We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good but not quite excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spicers Peak Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spicers Peak Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very good but not quite excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

It's a fine line sometimes to take a property or experience to the next level and Spicers Peak is almost at that "excellent" level. Perhaps I am however not comparing like with like and doing Spicers an injustice.

In Australia Southern Ocean Lodge, Safire Lodge and Bamarru Plains I would rate as excellent - but they also cost almost double what Spicers charges! However 3 meals a day, open bars and all excursions are included (and some transfers)! These 3 properties have also been very special experiences.

Spicers was an overnight break with a 7 course degustation dinner with matched wines without doubt the highlight. The room was more that comfortable without being "special" - perhaps the wheel-chair accessibility of our room (room 2) had some effect - more practical than "special" - I'm not sure. A very comfortable bed, flat screen TV (No Foxtel), beautiful fireplace and sun-drenched balcony were all very pleasant - complimentary WiFi a bonus! The public areas were spacious and welcoming while the lost horizon pool extremely inviting.

The staff who dealt with us were excellent - very well-trained and attentive without being in any way obsequious.

The 7 course degustation dinner was outstanding - a wonderful balance of flavours and styles with the size of portions and the timing of delivery spot on! The matched wines were a very good addition to accompany the meal.

I would have preferred to be charged extra to have ALL drinks and perhaps even excursions included - perhaps that price point is not the market that's being targeted but it would certainly add to the experience from my perspective.

Overall I look forward to an excuse to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_peaklodge, General Manager at Spicers Peak Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear tshields,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The team are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, the food and service.

We do have some great all-inclusive packages available should you wish to have all your meals and beverages included.

We hope to welcome you back to Peak Lodge in the future.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    29
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
389
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, NSW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here on two previous occasions and they were prior to 2009 - how time flies. This time it was a surprise for my husband, I booked a private 1 bedroom lodge and took a Heli transfer - I cannot say how marvelous this was. From the time Greg picked us up from the Gold Coast till our return it was definitely perfect. The food, the staff, the accommodation - if you want a break, if you want romantic then this is the place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ttmj1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_peaklodge, General Manager at Spicers Peak Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear ttmj1313,

Thank you for your great review! Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your return stay and the helicopter flight.

The Peak team look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine coast
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was out second trip, we first went when it was newly opened.
We had a lovely time then but were disappointed this time due to some small issues.
It is a lovely place, very relaxing. it feels like you really leave the rest of the world behind.
The lodge is stunning with fabulous views and sunsets to die for.
The drive in is quite long and not great if you don't have a car with good tork. Not a place to bring the sports car.
The farm is organic, but I don't know wether this is why there was a plague of ticks, I feel sorry for the cows and the grounds are over run by unattractive tall thistle weeds.
Be warned to check for ticks on returning from bush walks around the lodge,I had 4 and my husband had 2. Management were sympathetic, but they should have warned us when we arrived. We did tell them when we left and they said they were going to let new guests know and supply tweezers and alcohol swabs.
We were very disappointed with sommelier staffing. Lovely young people, however with no idea about how to make a cocktail or serve wine.
Part of the experience, at spicers is to enjoy a cocktail while looking at the fabulous sunset. My sunrise cocktail, came out looking like a glass of brown dishwater.
My husband ordered a basic dry martini with a lemon twist, but was given a large piece of peeled lime instead, because apparently no lemons were available and my husband was told, very offhandly, after he asked about the lemon "what difference would it make anyway"
Our wine, at dinner, was used up in the first two glasses as the young girl, who was very keen, she filled the large red wine glasses to the top!
Again we told management, who did give us complimentary wine at our second meal, but I didn't expect such a lack of basic training from a 5 star resort.
The food was lovely, especially the soups on both nights, but the degustation courses were so large, we had to ask to reduce the number of courses on the second night. Sometimes less is best.
We had trouble lighting the fire because there were no fire starters, you have to request those in advance, even though we asked for the fire to be set up the second night, it wasn't. So it was too late to light the fire after getting back to our room after dinner.
Probably wont go back ourselves, but would still recommend it to friends, just go before tick season.
I think management needs to be a bit more on the ball with staff training.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_peaklodge, General Manager at Spicers Peak Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear CytoBabe,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The team are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Lodge's location and sunsets.

We are sincerely sorry that you and your husband encountered ticks during your stay. Unfortunately we are coming into tick season and we are ensuring that we let every guest know to be aware of ticks while walking. Unfortunately the area is prone to ticks coming into the warmer season.

In relation to team training, we take pride in our customer service that we offer and we sincerely apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We do have two new team members that are now trained and unfortunately the evening your dined was their first week. Our Restaurant Manager continually conducts training to ensure our team provide the Spicers 5 star service and I have taken your feedback on board.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave a review. We would love for the opportunity to welcome you back to Peak Lodge in the future.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband & I celebrated our 5 year wedding anniversary with 2 nights at Spicers. Working in the tourism industry I have often heard people rave about this beautiful lodge & having now experienced it first hand, I can certainly understand why.

From the moment you step through the door, you are made to feel welcome. The accommodation is limited to a small number of guests, and we found you rarely saw other guests except at meal times, so it does largely feel like you have the place to yourselves.

The rooms are elegantly appointed & a highlight is the open fireplace in your room. The main communal lounge and bar is spectacular, with views out over the range & it's easy to relax with a glass of wine & really enjoy the view. The rooms are very spacious and private, yet also open out to lovely views. We stayed in a Lodge Suite (no Spa Bath) I think I would be tempted to upgrade to a Spa room next time.

The meals are outstanding & I'd recommend trying the wine matching with the degustation dinner.

Peak Lodge is definitely a couple's retreat and the team who look after you during your stay really provide exceptional and personal service and are very friendly & welcoming.

We went for a long walk, indulged in a Spa Treatment & relaxed, which is easy to do in such stunning surrounds.

It was the perfect location for a celebration & we'd love to return.

Room Tip: Personally I'd request a room with a fireplace every single time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whytebate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_peaklodge, General Manager at Spicers Peak Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Whytebate,

Thank you for your fantastic review! The team are pleased to hear you enjoyed your Peak Lodge experience. What great feedback.

We hope to see you at Peak Lodge again soon.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Such an amazing place!! Like a Swiss log cabin-the architecture and ambience are just perfect and the air is so fresh it was hard to leave it. Amazing 7 course dinner and beautiful rooms with fire places. Really loved our stay here-couldn't recommend highly enough. Just wish we had longer :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livi_6567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_peaklodge, General Manager at Spicers Peak Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Livi_6567,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a lovely review. The team are pleased to hear you enjoyed your Peak Lodge experience and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane. Asutralia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was the third time at Spicers Peak for us, and each time we come back, it reminds us of what's so special about this property. This time, we stayed in a Lodge suite with a spa, and it was lovely sitting in the spa, reading and watching the rain fall on the skylight above. All the little touches you expect from a luxury retreat are there, and the service is superb. As always, the food was outstanding. A thoroughly relaxing getaway!

Room Tip: Have a look at last minute rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makita7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_peaklodge, General Manager at Spicers Peak Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Markita 7,

Thank you for your fabulous review. That's great to hear you enjoyed your third visit to Spicers Peak Lodge.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a fourth visit hopefully soon.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed the weekend here for our neice's wedding. Beautiful location, building, room, food, wine etc etc. Staff very helpful. Open fire in our room made for a cosy night. Definately 5 star. Highly recommended. We'll be back !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brissie3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_peaklodge, General Manager at Spicers Peak Lodge, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Brissie3333,

Thanks for the nice review. I am glad to hear you had a lovely stay at Peak Lodge.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peak Lodge in the future.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryvale
15.3 mi away
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
21.0 mi away
Abbey of the Roses
Abbey of the Roses
#3 of 13 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Long Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
2.6 mi away
Bestbrook Mountain Resort
20.5 mi away
Wiss House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Peak Lodge

Property: Spicers Peak Lodge
Address: Wilkinson's Rd, Maryvale, Queensland 4370, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Maryvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Maryvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Peak Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a unique blend of luxurious accommodation, fine dining and spectacular settings, Spicers Peak Lodge is an intimate destination for those who want a peaceful escape with all the perks. Overlooking the Great Dividing Range and Main Range National Park, this secluded, mountain-top retreat is the highest non-alpine lodge in Australia and just two hours' drive from Brisbane. But with the stunning views and rolling mists, it feels a world away from everyday life. It's relaxation, beauty, service, cuisine and luxury - all elevated to new standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Spicers Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing