We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected .... In a good way”
Review of Spicers Canopy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spicers Canopy
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Unexpected .... In a good way”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This fixed tents are simple but well set up, and the beds are super comfy. You will find a hot water bottle in your bed at night (this is the only heating and it does get cold, so pack the fleecy PJs).
There is a main building which has the lounge and dining area - and the kitchen. We were meeting in the lounge and unfortunately the (wonderful staff) also share the space, which made it noisy as they spend large part of the day preparing meals.
It is a good venue if you book it out - the layout, including the fire pit for evenings, makes it a great venue for a large group to connect. With only three bathrooms to share between 17 people, I would not recommend it for a quiet couples weekend. Would be great for a party or private work offsite ( which is what I attended).
Views are amazing, staff so attentive and helpful. It makes a great change from a traditional hotel for a work off site. It is at least a 90 minute drive from Brisbane airport, but a pretty memorable location.

Room Tip: It is camping, so bring a torch and some warm clothes. The creatures can be a little noisy at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaileyC_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Spicers Canopy, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Karina,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us at Spicers Canopy.
It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed your experience at Canopy.

I have taken note of your feedback and will be discussing it with our owners to see what alternatives we can provide for conferencing.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again one day with Spicers.

Warm regards,

James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
28
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I took my partner to Spicer's Canopy as a surprise gift for Valentine's Day. We had a lovely time and were treated like special guests at every point. From the 90min eco walk (though ours took 2 hours due to regular pausing for stories) to the fresh baked scones with jam and cream and the glass of bubbly waiting when we arrived, it was all so perfect. Our hosts were attentive without being overbearing and the whole atmosphere was so laid back, relaxed and enjoyable. As usual, the Spicer's menu lived up to my expectations again.....so yummy! Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lotus_Blossom_Cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoey82, General Manager at Spicers Canopy, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Lotus_Blossom,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Canopy experience.

We look forward to seeing you at Canopy again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our weekend at Spicers Canopy very much. We came with another couple to celebrate a 60th birthday. We were warmly greeting by Chris on arrival at the white house where we left the car and handed over our bags to be delivered to the Canopy. Russell expertly guided us on a very pleasant bushwalk for about 2 hours into Spicers Canopy where a wonderful afternoon tea including champagne awaited us.

Throughout our stay the staff were most attentive with very pleasant attitudes. We thoroughly enjoyed the great food and wine. Our tent was comfortable and the main area with the log fire was very cosy especially when the weather deteriorated off and on. We had all weather conditions with sun, wind, thunderstorms and varying temperatures through the weekend. The outlook toward the Scenic Rim was stunning. On Saturday afternoon Russell drove us up to a breathtaking peak at Ryan’s lookout in the 4WD and then showed us the magnificent Peak Lodge where we warmly welcomed by Leasa and enjoyed a glass of champagne. Very tempting for another time!
The only downside at Spicers Canopy is the bathroom situation. The three separate single bathrooms situated in the central main area are not adequate to cater for up to 20 guests as well as staff. On Saturday night and Sunday morning with 14 guests plus staff and it was not comfortable. We have experienced similar accommodation in remote Australia and on safari in Botswana and all had en-suites attached to each luxury tent. It would obviously be more comfortable to be able to leave personal toiletries in one’s own ensuite and avoid running out of the tent in the rain wondering if you have to wait to get access to the bathroom.
Other than the lack of a private ensuite, we would highly recommend Spicers Canopy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annagram09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Spicers Canopy, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Annagram09,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful review. I will pass on your lovely feedback to Chris, Russell and the team. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, food, wine and service at Spicers Canopy. That is great you also enjoyed your visit to Peak Lodge too!

Thank you for your feedback regarding the bathroom facilities, I will pass on your suggestion about having ensuites attached to our tents to the owners for review. We are an advanced eco-accredited site and Spicers Canopy has been designed to meet requirements and ensure we limit power usage.

Thank you once again for your great feedback and we hope to see you at Spicers Canopy or another Spicers property soon.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just had a few days at Spicers Canopy and were thoroughly impressed. We went mid week and had the place to ourselves for most of the time. Our host, Chris, was attentive without being in your face all the time. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The food was excellent and plentiful. The accomodation was comfortable but the shared bathroom might be a turn off for some people. I think the tents might be a bit cold in the middle of Winter but the hot water bottle in the bed was a pleasant surprise. The guided walk was informative but not too challenging, although the excuse of having to walk for an hour and a half to get to there to "minimise the carbon footprint" was laughable since the bottled water on the bedside table comes from Norway. The view from the tent over the rolling hills was calming, and an entire morning lolling about on a beanbag under the shade of a few gum trees was very relaxing. I highly recommend Spicers Canopy and will likely return.

Room Tip: Tents further from the main lodge will be quiter I guess but you need to walk further to use the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnno_Groates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoey82, General Manager at Spicers Canopy, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks for your lovely review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Spicers Canopy.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the water bottles, we have since changed our water to a brand that is local and Australian. We appreciate your feedback.

We hope to see you at Spicers Canopy again soon!

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent three nights at Spicers Canopy with freinds of ours, and were very impressed with the quality of service. The meals were excellent, and the chefs were very good hosts, who not only knew food and how to prepare it at the highest level, but also knew how to act as a good host. Recommend that you go on a guided walk with Russel, as his knowledge and manner will make your experience at Spicers Canopy all the more enjoyable. This is "camping" at its very best!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoey82, General Manager at Spicers Canopy, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear George,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review. We are pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to Spicers Canopy in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2012

What a wonderful place to getaway! We had the pleasure of a three-night relaxing stay at Spicers Canopy, and could not fault it. The tents were very comfortable (even for a non-camper like myself), the food was fantastic and every meal was quite substantial. We took the option for a full day guided walk with Russell, which was an experience we highly recommend.

Thank you to Leasa, Chris and Russell, the Spicers Canopy team, who looked after us extremely well. We came away not only feeling relaxed, and complete recharged, but also like we'd made new friends.

This is a great mini-break for any city dweller that spends too much time in the office. Turn your phone off and leave your laptop/tablet at home, this is a holiday to disconnect from your day-to-day life.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam-and-Damo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

From the pumpkin scones on our arrival, to the wood-fired pizzas on departure, our stay was a relaxed, gourmet delight. Daniel and Angela greeted us with sparkling wine and afternoon tea (with superb chocolate brownies and carrot cake as well as the scones) after our guided walk onto the property.
Our "tent" and view were lovely-just as it looks on the web site !!
We had a wonderful 24 hours and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoddsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoey82, General Manager at Spicers Canopy, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you stay at Spicers Canopy.

We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryvale
15.4 mi away
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
22.0 mi away
Abbey of the Roses
Abbey of the Roses
#3 of 13 in Warwick
131 reviews
2.6 mi away
Spicers Peak Lodge
Spicers Peak Lodge
#1 of 3 in Maryvale
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Bestbrook Mountain Resort
16.4 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
17.8 mi away
Killarney View Cabins and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Canopy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Canopy

Property: Spicers Canopy
Address: 1095 South Branch Road, Maryvale, Queensland 4309, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Maryvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Maryvale
Hotel Class:4 star — Spicers Canopy 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect antidote to the stress and pressure of city living, a luxurious eco camping escape in the heart of the Queensland's naturally beautiful Scenic Rim region just two hours' drive from Brisbane. Surrounded by 5000 acres of private nature refuge, beneath a canopy of endless skies, Spicers Canopy offers an unforgettable eco-tourism experience that sets hearts and minds free and sends spirits soaring. Spicers Canopy a part of the Scenic Rim Trail by Spicers and is also available for group bookings from Monday through Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Spicers Canopy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing