We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place just out of Brisbane”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bestbrook Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place just out of Brisbane”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

5 families stayed at Bestbrook over the Queens birthday long weekend and we had a lovely time. The property is very pretty and the kids took their bikes and had a good time mountain biking. We didn't get to any of the planned activities so I can't tell you what they were like, but they are run at various times during the day and you can join in. We really loved the chance to have a fire at night.

The creek running through the property provides endless entertainment for the kids. They were backwards and forwards to it all weekend. It's a lovely place to sit by for the adults as well and end the day with a wine and view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestbrook, Manager at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hi Nicole C,
Great to hear you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed Bestbrook we would love to see you again even for the day (no charge for day visitors) so you can enjoy some of our scheduled activities with the children. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    119
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
299
18
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Over the June long weekend we headed off to Bestbrook Mountain Resort. We couldn't have had a better experience if we tried. Not only was it educational for young and old but a real hands on experience with the animals for us city folk. We had a group of four families all with children and a couple of dogs as well and we all had a fantastic time. The Bestbrook staff really put themselves out to ensure you have a great time and they were fantastic with our children when it came to the animal feeding our 3 youngest ones couldn't wait to go each morning and afternoon and were even helping out with the feeding of the calves afterwards.

Thanks to all at Bestbrook and we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestbrook, Manager at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hi Tracey T,
Thanks for your review. Our fantastic staff are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and I will pass your comments onto them. Look forward to you visiting again in the future. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woombye
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Arrived to non helpful & cranky staff, non level surface to park caravan, 400 metres away from ammenities, showers dirty with hair and scum around shower base which you are supposed to clean yourself. Toilets at site tilted to match slope of hill, no potable water available caravan site and cost per night the most expensive since leaving home. In short a run down venue which needs complete refurbishing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avan4x4Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestbrook, Manager at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hi Avan4x4Traveller,
Very sorry you encountered cranky staff as we pride our self in being friendly and helpful. We do not promote our self as a caravan park and we do not have level concrete slabs but as a bush camping venue. Yes the temporary shower facilities we are using until we can negotiate the local council and Department of Environment conditions that we have been battling for 2 years are 400 metres from the camping areas and this is clearly displayed on our map on our web site. Our showers are cleaned every day and guest are not required to clean them but we do leave cleaner handy as some guest like to give the shower a quick clean if a number of guests have used before them. We do have potable water available at 1 of our camp grounds but not at every site. All water on the property is UV treated, potable and tested regularly to meet Australian Drinking Water Standards. Our prices include all farm activities such as animal feeding, milking cows, wagon ride, boomerang throwing, whip cracking and on weekends or holidays billy tea and damper making which I understand you did not partake in any of unfortunately. Thanks and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay in the bunk house at Bestbrook. Had a awesome time from the moment we arrived to the time we left. Animal feeding, horse trek ( Thank you to Bruce and Laura)
Billy tea and damper making( Thank you Cyril). Just what a farm stay should be like warm and welcoming. Booked to camp in Sept :)

Room Tip: Number 9 lodge perfect position
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateW273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestbrook, Manager at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hi KateW273,
Thanks for the review, it's always good to hear our guest enjoyed their stay and we look forward to your return visit in September. I will pass on your remarks to our fantastic staff. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a great camp in the Tranquility Camping Area over ANZAC weekend. Arrived late Friday, there was still great sites together for us and the two families expected to join us.

Had a nice meal in the restaurant that night after pitching camp.

Kids enjoying playing near the stream all weeked - we have been previously so this time didnt make use of the great kids activities though we have previously.

Left later on Sunday afternoon, things are easygoing at Bestbrook.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestbrook, Owner at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hi Michael J,
great to hear you enjoyed your camping with us and we hope to see you back at Bestbrook soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had a wonderful 4 days from Anzac Day 2013 with our daughter/partner and young grand children camping in our caravans at a fantastic spot overlooking the creek on the other side of the causeway . The children loved the pony rides, animal feeding, jumping castle and tractor. The view from the lookout is awesome. A superb destination for the kids as well as us "older kids" with lots of walking, relaxing and sitting by our camp fire at night. The scenery is just wonderful. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed morning tea and lunch on the Coach House verandah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestbrook, Owner at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks Lorel C for your comments and it's always great to hear our guests had an enjoyable stay at Bestbrook Mountain Resort and enjoyed the scenery, activities and horse riding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our family had the best time here at Bestbrook over the Easter holidays. It is very relaxed with plenty going on - never a dull moment. The kids loved playing in the creek, feeding the animals and enjoying some independence. Horseriding was excellent, the staff were great with the young children. Food was wholesome and tasty, real home cooking. Owners were so welcoming and you feel like this place is a home away from home. Great playroom for the children if you have dinner up at the farmstead. We definitely want to return.

Room Tip: All the rustic cabins are nicely spaced apart with lovely views. I would probably go for cabin 8 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestbrook, Owner at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hi Sam B,
Great to hear your family enjoyed their stay and all the activities and horse riding etc and we are happy to hear our staff are also being well received as we do try and make everyone feel at home when they at Bestbrook. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryvale
17.6 mi away
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
5.6 mi away
Spicers Peak Lodge
Spicers Peak Lodge
#1 of 3 in Maryvale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
18.7 mi away
Killarney View Cabins and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Goomburra Forest Retreat
Goomburra Forest Retreat
#3 of 3 in Goomburra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bestbrook Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bestbrook Mountain Resort

Property: Bestbrook Mountain Resort
Address: 9790 Cunningham Hwy, Maryvale, Queensland 4370, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Maryvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Maryvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bestbrook Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bestbrook offers you a unique weekend escape or holiday package in self contained farm stay cabins, bunkhouse back packer style rooms or camping by Gap Creek. Bestbrook is an Australian owned and operated farmstay property where everyone joins in the fun. Only 90 minutes from Brisbane or 126 minutes from the Gold Coast, Bestbrook offers a perfect break from the city to enjoy relaxed country living. Horse riding for all levels from parent led rides, lessons or trail rides. We have regular free demonstrations of milking cows, making butter, boomerang throwing, Australia stock whip cracking, billy tea & damper & a brief presentation of local history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Bestbrook Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing