it all. All with the convenience of being half way between Kingscote and Penneshaw.
Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 416 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

What a friendly lot at this heavenly peaceful Retreat. Great accommodation with all the right mods and cons. The food is excellent, prices are fair and service is warm and friendly. A truly beautiful and pristine environment is Kangaroo Island; a touch of NZ in Aussie.
We will happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the Bay - try room 33.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to tell your friends and family about this unknown gem on Kangaroo Island. We hope to see you again one day.
Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Room-large, clean, well appointed, lovely view. Staff-friendly and helpful. Reception/lounge/dining area-warm and inviting. Exceeded expectations. Breakfast-everything you could possibly want and plenty of it, including local produce. Dinner/dessert-exceptional both in taste and presentation. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilsons-mtgambier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your response. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. We were upgraded to an ocean view room for free on arrival (presumably as it was winter so they had spare rooms, although it seemed fairly busy). They also gave us a late checkout on request which was lovely.
Staff were absolutely lovely and the view from out room was a great bonus.
Room was large with comfy bed, air conditioner (essential during winter), kitchenette including bar fridge, microwave etc digital tv and big bathroom.
We ate in the restaurant twice and thought the food was very nice and reasonably priced. Service again was wonderful.
Only complaint would be the shower. It lacked pressure, as most hotels do, but worse was that I was only using hot water and it was still only luke warm which was a little unpleasant in winter.
The location between Kingscote and Penneshaw meant it was easy for us to choose different places to visit for dinner and during the day.

Price was also very good and the hotel outdid my expectations for what we paid.

Room Tip: Ocean view room was obviously great but I expect all would be good here.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princess_trayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your response. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. In response to your comment about the shower, we are disappointed you had a poor experience. We have installed water saving shower heads in all rooms to assist the environment however we have found most guests are happy with the water pressure. Also we have investigated any hot water issues in your room and this has been rectified. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melinda8220
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndyBlack75
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My partner and I got a fantastic off season deal to stay 3 nights for about $240. At this low price my expectations were not high at all.
We were pleasantly surprised to a welcoming smile, upgraded room and free wi-fi.
Our package did not include breakfast but I am gluten/dairy free so I asked about the possibility of a toaster in my room. They took me to the dining area where I could help myself to bowls, plates and toaster etc- even asked if I wanted jam or Vegemite.
Dinner in the restaurant was the only dining option in American River. Limited menu but very nice food.
American River is a little out of the way but we had a very pleasant stay here. All the staff were friendly and professional.
Go to Kangaroo Island while the specials are available!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules014Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
We were happy to hear you were able to enjoy our low season value for money prices. During the low season we do operate a lighter dinner menu however there is still something for everyone. American River is half way between Kingscote and Penneshaw and a great gateway to all the sights that Kangaroo Island has to offer. As you suggested it is a great time to come to Kangaroo Island during the low season. Not only are the price cheaper but there are less tourists and more animals out and about. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again one day.
Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
9.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
388 reviews
56.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
11.3 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
0.1 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
36 reviews
11.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Address: 73 Scenic Dr, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Price Range: $113 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kangaroo Island, one of Australia's great wilderness destinations, is best known for its magnificent coastal views, unique landscapes, uncrowded beaches and fascinating wildlife, including kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, Australian sea-lions, New Zealand fur seals and Little penguins. Kangaroo Island is a place of natural beauty and a place to escape. Kangaroo Island Lodge is situated on the banks of Eastern Cove in American River, with all rooms perfectly perched offering exceptional water views over the bay. Amid lush coastal vegetation, Kangaroo Island Lodge blends in with its natural surroundings. There is no better place to unwind and to enjoy the peace and tranquility. The seclusion of this area allows for the abundance of wildlife to roam free. Tammar wallabies, brush tailed possums, black swans, Cape Barren geese, Australian pelicans and the rare and endangered glossy black cockatoos can all be found in here. The outer bay of Eastern Cove offers excellent sailing and fishing in protected waters. The Kangaroo Island oyster industry is also located in American River, with the Oyster Shed located just down the road from the Kangaroo Island Lodge. If you are a keen walker, there are two main walking tracks, the Independence Trail and the Fish Cannery walk. Both walks meander through the natural coastal scrub where numerous species of wildlife and birdlife can be seen. So why not come and escape to the Kangaroo Island Lodge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel All Seasons Kangaroo Island American River
Kangaroo Island Hotel
Kangaroo Island American River
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing