We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant place to spend a couple of hours.”

Flying High Bird Sanctuary.
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Childers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: largest free flying bird sanctuary
Scarborough, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to spend a couple of hours.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We travel the Bruce Highway regularly and have done so for many years. On the recommendation of a guide in Arnhem Land we decided to make time last Sunday to visit the bird park.
We were not disappointed . The aviary is huge, the majority of the birds fly free and are well looked after and there are a great variety . We enjoyed our visit will definitely take our grandchildren there and would recommend the park to anyone interested in birds. As has been said by other contributors an Indian Sunbird adopted us for our trip around the aviary, such a thrill.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    25
    13
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful place!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The number of beautiful birds flying free around you in this place is wonderful. Many of them are happy to sit on your shoulder as you walk around. There are so many bird personalities in this place! It's definitely somewhere I'd visit again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Time well spent”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went in the morning as suggested by another contributor. My wife had been adopted by a bird from the moment we entered the aviary and it stayed there the way through!!! This is a fabulous opportunity to see such a wide variety of brilliant birds up close and personal. Agree the signage could do with an update as a few ground birds had no indication of what they were. Still that was only minor to the whole experience. We were glad we didn't miss this attraction on our day trip from Hervey Bay.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GregSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Interesting”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Thanks to another trip advisors review we did go in the morning and the birds were sqwarking and flying as it was feed time. Was interesting for the children, bit pricey to take the whole family. More up to date and child friendly information regarding the birds would help.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloela, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Go in the morning”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Located just off the highway just north of Childers. $18 for adult ticket.
I visited in the afternoon, but I believe the birds are more active in the morning - so that would probably be a better time to visit.

The person on reception gave me a quick, helpful overview before I entered the enclosure.

There was very good viewing of the maccaws and owls and others that were caged, but not so many birds to be seen in the free flight area.
A point for inmprovement would be to replace the fading signage which could not be read in a lot of cases.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Qldgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying High Bird Sanctuary. also viewed

 

Been to Flying High Bird Sanctuary.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing