We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what we expected...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kellys Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bargara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 16, 2007

Like the previous reviewer we too arrived boxing day to the terrible smell - we too were told "we had such a wonderful xmas lunch, you should have been here, we still havn't cleaned the restaurant!". Not the most exciting news on your arrival.

That said we did eat in the restaurant a few nights later (after checking that the cleaning had been done) and found the food very good & reasonably priced.

The same couldn't be said for the "New Years Eve Gourmet BBQ". Three very basic salads, choice of chops, steak, fish or snags, a few bread rolls & some store bought cheesecakes don't rate as gourmet in my books. Our family of four was out in under an hour.

Our cabin had a loft - our two girls slept here & loved it - a bedroom (no wardrobe just open shelving & small open hanging), small kitchen with "eat at" bench, lounge, toilet & shower with an open vanity/sink area in between. The door arrangement in the shower was horrendous & required a great deal of manouvering just to get in, especially for my 5' 11" husband! The toilet wasn't much better. The cabin had a small airconditioner which we kept running almost 24/7 just to stay comfortable up in the loft area & the bedroom. The small outdoor deck with plastic table & chairs was a godsend as we ate most of our "at home" meals there. We also got to feed possums there most nights!

The loft area really worked for us. My girls just tossed their stuff on the floor up there, it was a terrible mess but I couldn't see so I wasn't stressed out at all. It really wouldn't work for children under 6 in my opinion.

The room was clean, if a little dated, on our arrival but not serviced during our 10 day stay. Towels were changed once. I purchased a number of cleaning products myself & used the communal laundry to wash the towels & bedding.

The resort was full over the xmas/new year period when we were there & we found the pool area too small & crowded on quite a few occassions / on others it was fine. We also felt the pool needed daily attendance/cleaning which didn't appear to be the case.

The patrolled beach was an easy walk but again probably wouldn't suit families with a few littlies.

We didn't use the "kids club" as we had intended as we weren't comfortable wth the arrangement. A local woman (qualifications unknown) was contacted to come in if numbers were reached (minimum 5 - maximum 10). There was no activity schedule & it all felt a little "amateurish".

To sum up, in low season I think Kelly's Beach Resort probably offers very reasonable value for a short family holiday. (I wouldn't be comfortable for a longer stay due to the lack of room servicing.) High season I don't believe it does. I'm not sure what rating the resort has - I would put it at a 3 star.

Our family absolutely loved Bargara! It has beautiful clean beaches, a man-made lagoon for smaller children, golf course, a nice little "plaza" style main street with some lovely little shops & plenty of meal-time options to suit all tastes & budets and, on checking with the local real estate agents, there are dozens of accommodation options at a similar price to Kelly's Beach Resort.

We'd recommend driving or hiring a car - there is so much to do within a 1 hour radius we ran out of time - we're going back (but not to Kelly's Beach Resort)

Stayed: December 2006
3  Thank kaz600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 215 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2007

We had decided to stay at this place after finding it on the web. The main feature we were looking for was a resort with a "kids club" which this resort advertised, there was also the added bonus of an on-site restaurant.

On our arrival in reception i thought i was going to be ill from the stale food smell. It was boxing day and the lady who attended us explained they had not yet cleaned up from Christmas day, not good in a hot humid climate.

Our accomodation was basic to say the least, the cabin was roomy but the upstairs loft offered no privacy much to the horror of our 12 y.o daughter who was sharing it with her 5 y.o sister. I kept our 3 and 4 y.o boys downstairs in the bunk beds and forbide them to climb up the steep ladder to the loft for fear of an accident. I also worried my 5y.o would easily far down during the night if she needed the toilet. The bathroom was very small and required tricky work to get in and then open the door to the shower over the very small bath. On turning on the shower more water came out the fittings and taps than out the nozzle and the water temp is set at boiling hot so this was an issue with small children. There is no laundry facility in the rooms but there is a Laundry in the resort, it has 2 coin operated washers that i had to line up for and only 1 working dryer, not really good enough for a family resort.

The kids club ran for only 3 hours a morning and then for only 3 days in the 9 that we were there, the kids were not excited by it and only the younger boys attended twice, i was quite shocked that when i collected them the second time they were waiting for me in the swimming pool area, I had not been told they would be going to the pool and could not see how 1 girl could look after 10 children in this area or why she would leave the deisgnated kid club area to do so without parents permission and extra help.

We had prepaid for the New Years Eve 5 Star Gourmet Bar -B-Que, what a joke, the food was lucky to be 2 star, there was no entertainment( except for waiting for the breadrolls to appear) and we were back at our cabin by 7-30pm.

Also, beware the resort is not on the beach, it would be a 1.5km round trip to the nearest patrolled beach for swimming. There is the pool at the resort but we found this needed more cleaning than it was receiving and in the end didn't like the kids in it.

Overall, we found the cost for this place to rather high considering you didn't get much quality, it was tired and in need of some work, or drop your prices to reflect the standard of the place. We would not return.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2006

We spend a few days at kelly's Beach Resort. It's a nice and clean resort. It's very close to the beach and within walking distance of a few nice restaurants in Bargara. We enjoyed our stay and can recommend the resort. During our stay we booked a Kahuna Massage at a nearby Clinic (Soul Massage Clinic). This massage was for both of us a great experience. We can recommend it!
Bargara is a lovely little village.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank aussieweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Iceland
635
Reviewed March 10, 2006

Despite the name, Kellys beach resort is not on the beach, but a couple of streets away. For us it did not matter at all. We arrived late, somehow we did not get picked up at the airport by the hotel stuff, and when we came at the hotel around 9 pm the restaurant was closed and we could not get anything to eat. We had been travelling the whole day and were starving. But we could order pizza from the local pizzeria and that saved the day. The cabin could well have been cleaner, and the insect spray in the cupboard was of good use. Having said that, all the other things that we experienced at this hotel was positive. The people were friendly and very helpful with everything we asked them. The restaurant served very good food at good prices. Our cabin had a separate bedroom and a lot of extra beds, with using the sofas that one could unfold it was enough place for 8-9 people there. This would be a great place for big families. Swimming pool (for the kids), a tennis court, a big garden, the beach near by....a very nice place to stay.
The only thing we regretted was not renting a car, the public transport is not very good so we ended up taking a lot of taxies.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2006

I booked on the internet, assuming that this place was adjacant or very close to the beach, well, I can tell you its exactly an 11 minutes walk to a sandy beach. There's a rocky beach closer if you like rocks though!
The accomodation is reasonable with cabin-like units (with noisy airconditioning) with an enclosed main bedroom with no aircon unless you keep the door open, a small loft with beds accessable via a ladder, and a small kitchen and lounge. It was very well priced. There's an onsite restaraunt with good food at a reasonable price. The breakfast is basic with cereals (3), a bowl of fruit and bread. If you want a cooked breakfast you have to order it the night before. Don't ask for any odd stuff though (like soy milk, yoghurt or Earl Grey Tea etc) as you will receive a stern frown from the waitress.
The staff are reasonable, but don't take well to special requests such as extra towels etc.
There's a full size tennis court and a small pool area. If you're looking for a 3 star place not on the beach, this would be ideal.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2006

My family of 5 stayed here for 3 days in Oct 2005. Considering the name we assumed the resort would be right on the beach...it's not! Kelly's Beach is the name of the area of Bargara. Having said that it's not too far to the beach - only a few streets away.

It was a quiet time of the year while we were there so we didn't bother looking at the restaurant, but I don't think it was open. The pool area was quite nice and the kids enjoyed their swims.

We had one of the larger loft style cabins. There is a separate double bedroom, an open kitchen/meals/ living area which has a set of bunk beds in it, a mezzanine level with two single mattresses and a bathroom area.

The small toilet and shower area have doors, but the basin area is only divided by a curtain. Not a big issue but not all that private.

The mezzanine area is reached by a ladder. It has a fairly low head height therefore mattresses straight on the floor. My two sons aged 10 and 12 were happy to stay up there, but I would have concerns about younger children staying up there and negotiating the ladder. It also became very hot and stuffy up there, so the fan and airconditioning were very necesssary.

The grounds of the park were nice and appeared well kept although the water level of the creek/pond area was quite low.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8EDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2005

I stopped off at Kelly's over night while travelling down the east coast. Although it seems like a family resort, off peak season it's full of young travellers. The place is clean and extremely well kept. The facilites are in great condition, especially the tennis court and eating area. Although there isn't much do do around Bundaberg, Kelly's is definitely a good stop off to chill out.

Stayed: September 2004
1  Thank rhianonwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bargara hotels
1.6 mi away
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
1.4 mi away
C Bargara Resort
C Bargara Resort
#1 of 5 in Bargara
233 reviews
1.5 mi away
Manta Bargara Resort
Manta Bargara Resort
#2 of 5 in Bargara
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex
1.1 mi away
Bargara Gardens Motel & Holiday Villas
1.1 mi away
The Point Resort
The Point Resort
#5 of 13 in Bargara
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellys Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellys Beach Resort

Address: Kellys Beach Resort 6-10 Trevors Rd | near Bundaberg, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bargara
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bargara
#4 Family Hotel in Bargara
Price Range: $94 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kellys Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Eco-Certified resort located a block back from the beach in Bargara, Queensland, on the Southern Great Barrier Reef. The neighboring nature reserve shelters guests offering a peaceful and relaxing experience. There are 40 Eco Villas on 5.5 acres of gardens with shady pathways and lawn areas. The 2 bedroom self-contained and standalone units are ideal for couples, families and have the capacity for groups. *Fully Licensed Resort with Restaurant and 2 Bars *3 Function Areas *Heated Swimming Pool *Children's Pool *Spa & Sauna *Tennis Court *Games Room *BBQs Areas *Kiosk & Tours Desk *Coach Parking *Tour Packages Available *Free WIFI (Limits Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kellys Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellys Beach Hotel
Kellys Beach Resort Bargara, Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing