We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Enjoyable - how could you complain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spicers Hidden Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The beautiful scenery of Spicers was really only just beaten by the fantastic service provided from the staff from Kirtsy, Rebeeca, Beth & Ash/Chilli. Well Done & thanks

My family's SPICERS EXPERIENCE started the moment we arrived with the warm & sincere welcome till when we left 3.30pm the next day. Our 1-night stay turned into a totally enjoyable experience & left the kids wanting more. Even from the first moment Rebecca showed us to our table for one of the amazing meal, she recalled all 5 names throughout the night as if we were regulars like the kangaroos in the horse paddock. Ash, Greg & Kirsty were the same.

Ash & Chilli (Yes, even the dog rated highly with the kids) were a hit during Archery & Laser Clay shooting. No so much with Mum, who keep her (Chilli) busy throwing sticks while the barn animals were being feed.

The discussion around horse riding with Beth & 2 geldings that behaved themselves so well, lasted all the way back to the Gold Coast. Yes, the mountain bikes, games room, feeding the horses & barn animals, being 4-metres from 6 wild kangaroos with joeys all took second place.

We stayed in a comfortable 4 bedroom cottage with a fire place, when everything was within walking distance presented convenience plus. Next time, we will take swimmers for the heat spa & lap pool.

I nearly forgot, the breakfast was SERIOUSLY DELICIOUS!

Room Tip: Ask for one over looking the valley to the south!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceowarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 737 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our weekend away at Spicers Hidden Vale was wonderful. From the picnic lunch upon arrival to the wonderful staff...it was a faultless weekend. The property is lovely and tucked away where you feel like you are the only people there! Our room was lovely coupled with the huge spa bath, beautiful amenities and fluffy robes...I just didn't want to leave. Dinner in Cottons was a highlight - thanks to Chef and his team. One night is not enough...make sure you escape to this hidden treasure for at least two!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have just spent three days at this resort and can't speak too highly of our experience. We were a group of 28 people in the MG car club and not one person had a complaint. The Management and staff were meticulous in looking after us, and the meals were fantastic. Would thoroughly recommend Spicers to anyone looking for a wonderful country experience. We will be back. Cheryl and Don K.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Beautiful property, relaxing environment, staff extremely professional,menu overpriced,a wonderful place to reconnect with your family.View is amazing , next time I would stay longer as 2 nights not enough. A special mention to Clare who was an absolute delight and an incredible asset to your business , a staff member every business would dream of.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 37RebeccaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just stayed 2 nights at this most wonderful resort for Christmas in July with our car club and have done for the past 3 years but I must say this year was the best, so much so we have definately booked for next year. The resort is beautiful, the cottages are clean, comfortable and charming with their little bit of old worldly influence. The staff are friendly, efficient and informative and the meals at the restaurant are first class. There are a number of activities to occupy yourselves with or you can just relax and take in the beauty of the countryside. All I can say is you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the cottages are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lynn & Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Most enjoyable overnight stay. The food was as amazing as the view. Well done to Chef Ash Martin and his team. Everyone was extremely friendly and accommodating. We're looking forward to our return visit.


  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Spicers rep is for service, fine dining and luxury. Hidden Vale hits those targets. Mountain biking, archery and shooting are family friendly points of difference to other farmstays, and the food - too good!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandchester
19.0 mi away
Quest Ipswich Serviced Apartments
14.3 mi away
Woodlands of Marburg
Woodlands of Marburg
#1 of 1 in Marburg
46 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Hidden Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Hidden Vale

Address: 617 Grandchester Mt Mort Rd, Grandchester, Ipswich, Queensland 4340, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Ipswich > Grandchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Grandchester
Price Range: $289 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spicers Hidden Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Brisbane set on a stunning 12,000 acre property, Spicers Hidden Vale is a true hidden gem. The retreat is centered around a stunning historic homestead with wide verandas providing views over the little Liverpool Ranges and infinity rock pool. Hatted restaurant Homage is housed inside the homestead where a dedicated team of chefs create masterpieces based entirely on local produce. The original barn is still standing and has been restored, now a place to lounge and relax by the fire, or have beverage or two looking out over the 89 bed market garden. You can set your own pace - for those wanting to relax, there are picnic points, Spa Anise Day Spa, and two beautiful pools with mountain views to relax in. For those wanting a faster pace, there are mountain bike and bush walking trails, 4WD property tours, laser clay and archery. Being a nature refuge, the land is abundant with native wildlife including hundreds of Kangaroos and Wallabies and regular koala sightings. Spicers Hidden Vale has 31 rooms. Choose from Valley View Rooms which overlook the mountains, each with their own private veranda, Heritage suites which stand alone and have their own spa, a cottage for 4, 8 or even 12 guests or for the ultimate experience, Luxury suites which are stand alone, with spacious lounge, spa and private veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spicers Hidden Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Hidden Vale Hotel Grandchester
Peppers Hidden Vale Grandchester
Spicers Hidden Vale Grandchester, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing