We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kellys Beach Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matilda Motel(Bundaberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
100
84
37
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
84
37
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomlaser taglaser skirmishmezzanine floorwater dragonsfamily holidayshort walk to the beachplace to staytennis courtsmain bedroomswimming poolmon reposshort staybundaberg rumon site restaurantgreat holidayeach morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 235 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were not thrilled to find a heap of rubbish accumulated near where we were to park near our cabin. The initial room had a stale odor and we did not expect to be staying in such a tiny cabin. The receptionist was quite happy to move us to near the tennis courts and the outlook from there was much better. The cabins ( called villas) are compact, no stove but served a purpose. The grounds need a revamp with a good clean up. The resort tries hard with welcoming us and with their activities. I know that it was the start of school holidays but I do not think that it was worth the cost for the 2 nights. We are not wealthy people but we have travelled a lot around the world ( due to work) and, without this seeming like an attack on Kelly's, Australian holiday accommodation is far too expensive for the value that is on offer. The accommodation served a purpose and we were not putting it down but it is worth no more than $120 a night and can we please get free wi-fi in this country? Not everyone has a smart phone and charges for wi- fi are far too excessive in this country. It is not a bad set up but not worth $180 a night! Thanks for the stay but Bargara is not on our travel list again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Damian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourSay, Manager at Kellys Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thanks for your feedback! Sorry that you were not happy with your stay even after we moved you. The rubbish was from the new stools and dining tables for the rooms, which all came in flat packes and were unable to be delivered any earlier :( as you can imagine 30 villas with 4 stools and 10 villas with 6 chairs and a dining table...thats a lot of boxes that we couldn't fit even into our 2 large skip bins!

We have considered free wifi on numerous occasions, but the cost of having a separate secure network and managing it securely is just too great for us! We do try to keep the cost down though, at $7.50 a day we think it is fair!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip throughout Queensland even though you were disappointed by our quite little town of Bargara! All the best with your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

just returned from another great stay. this time only the wife and myself but again a very enjoyable stay. This resort can be what you make it, fully self contained cabins with enough open space to enjoy. A full size tennis court, a short stroll to the beach, kiddies pool as well as large size pool to relax by and in. The restaurant on site the best food in Bargara great prices and food that goes way beyond the price you pay. When we stay as a family we always take a our electric frypan so we can cook a family one pot dinner.

Room Tip: We always prefer to stay on the pool side of the resort, as we normally travel with our 3 boys.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayno D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Kelly's is the sort of place we hoped to find on your trips all over Queensland! The privacy and spacious villas,gardens,meandering pathways,tranquil pond and stream,heated pool and spa - not too spread out and so close to a lovely beach.What more could you want!
Unfortunately we had only booked one night but are already planning a week long stay for next holidays. The new couches were great and the kids loved the loft.The service Alana gave us was excellent and the coffee was the best we had on our whole Capricorn coast trip!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank empiresweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The cabin's furniture was old and worn, kitchen stools were rusty and the cabin was HOT. Put the air conditioning on and went out for two hours and it was no better. When we contacted staff we were told that her husband would come and look at it and was about 30 minutes away. We waited and still no one to look at the dodgy air. Asked the staff if we could change rooms, but were told they were fully booked (they must have been coming after 5 p.m. cause there was plenty of cabins not occupied). We had pre booked 3 nights, but were so unhappy with the service and the room we left and forfeited our money. Very upsetting. Will never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToniS608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourSay, Manager at Kellys Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide the feedback on your stay with us. We are obviously really disappointed you didn't have a positive experience with us!

We are pleased to say that since your visit we have new couches in all the villas. Without making excuses the villas are all individually owned, and the owners have felt the sting of last years floods. YES the couches were over due and perhaps we waited a little too long in an attempt to manage the costs for the investors. Our apologies, a lesson learned! New dining tables and kitchen stools are also on the way...unfortunately it is just not viable for our middle income investors to do everything at once.

There would be no reason that any of our staff or the family who manage the resort would not move you to another villa if one was available, that is a very easy solution. I apologize if you got a different impression.

We are sorry you couldn't wait for maintenance to sort out the issue with the air conditioner , they was away from the resort at the time you informed reception. If we had have had the chance to look at the air conditioning and you were still not satisfied we would have gladly refunded your money! We had hoped that the nights free accommodation we offered had eased your inconvenience a little, we are sorry you still left us unsatisfied!

We hope that you did end up enjoying your stay in Bargara and the Bundaberg Region and we wish you all the well on future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed for a wedding & was surprised how clean & good the accom. was.
Very clean cabin, Very hot though in the afternoon. The AC stayed on the whole time we were here as it takes so long to cool down the cabin because of the roof pitch.
Bed quite comfortable but they only have a pedestal fan in the bedroom it needs an AC. They need to remove the old box unit AC to cabin 26 & put in a split system as it would work better. The wedding venue for ceremony under the tree near the pond was beautiful as was the reception room upstairs. Food was excellent. Very hard to find the place though as no signage for the Resort along the road anywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockhamptonplumbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews