We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bestbrook Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Lovely views, excellent camping spot. Family who own the place are lovely and very helpful. Also love the horse rides for the kids. We always have a relaxed and pleasant holiday. Looking forward to another easter at Bestbrook xx

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
There are newer reviews for Bestbrook Mountain Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 423 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed with my three 9 year old girls for 4 nights January 2013. The people here make you feel like one of the family and it is very relaxing, The owners, and their delightful brood of well mannered children, go out of their way to make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble at any time. The two bedroom huts I thought were nicer accommodation than the 3 bedroom we'd had on a previous visit. Accommodation is very basic, include a fully self contained kitchen, clean towels and madeup beds, and a fireplace, similar to realistic farm worker cabins with back verandahs. It's not luxurious so don't expect the ritzy resort style . Cyril was a goldmine of wonderful historical information, and managed to fascinate the 'technology mad' kids with his butter making, whip cracking, and let them cook damper hotdogs on sticks over the fire. The kids soon met and befriended other kids staying at the same time and all entertained each other leaving parents free to relax and observe them from the homestead (coachhouse) verandah. Horse riding was excellent for Nil experience to lots of experience. We went from the lesson to a two hour ride up the mountain, which was great, and with great staff to guide us. For one parent babysitting familys who need some adult company it is easy to meetup with (particularly if Rae the owner is having his afternoon beer at the same time) and chat to other parents late afternoon for a casual drink on the homesteads back verandah while kids play in the playground, swim in the pool, or feed the animals, all in clear view of where you are sitting. Meals were great, cook is very accommodating. This is a place where your kids can be independant, to let you have some me time, yet you know where they are and that they are safe all the time. We were lucky enough to stay when the most wonderful natured dog had 7 funball puppies which all the kids loved cuddling and playing with. My only request would be that the kids have a more ' hands on' involved role in feeding the animals, and not just as watchers of the process. But this might depend on who is doing the feedings at the time, and whether they can speak English fluently enough to include all the kids in actually doing something to 'help' feed the animals.

Room Tip: Further away from the main road would be quieter, but you have a longer walk up the hill to the coac...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My family and I stayed here over new years. It was the most wonderful experience we have had in a long time. We have two children 2 and 5, they had an awesome time feeding the animals, riding the horses, cracking the whip and learning the throw a boomerang. My 5yr old enjoyed the boomerang throwing so much he insisted on buying his own and practicing. The homestead is clean, tidy and the staff are extremely friendly. We cant wait to get the spare time to be able to go again. Thank you to everyone at bestbrook for making our new years a very memorable one

Room Tip: we took our camper trailer and the space to choose from was fantastic
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My daughter and I have just returned from 3 nights at Bestbrook in a 2 bedroom cabin. What makes this place is the people there. A very special thanks to Donna, Laura, Bruce and Cyril!! When you wake up in the morning and sit outside on the small verandah of your cabin you will see cows and horses walking by, then pop on up to the animal feeding where you/your children can milk a cow, feed the puppies and chickens etc. also Laura was very know knowledgeable about all of their animals and she is simply wonderful with children. My daughter is quite shy and doesn't usually join in with most activities so I was really impressed with the way Laura got her to join in!! She had a riding lesson with Laura and we both went on a trail ride the following day. I would suggest that they aren't the best looking ponies I have seen however I would note that Bruce has trained them to be excellent for trail rides and would absolutely say that they are as safe as you could hope for. He is obviously very experienced at what he does. We went on the wagon ride with the boomerang throwing and whip cracking, lots of fun for children. Also the billy tea and damper with Cyril which included "a locals knowledge" of the area. At the end of the day cool down in the salt water pool then, at night time I suggest having a couple of drinks and dinner at the homestead and enjoy Donna's country cooking. Accomodation is very basic, however it does have all the essentials like washer, dryer, cooktop, microwave, tv, dvd player etc. One tip for the owners if you are reading this, instructions on how to use the tv/dvd player would be worthwhile. A small "room air conditioner" is not quite enough to cool the place down unfortunately and it was very hot weather, luckily it cools right down at night there, so we slept very well. I looked at the camping sites and if I was the camping type with either horses or dogs this is definately the place to go. I am used to 5 star accomodation as a rule....but you know what, having such welcoming people made this more fun and relaxing then pretty much most of my holidays of late..

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our children, aged 2, 3.5 and nearly 10 just LOVE this farm stay, and did not want to leave!! Very friendly, so much to do...the animal feeding is so fun and educational. Horses were so placid for the kids to ride. Accomodation is basic, but clean and spacious. Bring your own supplies for meals. Lovely walks and runs from your cabin, even a jumping castle and great play equipment for kids!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have just returned home after a three day stay at Bestbrook. What a marvellous place. we certainly got our fill of horse riding, animal feeding, swimming and enjoying the relaxed country lifestyle. Donna and Bruce and all the staff were so wonderful and looked after us as if we were family. It is the first holiday I've really enjoyed in a long time. The kids had a ball and we are exhausted from all the activities. Thanks guys. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Look for special deals on Living Social website as most occupants were staying in similar cabins at...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rechelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed during the mid week which was very quiet; in a two bedroom cabin and found it very clean, comfortable and a bit rustic. Firewood, fire starters and paper were provided to enjoy a nice fire in the pot belly stove. Hosts and staff were very friendly, accommodating and down to earth. We enjoyed the meals in the restaurant as we did not want to do any cooking ourselves. Really felt like we were on a farm with the cows and horses just roaming around. Recommend having a horse riding lesson before going on a trail ride for people who have not been on a horse before as it just makes the trail ride so much more enjoyable. It enabled us to get to know the horse that we would be riding, have some knowledge about riding and we felt more in control over the horse. If you wish to stay there to enjoy the peace, I recommend you check when you book to ensure that there are no large groups booked in at the same time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 114Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryvale
17.5 mi away
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
20.2 mi away
Abbey of the Roses
Abbey of the Roses
#3 of 13 in Warwick
135 reviews
5.6 mi away
Spicers Peak Lodge
Spicers Peak Lodge
#1 of 3 in Maryvale
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
18.6 mi away
City View Motel Warwick
City View Motel Warwick
#1 of 13 in Warwick
183 reviews
18.7 mi away
Killarney View Cabins and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bestbrook Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bestbrook Mountain Resort

Address: 9790 Cunningham Hwy, Maryvale, Queensland 4370, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Maryvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Maryvale
Price Range: $184 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bestbrook Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bestbrook offers you a unique weekend escape or holiday package in self contained farm stay cabins, bunkhouse back packer style rooms or camping by Gap Creek. Bestbrook is an Australian owned and operated farmstay property where everyone joins in the fun. Only 90 minutes from Brisbane or 126 minutes from the Gold Coast, Bestbrook offers a perfect break from the city to enjoy relaxed country living. Horse riding for all levels from parent led rides, lessons or trail rides. We have regular free demonstrations of milking cows, making butter, boomerang throwing, Australia stock whip cracking, billy tea & damper & a brief presentation of local history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Bestbrook Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing