We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely apartment, a few niggles”
Review of C Bargara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
C Bargara Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bargara
Certificate of Excellence
Malmesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, a few niggles”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed at the C Bargara for two nights whilst taking a road trip all around Queensland.

When we walked in we were amazed, the apartment is beautiful. Very modern and we were lucky to have an apartment that led directly out onto the pool, which is also really nice! It's really well equipped and you have everything you need to cook at home etc.

Just one tip for anyone staying there... Park your car in the correct space for your room. We made the genuine mistake of parking in just any old space (the complex wasn't full at all) and got a really threatening/abusive crazy note left on our windscreen from a resident and a phonecall from the manager. It kind of made us feel bad because we didn't mean to be inconsiderate and it was completely over the top. A lot of the people who live here are older/retired so I wouldn't say it was a place to go if you are a big family and want to entertain- they seem to be quite uptight about these kind of things. Which I guess is understandable if they live there. The manager mentioned people have had fights before over parking space- so watch out where you park! :)

All in all, great for couples and people wanting to relax in beautiful, peaceful surroundings. We had such a nice time!

Room Tip: Poolside apartments on the ground floor- beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBargara, Manager at C Bargara Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hello Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry another guest (not a resident) wrote such an inappropriate note regarding the carpark. We too were shocked by the note. Mistakes happen and usually people are understanding.

All visitors are welcome at C - including family groups, couples, corporate clients and international travellers like yourself. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope if you ever come to Queensland again, you will stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    63
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
89
70
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Read the other reviews- very common factor. The manager is a huge problem. Every encounter with him was painful. We had hired 3 penthouses and a 3 bedroom. Not one person who stayed was happy with the service. We were referred to as pigs ( as I read another guest was in another review aswell ) and this was definatley not the case. There was a leaking aircon which was a major slip hazard which was not fixed- no apologises made. We were accused of having a party- we Had some people over for breakfast.
The manager is absolutely not management material nor should be working with people in the hospitality industry. I have never met a more rude and unprofessional hotel manager.
If you are looking at staying at bargara do not stay here. Stay at the mantra. I'm very surprised a company as big as grand mecure would hire someone such as this.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hannahcm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The rooms are big & nice, the view & position is lovely
The management is poor, abrupt & rude.
When we arrived for a 3 night stay in the PENTHOUSE room (which cost about $400. a night) we had wet floors from the cleaners, there were several fans which didn't work, tv remotes where missing & the outdoor spa was unusable.

When we left, management blamed us for a chip in the kitchen bench which we didn't do - (they were given the option & advised to provide a quote for repair & we would look into it??) however they simply accessed funds from our account so now they are currently under bank investigation for taking the repair bill from our account without consent
Scary!!
They also told us we were pigs & had left the apartment in a mess? I had placed all linen in the laundry tub & put all washing up in the dishwasher & turned it on - I will admit I missed a plastic cup of coke out on the varandah. they apparently expected us to clean the BBQ (with what I don't no?)
We stayed here in a group renting a few rooms - Friends that stayed in another room requested a clean towel & were told - "theres a washer & dryer provided in your room"
Nice!
do yourself a favour & don't risk it... there are several other nice resorts in Bargara (weve stayed in most of them :)

Room Tip: don't risk it... there are several other nice resorts in Bargara (weve stayed in most of them :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank letsgoholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBargara, Owner at C Bargara Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
We are very lucky that most of our guests very much enjoy their stay at C Bargara, including I am sure the reviewer.
We enjoy sophisticated, educated guests who have studied their options and choose to stay again and again.
On a very rare occasion when we have brought the actions of a group into question, we receive a retaliatory post such as this as some kind of pay back.
We are then often asked about the situation by new guests and invariably they understand what we were faced with.
In this case there were two issues, the first being the filthy state the apartment was left in and the second was the damage to our brand new Caesar Stone kitchen benchtop.
Regarding the state of the apartment, when we brought it to their attention the lady stated it was left in that state because “that is what we pay for.”
Regarding the second issue, the repairer believes it was the result of a bottle being opened on the edge of the bench.
This damage stands out like a beacon to anyone who enters the apartment and was not done prior to this group’s stay.
Naturally this damage was brought to their attention and a photo sent to them.
As a further indication of the rarity of this situation, the text response we received from the guest stated that “We are Neanderthals”. Was this by way of explanation for the damaged benchtop?
To conclude, we would like to point out that no-one was called a pig, and that the arrival paperwork which the guest signs, states that we are authorised to on-charge any additional charges including mini bars, extra cleaning (which we did not charge) and any damage to our property.
A copy of this authorisation will be provided to any bank inquiry.
We deeply regret any upset to any guest however our responsibility also extends to the owners of our fabulous apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We family of four stayed in a two bedroom apartment poolside in January 2014. We spent three nights and costs us under $200 a night. Food value considering. ......For the size of the apartment. Good fittings (but minimalist). Even ground floor opposite pool had good views of sea. And we had an oversized deck. And we could walk straight out and into pool. This was a pleasure for the kids and me. It was having your own oversized plunge pool. Beds and linen were excellent. Was a short walk to town centre and shops. A short walk to Nielson Park surf beach (patrolled). A very comfortable place. Michael the manager is not over the top and gushy but was efficient and helpful. Only complaint is the kitchen only just had enough of each item (4 plates, 4 forks, etc). So you could nt leave stuff in dishwasher and get clean items. You had to keep washing up. Overall loved it. Bargara is a top spot. A great seaside town. Has surf. But best of all has Mon Repos turtle rookery that we went to three nights we were there. (See my other review)

Room Tip: If you have kids I think the rooms at the bottom are excellent. You get an oversized deck, straight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coogeematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Staying in the penthouse at this resort seemed a good idea for Xmas, my elderly parents had never stayed in one. The owner/manager was rude and unfriendly. I had organised to pay (a woman) the balance upon arrival and that my elderly parents could come earlier as they had less to travel. No he demanded payment and kept them waiting in the foyer til I stopped my car on route to provide credit card details over the phone. Last year we stayed here and managers could not have been nicer to us, shame the owner took over. we paid nearly $2,000 for Xmas week to be treated like thieves. To top it off we were slugged for $18 for a opened bottled of wine that we did not open. It was his way of payback. I will never stay at this place again. It was dirty, we had to clean it before using the kitchen items, the shower was mouldy, vents with dust from the last millenium. Signed Not happy

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBargara, Manager at C Bargara Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hello, this Super Penthouse was totally stripped and refurbished in 2013, so your comment regarding dust from the millenium is inaccurate.

Payment is required upon arrival for all stays. We called you when your parents arrived to ask when you would be arriving thinking you may be just around the corner and you advised you had to work and would arrive the next day. When we asked if we could process the credit card being held on record for the tariff, you thought it appropriate to swear at us and hang-up.

It is disappointing that a certain element of society feel it appropriate to use foul derogatory language to service staff. Calling someone a 'smart f***' is not acceptable. Service providers should not have to deal with this behaviour in the course of their job.

The wine you claim was not opened by you, was a bottle of red, partly consumed and left in the fridge! We do not store red wine in the fridge.

Your attack on the presentation of the Penthouse is obviously brought on by your annoyance at being asked to pay for your accommodation on the arrival day. Readers will see this by reading previous reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narangba, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel had the most amazing ocean views from every window in the apartment. The rooms were luxuriously appointed and extremely spacious. I couldn't recommend the hotel and location more highly. But what really made the difference for this hotel was the superior service by the Manager, Ken. He was absolutely fantastic. So very helpful and friendly, and never made me feel like I was a nuisance, even when I acted like a totally helpless female, and couldn't reverse park my trailer.

I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough and we'll definitely be back for a return stay. If you can whinge about this hotel, you'd whinge about anything.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 208. 3 bedrooms and absolutely huge with amazing views from every room. Next tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBargara, Manager at C Bargara Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi Suzanne,

Thank you for your fabulous comments. We were happy to assist you with your trailer. C is a lovely property with fantastic oceanviews from every apartment. We hope you come back soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bargara hotels
1.4 mi away
Kelly's Beach Resort
Kelly's Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Bargara
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
0.1 mi away
Manta Bargara Resort
Manta Bargara Resort
#1 of 5 in Bargara
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex
0.4 mi away
The Point Resort
The Point Resort
#6 of 13 in Bargara
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bargara Gardens Motel & Holiday Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C Bargara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C Bargara Resort

Property: C Bargara Resort
Address: 83-87 Esplanade | Enter off See Street, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Bargara Bundaberg)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bargara
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bargara
#3 Family Hotel in Bargara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — C Bargara Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All apartments enjoy spectacular ocean views - even the ground floor. Check out the lovely raised decks on the ground floor or the huge balconies on the higher floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your C Bargara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
C Bargara Resort Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing