We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secret spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spicers Hidden Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Laidley, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Secret spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Take the drive - it is worth it. The setting is amazing, the restaurant is wonderful and not as pricey as you may think. You do not have to be a house guest to have breakfast, lunch, dinner or even coffee ...just sit back and enjoy the tranquility , have a wander and soak up the views.

Room Tip: I haven't stayed here but every room is a little cottage so you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    123
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
168
371
5
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed with our young son between Christmas and New Year. The grounds are impeccable, service is very attentive. The pools are both amazing - what views.

Many of the activites that would interest families are free - boche, tennis, croquet, bike riding.

The restaurant on site is wonderful. If you stayed a few nights though it would get expensive - and you are quite far from anything else.

Will definately be back for another short stay to recharge our batteries!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina14011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights on 15 & 16 March at the end of our honeymoon and the place could not have been more amazing.

The staff on arrival were so helpful as we arrived at 11.30am and they served us a drink while we waited for our cottage to be ready early.

The Heritage Cottage was amazing, very homely and romantic, they also left us a card and bottle of wine which was lovely.

The horse riding on site was great and the staff so fantastic.

We had two fantastic meals in the restaurant and were served by the lovely Rebecca, Noreen and Anthony - thank you guys you made our stay perfect.

I would highly recommend this place if you want a very traditional homestead experience and i would love to visit again one day.

Thank you Spicers for creating such a wonderful place.
Becky & Richard from the UK

Room Tip: The Cottage - definitely worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyD885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

From the welcome to the beautifully appointed room and the dining experience, Spicers Hidden Vale does not disappoint. A lovely place to have some 'us'time.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Murray Grey block have a beautiful view over the countryside and great chairs on the ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

This was a last minute treat and turned out to be a fabulous place to stay, tranquil and peaceful with wonderful countryside views. The staff were so friendly and the food amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

My husband and our two little daughters stayed in the gorgeous Hereford cottage for three nights before Christmas. It was sheer bliss. This was our third visit and we will be back again as soon as we can. The hospitality and service is outstanding. The property is simply beautiful, the activities are interesting such as horse riding, feeding the farm animals, watching the wallabies and herds of cows and camels that wander about the huge Hiddenvale property. There are two pools - one landscaped like a big pond and very pretty, the other a huge pool with an amazing view of the mountains behind it. Shooting and archery are also available as are campfire and marshmallow packs. There is also a pleasant games room with pool table and table tennis.

Our girls - aged 6 and 8 - had an absolute blast. We played tennis and croquet and settled into a relaxing, slow blissful routine which made the grown-ups very happy as did the fantastic coffee on offer. The stunning food at Cottons restaurant is also a real feature of the resort. You must try any of their beef dishes. The meat literally melts in your mouth.

As at any Spicers resort, the prices are not cheap, but we think the very high accommodation standard, the breakfast buffet (included in our room rate) and the friendly, highly personalized outstanding service makes it worth the money.

Our three day stay was a delight. A fabulous place for interstate or overseas visitors to go to experience the very best of rural South East Queensland in a luxury environment. Very family friendly yet very elegant. Congratulations to the manager and all the staff for creating a world class resort in this part of Queensland.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerryweatherBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Every year my husband and I go 'somewhere special' for our anniversary........this year (our 41st) we decided to try our own back door......we were advised when booking that the weekend before our stay was their big maintenance weekend so we could only book in after 3pm on the Monday.......I said that was perfectly fine and for that little inconvenience was offered an upgrade of room and also a 'guaranteed late checkout the next morning'.......the resort is lovely but the 'Chinese Cottage' we were given was the only room in the whole place without a view and this was very disappointing.......the room that I first booked had lovely views over the valley and mountains but we were given this 'upgrade'......I know the 'Chinese Cottage' was bigger and probably better than the other but we do love our views and were very disappointed........only found out the next morning when I approached the rececption that it was indeed 'the only room on the property that did not have a view' - the meals were wonderful, the staff attentive - had no other complaints until I enquired as to the time of our 'late checkout the next morning' - and was told that was not possible as they had someone coming into the room!!! I showed them my confirmation letter and was informed that they 'never promise late check-outs!!!! Did I write the letter myself! Was very upset but tried not to let it spoil our anniversary.......as I said - most staff were excellent and the resort itself is lovely - would still recommend but if you like your views - don't book the Chinese cottage!

Room Tip: If you want a beautiful view (and there is plenty) make sure you do not book the'Chinese Cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandchester
14.1 mi away
Woodlands of Marburg
Woodlands of Marburg
#1 of 1 in Marburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
19.0 mi away
Quest Ipswich Serviced Apartments
19.2 mi away
Oaks Aspire Apartments
Oaks Aspire Apartments
#5 of 7 in Ipswich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Ipswich Country Motel
Ipswich Country Motel
#1 of 1 in Raceview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
11.2 mi away
Hatton Vale Motel
Hatton Vale Motel
#1 of 1 in Laidley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Hidden Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Hidden Vale

Property: Spicers Hidden Vale
Address: 617 Grandchester Mt Mort Rd, Grandchester, Ipswich, Queensland 4340, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Ipswich > Grandchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Grandchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spicers Hidden Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Brisbane set on a stunning 12,000 acre property, Spicers Hidden Vale is a true hidden gem. The retreat is centered around a stunning historic homestead with wide verandas providing views over the little Liverpool Ranges and infinity rock pool. Hatted restaurant Homage is housed inside the homestead where a dedicated team of chefs create masterpieces based entirely on local produce. The original barn is still standing and has been restored, now a place to lounge and relax by the fire, or have beverage or two looking out over the 89 bed market garden. You can set your own pace - for those wanting to relax, there are picnic points, Spa Anise Day Spa, and two beautiful pools with mountain views to relax in. For those wanting a faster pace, there are mountain bike and bush walking trails, 4WD property tours, laser clay and archery. Being a nature refuge, the land is abundant with native wildlife including hundreds of Kangaroos and Wallabies and regular koala sightings. Spicers Hidden Vale has 31 rooms. Choose from Valley View Rooms which overlook the mountains, each with their own private veranda, Heritage suites which stand alone and have their own spa, a cottage for 4, 8 or even 12 guests or for the ultimate experience, Luxury suites which are stand alone, with spacious lounge, spa and private veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Hidden Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Hidden Vale Hotel Grandchester
Peppers Hidden Vale Grandchester
Spicers Hidden Vale Grandchester, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing