We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Getaway”
Review of Childers Eco-lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Childers Eco-lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Childer's Eco-Lodge for two nights on our trip down the coast and loved every minute. It was really easy to get to from the Greyhound with a stop at Apple Tree Creek and pick-up to and from the stop. The facilities are clean and new, the beds are comfortable and the setting is truly Australian. The turtle trip they offer is definitely worth it as well. Owners Vanessa and Rhys are great hosts who couldn't be more helpful. We highly recommend making a stop to Childer's Eco-Lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Childers Eco-lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 47 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I wanted a weekend away to relax and thanks to the owners, this is exactly what we got. Vanessa and Rhys are very friendly and helpful, they give great advise for things to do, places to eat etc around the region. We found this hostel extremely nice and clean, the rooms are some of the cleanest hostel rooms I have seen in a long time. The place has a great kitchen, sufficient toilets and a super friendly dog named 'Digger' and its great to stay at a place with so much space where you can get away from everything.
The most impressive part was that it was very refreshing to stay in a hostel that is run by people who actually have backpacking/traveling experience, something that is seriously lacking around this region.
Thanks guys, will gladly come again when we get another free weekend. Manuela and Craig

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craigd82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Childers Eco-lodge is one of the most beautiful hostels I have ever seen. It's almost in the middle of nowhere, but you're gonna love this place.
The owners Vanessa, Rhys and their cute little daughter really care about you and help you whenever you need something.
Would stay there for a long time, but I had to leave looking for a job.
Kitchen facilities are awesome! Best hostel kitchen in Australia ;)

Wish you the best with your little hostel!!
Cheers, Jonas

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Brand new hostel runed by a lovely couple and their little daughter.
It's not realy crowded by now but it is a perfect place to stay if you want to relax, volunteer or looking for harvest work.

Facilities are great and there is nothing I could be worried about.

To put it in one sentence:

You won't find a better hostel!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidGer93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time staying at a hostel. We were really surprised at how fantastic it was. The rooms are big with new beds. We feed the cows and chickens. On the Saturday they had live music and a BBQ. Overall we got a lot more then we expected! Very happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathmatt1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016
Thank alpa0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChildersEco-lodgeQLD, Owner at Childers Eco-lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Yael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Childers
23.4 mi away
Country Comfort Gin Gin, Wild Scotsman
4.6 mi away
Childers Oasis Motel
Childers Oasis Motel
#1 of 4 in Childers
122 reviews
5.4 mi away
Childers Gateway Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Gin Gin Central Motel
Gin Gin Central Motel
#1 of 2 in Gin Gin
92 reviews
4.0 mi away
Avocado Motor Inn
Avocado Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Childers
29 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hideaway Haven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Childers Eco-lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Childers Eco-lodge

Address: 237 Stocks Rd, Childers, Queensland 4660, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Childers
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Childers
Price Range: $39 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Childers Eco-lodge is unique accommodation in a country setting. Relax and enjoy the birdlife, farm animals, bushwalks, and native wildlife just off the Bruce Highway. A great base for day trips to: Southern Great Barrier Reef; Fraser Island; Mt Walsh National Park; Woodgate Beach; Bundaberg, or explore the local Childers wineries and wildlife parks. Accommodation includes double furnished eco-tents with private facilities, and quad rooms with share facilities. Free unlimited wifi in all areas. Amenities include fully equipped kitchen, tv and games room, hammocks,campfire under the stars - do as much or as little as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Childers Eco-lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing