We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

beautiful location. rooms very comfortable. A highlight for us was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and management who went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, nothing was too much trouble. Meals in the restaurant top class. Will go back next time in KI, No hesitation in recommending to everyone as the ideal place to stay on KI

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lnyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    185
    88
    26
    14
See reviews for
67
251
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Thankfully we only stayed one night...upon arrival, we were told that all restaurants on the island were closed so our only dining option would be the hotel restaurant. Reluctantly, we agreed to return for dinner after dropping our bags off in our room. Upon arrival in the dining room, we were offered only 3 menu options. Considering this was the hotel restaurant, I would have expected a few more options. I do have to say, the food was very tasty, I just wish I had a few more options besides, lamb and chicken.

Upon returning back to our room we started to look around and noticed a ton, and by ton I mean well over 20 (yes, we actually counted) millipedes. SOOOO disgusting. At first we weren't too concerned with them until we noticed that some of them started moving! They weren't dead as they appeared to be. The hotel supplies bug spray in the closet so we quickly took that out and started spraying away. This would have been the end of it, but the bug spray started smelling our room up and we weren't willing to open the windows for fear of more millipedes coming in. After about 10 mins of spraying the millipedes, and noticing that more were coming in we decided to call the front desk. Clearly the room had not been cleaned prior to our arrival. We called the front desk and explained what was going on in our room. We were told that they were harmless and that they are all over the island. I don't care! They shouldn't have been in our room! And especially not 20 plus! Finally the lady decided to come to our room to take a look. I fully expected to be relocated to a new room (our trip was during the low season and there were only 8 our of staying at that time so I know they had other rooms we could have been moved to). We were not offered a new room, the hotel receptionist merely picked up the millipedes and dumped them in the trash. This was fine until more came in through the windows/doors during the evening. We woke up to find more millipedes in our room. So disgusting.

The next morning we woke up and had their continental breakfast which consisted of rye, wheat or white toast, yogurt with honey, 3 types of cereal, a plate of about 10 pieces of fruit, teas and coffee. A really poor spread for the price we paid for breakfast. Since there were not very many of us staying at that time, there wasn't a lot of food set out so once the fruit was gone, it was gone. No one came out to check to see if anything needed to be replenished.

It's a super cute hotel, the room size was decent, I was just really disappointed in the service and cleanliness of the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
We were disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. As this is low season we do operate a smaller menu as do most establishments on Kangaroo Island. And as you mentioned many places even close their doors over the winter months. In response to your comments about the millipedes, unfortunately the Island does from time to time have an outbreak. We do spray the hotel and endeavour to do everything possible to eradicate them. Please be assured rooms are cleaned prior to guests arriving but unfortunately the occasional millipede may find its way in. Our continental breakfast consists of Kangaroo Island yoghurt and honey, Kangaroo Island Bakery toasts, cereals, fresh fruit, cheeses, fruit juices, teas and coffee. If any of the supplies run out we replace them. However should we not get to this quickly enough we ask that you inform us and we will rectify this immediately. Once again thank you for your review.
Kind reagrds
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
110 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights. The building is old, but rooms were refurbished. It comes with a little kitchenette; including microwave oven. No WiFi in the hotel! Outside swimming pool wasn’t operating. Our deal included continental breakfast; which was ok.
We also had dinner at their restaurant which was a little pricy, but good!
Most of the restaurants in American River were closed on the days we were there.
During our stay, on both mornings, we were facing a problem of no running water in the rooms.
No apologizing curtsey phone call from reception! Only after calling to query about the problem, that we heard they already knew about it. It took a long while to be fixed on both days.
We were upset by the inconvenient. No compensation was on offer though.
On the positive side, It is well located and rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hershie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your post. Unfortuantely, during your stay with us, we did experience a water fault and apologise for any inconvenience this caused you. Please be aware we did everything possible to rectify the situation as quickly as possible. With regard to your comment about WiFi, it is available in the main building near reception or alternatively we have a computer available for guest use. We like to encourage our guests to mingle in the lounge area or bar where WiFi is available and swap stories of their day on the Island. We consider our restaurant prices are suitable for the quality and quantity of food you receive. The meal prices on Kangaroo Island as a whole are generally higher than the mainland due to operational costs. Once again thank you for your review.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

a quiet relaxing location with great outdoor/indoor eating area. The food over three days was tasty and varied. Slept very well and good feedback from other guests. Lots to see and do. Only drama was distance from Kingscote.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and on Kangaroo Island. We believe our location of American River is an advantage in that we are half way between Kingscote and Penneshaw (the two main hubs on Kangaroo Island) but we offer a peaceful getaway in a true waterfront location. We are only a short 25mins drive to Kingscote but most things you may need for your holiday can be found in American River including a small store.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
11.3 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
56.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
9.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
11.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
19.8 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Property: Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Address: 73 Scenic Dr, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kangaroo Island, one of Australia's great wilderness destinations, is best known for its magnificent coastal views, unique landscapes, uncrowded beaches and fascinating wildlife, including kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, Australian sea-lions, New Zealand fur seals and Little penguins. Kangaroo Island is a place of natural beauty and a place to escape. Kangaroo Island Lodge is situated on the banks of Eastern Cove in American River, with all rooms perfectly perched offering exceptional water views over the bay. Amid lush coastal vegetation, Kangaroo Island Lodge blends in with its natural surroundings. There is no better place to unwind and to enjoy the peace and tranquility. The seclusion of this area allows for the abundance of wildlife to roam free. Tammar wallabies, brush tailed possums, black swans, Cape Barren geese, Australian pelicans and the rare and endangered glossy black cockatoos can all be found in here. The outer bay of Eastern Cove offers excellent sailing and fishing in protected waters. The Kangaroo Island oyster industry is also located in American River, with the Oyster Shed located just down the road from the Kangaroo Island Lodge. If you are a keen walker, there are two main walking tracks, the Independence Trail and the Fish Cannery walk. Both walks meander through the natural coastal scrub where numerous species of wildlife and birdlife can be seen. So why not come and escape to the Kangaroo Island Lodge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel All Seasons Kangaroo Island American River
Kangaroo Island Hotel
Kangaroo Island American River
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing