We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing Experience

This is a must do experience. My children aged 7 and 9 just loved it. Although ours turned into a... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
320lorettam
,
Ipswich, Australia
via mobile
Amazing experience

We met the shuttle at 6.30pm to be taken to the turtle centre. Unfortunately there can be quite a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
sheenabribieisland
,
Kings Beach, Australia
via mobile
Read all 120 reviews
  
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveler rating
94
20
4
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
94
20
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eggs an amazing experience mon repos food van baby turtles be patient bucket list mother nature turtles hatch long wait take photos turtle experience special experience hatching season amazing night high tide late night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 120 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

This facility is amazing, would have liked to have seen more turtle merch at the little gift shop. We were all very impressed with the whole experience. Magnificent because you see what a beautiful creature a turtle is and sad because you learn how their world is shrinking and how endangered the species is actually. Thought we were in for a long night, worked out because we booked months in advance we were in the first group to be called out. Well worth the visit and planning to go back for hatching season.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank KFGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

I had this on my bucket list for over 2 years. So we were lucky enough to score some tickets. We arrived at 7 and were split into 6 groups. We were in the last group. By 8.30 we were heading down the board walk to the sand. The groups only go down when a turtle has been seen to leave the water and go towards the dunes to lay. We had about 30 in our group so plenty of room to see. The moon was out so visibility was good. We saw 2 turtles make their way up the beach and try to lay but the sand was too dry so they returned to the sea. Then at about 10 another turtle came in and found enough wet sand to bury her eggs. What an experience. We arrived back at our cars at about 11.30. An early night according to the bus driver. It was an event not to be missed. The guide from National Parks and the volunteers run a fantastic adventure so informative and knowledgeable.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank micheleb912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019 via mobile

Thought I enjoyed the videos, I found the centre not informative enough for adults.
Couldn’t get on the night tour unfortunately. So our only option was the turtle centre. The staff were happy to help with information. As the centre is fairly new perhaps it is still getting it together.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank jatomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019

We explored the centre in the evening while waiting for our turn at the turtle experience (separate review). It contains displays, scientific information about turtles biology, history of turtles and preservation efforts, stories about individual turtles that have been tagged and tracked in the past and of course info about how we can best help these wonderful animals have a better chance of surviving. There is also a gift shop with a diverse range of souvenir items if you would like a memento of your visit. Definitely worth visiting, even if you can't make it to a turtle experience at night.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Lissel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2019

AWESOME, even the least interested people will have a magical experience!!! Remember to book your tickets in advance, likelihood of there not being any spare tickets if you just turn up!! Head over to area where buses pick you up immediately, there can be a long queue and the sad thing is, people turn up late and think they can just queue jump when they see the length of it....not cool or polite people, so have patience your turn will come! The Mon Repos team have it well organised via allocation to a group, but this could mean a relatively long wait or maybe even a cancellation....all TURTLE dependant. Just relax when you get there, enjoy the new centre and take a pack of cards and have PATIENCE! Our tour, when we got the call it was a combined group which was quite large in number led by one of the conservation rangers. It doesnt take long for your eyes to adjust to the darkness, as you navigate your way through the centre boardwalk & carefully along the beach to the turtle that had been identified for our group to watch her lay her eggs (stopping occasionally to not interupt another female pulling herself up the beach). Carefully, our ranger positioned the group so that we would not disturb the turtle as she started to excavate the egg chamber. It was discovered that ours was having a struggle in digging as both her back flippers had been damaged previously so when she finally settled on the 2nd attempt our awesome ranger set about to give her a "hand" digging out the chamber that allowed her to feel secure enough to lay her eggs, otherwise she could have returned to the sea and aborted what she was carrying. It was then discoved that the turtle had layed the eggs below the water line so the ranger advised us that we were going to be involved in the egg relocation. We followed the turtle carefully as she headed back to sea, this also allowed the volunteer ranger to start to extract the newly laid eggs in preparation for the relocation..... 161 eggs saved and given a chance to survive and take their next stage in what is an incredible perilous journey to maturity. Honestly, my words dont do this experience justice and every encounter will be personal & unique......dont hesitate enjoy it for yourself!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Mousey2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews