We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remember the Bates motel in the movie 'Psycho' ?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avocado Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avocado Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Childers
1 review
“Remember the Bates motel in the movie 'Psycho' ?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our motel experience at this establishment was a night of sheer 'Psycho-tic' entertainment! We arrived late, last room next to the office! Finding taped up holes in the mouldy ceiling as part of the very dated 1950s style motel - it appears nothing much has changed even down to the turquoise tiling in the shower. Comfortable bed, clean room but not happy when toaster and kettle set off smoke alarm! Window in shower a bit dodgy regards privacy from outside. Having survived the night with 'Psycho' imaginations running wild, the whole experience was capped off by meeting the lovely proprietor Mr N BATES the following morning! Horror movie buffs a must stay!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoozyWoozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
10
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ipswich
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

The motel was very clean , but very very dated . We found that the lady who runs it to be rude and abrupt with very little people skills . More than likely would not go back ..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 40tanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here (actually in 2009) one night on a 17-hour drive back to Townsville, my first visit to Australia. We were very tired and couldn't drive any further. We arrived late and left the next morning, so did not avail ourselves of any services. It was a little small and dingy, but the shower was large with plenty of hot water and we had three beds to choose from. There was tea/coffee in the room which we enjoyed. We slept well and were refreshed. It was fine for one night. I think we paid $100 which is a lot by american standards, but for Australia, it was a fair price. It's definitely no frills, but I would stay again for one night if traveling through.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spygurl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda, NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

Everything was satisfactory, comfy beds good size rooms execpt air con falling apart with an inch of dust on it... to scared to use it. And the fake plants also had an inch of dust on them.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lapd40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Childers
0.6 mi away
Childers Oasis Motel
Childers Oasis Motel
#1 of 4 in Childers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.5 mi away
Childers Gateway Motor Inn
4.0 mi away
Childers Eco-lodge
Childers Eco-lodge
#3 of 6 in Childers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Coral Villa Motor Inn
Coral Villa Motor Inn
#4 of 17 in Bundaberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Avocado Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avocado Motor Inn

Property: Avocado Motor Inn
Address: 212 Churchill St | Bruce Highway, Childers, Queensland 4660, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Childers
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Childers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avocado Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avocado Motor Inn is a quaint 14 room motel located approximately 800m from the centre of the historical and heritage listed village of Childers, Queensland, recognised the world over as being home to some of the best Avocado production in the southern hemisphere. Your hosts, Nev & Ruth Bates, look forward to welcoming you with their warm country style hospitality, and they invite you to break your long journey by enjoying a "comfy" night's sleep at the Avocado Motor Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Avocado Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing