We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Shingle Inn

Shingle Inn
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane
Level Contributor
181 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The service is very slow - the staff make you feel as though you're a nuisance. The coffee is rarely hot enough and the cakes are over sweet and over priced. There are plenty of far better cafes to choose from in the area so I wouldn't waste my money going there again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
loganlea
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to go for lite meals and cold or hot drinks and you can buy cakes for home”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

1. Very clean place
2. Fast services to the table
3. Great chairs to sit in
4. Great location
5. Friendly staff
6.it is at the Hyperdome near Myers
7. Open 7 days
8.great parking

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmathes5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Slow and disappointing”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had lunch at the Loganholme Shingle Inn today. When I ordered a toasted sandwich and a milkshake, Coffee and raisin bread I was told that it would be ready in a few minutes. Twenty-five minutes later the (milkshake $5.30 for a glass) and lukewarm coffee were delivered to the table but it was another ten minutes before the food arrived by which time the milkshake was warm and the coffee cold. In response to our query about when the food would come when the drinks came we were told that they were shot-staffed and busy. THe food when it came was fairly ordinary and the experience is one we won't repeat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deejay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Overpriced with awful service”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My wife and I each ordered a BLT, which cost $10.90. The cafe was almost empty but after 25 minutes our sandwiches still hadn't arrived. When I went to ask how much longer our meals would take it turned out they had been sitting ready for us on the counter for at about 10-15 minutes waiting for the waitress to bring them over to us. There was no apology for the delay and no acknowledgement that the toast and bacon were stone cold.

Rather than being served on nice thick cut cafe style bread, the BLTs were served on small thin-cut bread slices. Not the decent size bread slices you buy at a bakery or from Tip Top but the smaller sized unbranded slices you buy for $1 a loaf. The side salad was undressed and the carrot had not been peeled (there were gross brown edges on each grated slice).

Had the Shingle Inn charged $6.90 for the BLT I would have been quite happy with my meal. But at $10.90 I felt totally ripped off and will never return to any Shingle Inn cafe.

The other two people in our party each ordered eggs benedict - both egg yolks were hard cooked rather than runny. One of them ordered a Pepsi - it was literally plonked on the table (not even in front of the actual person who ordered it) along with a glass filled with ice. There was no offer to pour the Pepsi into the glass.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loganlea
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“its a great cafe to go to”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

1.great food
2.great cafe
3.great coffee
4.great location you can catch a bus to the hyperdome
5.open 7 days a week
6.great servcies
7. friendly staff

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmathes5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shingle Inn also viewed

Loganholme, Logan City
Loganholme, Logan City
 
Loganholme, Logan City
Loganholme, Logan City
 

Been to Shingle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing