We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a lovely place we didn't want to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelly's Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bargara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gippsland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Such a lovely place we didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stumbled across Kelly's Beach Resort planning just an overnight stay during our 6 week trip up the coast. Well that ended up being 5 nights as each morning we kept extending our stay!! The kids loved the pool, we ate in the restaurant and the food was divine! I found the management friendly and willing to help and had a great sense of humour too. It is a family run resort and it shows - thanks for your hospitality. We even book in and stayed for one night on our way home. :-) We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules_9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourSay, Manager at Kelly's Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thanks for the awesome review and for taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor!!

We often get people who extend their stay because it is just so relaxing and tranquil here, just what a holiday should be, if you ask us! It certainly isn't a bad place to work!

If you are ever our way again please mention the name you stayed under previously and we can give you great discounts as a repeat guest!

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    76
    31
    10
    3
See reviews for
118
47
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Amazing customer service and helpful manner. My toddler and I couldn't get back to the resort after seeing the turtles as we had been inundated with so much rain and flooded roads. I have never been so scared about travelling in these weather conditions and the fact I had a baby to get back to and feed! The owner came out late at night and showed me an alternative route and still had to drive through flooded roads to help me. I recieved many reassuring phone calls from his wife also! I am ever so grateful as is my husband, toddler and baby! Thank you so much for having a great aussie, friendly and helpful attitude to your guests!

Room Tip: we loved having a villa near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tashie0522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourSay, Manager at Kelly's Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
A super dooper big thank you for taking the time to share your review with other travellers on trip advisor!

If there was one thing we had to say we were really good at, it would have to be going that extra mile for our guests! Many of our guests have not only been coming back year after year, sometimes up to 5 times a year, but many of them we now call friends.

As a family run business, we live and breathe Kellys, so if we weren't enjoying ourselves and getting satisfaction from our job, it would make it really hard, not only for the business but as a family too. We are really grateful to work in a place as pretty as Kellys and for all the cool people we get to meet too!

Thanks again for the awesome review, my sister and her hubby are really chuffed you took the time to do so!

All the best to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This is the second time we have been there in the past 2.5 years. If you are looking for an ok accommodation with children this is fine. Some of the accommodations are a bit run down but realistically all you need is a place to sleep, shower, make a coffee etc when you travel. The restaurant has good food and the pool is fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sues2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourSay, Manager at Kelly's Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thanks for the review and choosing to come back to Kellys for the second time

We do love to look after families...and kids! We figure if the kids and having a good time and not bouncing off the walls them 'maybe' mum and dad will get a bit of a holiday too!

We did want to let you know that over the next 12 - 18 months the villas will be getting new kitchens, as well as new couches, dining tables and stools! Which we hope will make them feel a little more modernised, but still 'Kellys Comfortable'

Glad you enjoyed the restaurant and the pool! If you’re ever our way again don’t forget to mention the name you stayed under previously and you will receive awesome repeat guest prices.

Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at this resort for 3 days, the unit had a funny smell about it that disappeared after a day or so. The villa was very old and needed renovation, tiles were broken on the floor and the kitchen bench was stained and worn. The shower was just a cubicle 0.5m in width which made it difficult for my 6ft 2 son, the door just had room to open. The loft was unusable as the heat was unbearable up there even with the air-con and fan on all day and night. There was no internet access. The creek running through the property was loaded with tadpoles I have never seen anything like it in my life. I am not sure if they were cane toads. I realize this isn't a 5 star property, but I feel it could be managed more professionally and it is definately over priced for the accommodation provided.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nedkellie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourSay, Manager at Kelly's Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We hope that we can offer some information about your feedback and hopefully demonstrate that your comments are important and that we have got plans in place to help meet the expectations of our guests

We have found that if the units are closed up during certain times of year the humidity does give the villas a funny smell; with airing it usually dissipates. We are also looking at installing dehumidifiers in the units to help combat this problem.We are also pleased to announce that over the next 12 - 18 months the villas will be getting new kitchens, as well as new couches, dining tables and stools! We are sorry that you found the heat uncomfortable in the loft, what we have found is that our ceiling fans have a summer and winter switch that can be switched to the wrong setting either with cleaning or by guests. It is now part of the housekeeping procedures to check the fans are on the correct setting for the right time of year.

Approximately 40% of our villas have wireless internet access and we also have wireless hot spots, in the reception and restaurant building, by the pool and the pond as well as an internet kiosk in the Souvenir Shop of the resort. We are sorry if you weren't made aware of this access.

We have been talking to the Land Care Group that is responsible for the Creek and Nature Reserve that borders the resort on looking into managing the cane toad population in our area. As you can appreciate there is only so much we can do to combat these guys, but we are working closely with Land Care to see if there is more we can do!!!

We are also sorry that you feel we didn’t provide value for money. Like most properties we have different seasons. During the holiday season we provide things like movies by moon light, face painting, star gazing and happy hour to add value to the additional cost of taking a holiday to a resort, we also offer a discounted rate when you stay 3 or more nights.

We have definitely taken all your feedback on board and appreciate the opportunity to learn a little more about our guests expectations. Thanks again for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Both my financee and boys stayed in villa 26.The villa was very dirty upon arrival and very dusty as well. The bed we sleeped in, We shared with little black ants and also it appeared to also have dust mites as both my financee & I have bites all over us.
The turtle watching was a disaster and would recommand to think twice about going if you haven't been before, Very poorly organised there.
New Years was very poorly organised and wouldn't recommaned it to anyone that is looking for a good time to celebrate New Years.
The managers didn't have a clue about how to throw a proper New Years party as there was no mixing with guest people and set up under a sheltered BBQ area with only a stereo playing and a cartoon of mixed light beer avaiable and cheap wine. It wasn't a good nite at all.
The set up for this place and calling it a Resort , Certainly leaves alot to be desired and isn't worth $204 a nite in peak season.
As it states in brochures $55 for off peak season and that is how much it is worth.
Very disappointing stay and won't be back.
Needs proper Mangers that know what they are doing and ideally how to run the show.

Room Tip: there is better places to stay than Kelly Beach Resort and cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourSay, Manager at Kelly's Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your experience with us, even more sorry that you didnt enjoy the turtles!

We are working hard on imporving the housekeeping function of our business. Our houskeepers have only been with us a short while and we are slowly making progress with improving thier standards. We certainly dont mean to pass the blame we are responsible for the end result of our guests experiance and will continue to monitor, measure and manage the houskeeping function of the resort.

We are sorry about the ants in your villa! Being on 5.5 acres of gardens that border a nature reserve is a ideal environment for all kinds of critters. We are committed to using envirnmentally friendly herbacides and have also recently installed 6 insect lights around the resort to further manage the critters responsibly. We treat for ants and cockroaches every 3 months. However in our resort environment plus with the rain coming and going during this time of year ants are the trickiest critters!

So sad to hear that you didnt enjoy the turtles :( We have a great relationship with the volunteers, rangers and staff both at the Visitor information Centre who manage the bookings and at The Mon Repos Conservation Park. As the turtles are super popular unfortunately cancelations are not permitted and as the tours are 100% focused on the turtles and raising awareness of the conservation efforts at Mon Repos, there can be a wait sometimes...it is locally known as Turtle Time!

We are really disappointed that you didnt enjoy your New Years Eve celebrations. The resort puts on a New Years Eve BBQ in the restaurant after which the staff and family who manage the resort offer guests to join us by the pool for a few drinks and some music to see the new year in. As responsible mangers we do not provide alcohol for this let alone free of charge, guests are to bring thier own. The alcohol you are refering to was our own or other guests for our own consumption.

We feel that we offer real value especially during school holidays, with free activites like, face painting, movies by moon light, and star gazing. We are sorry that we did not meet your value expectations.

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. All the best for 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We have returned to Kellys 3 times in 12 months. Best place I have stayed with kids in Australian.
The accommodation though not the fanciest is more than adequate and the grounds are a treasure trove for the kids. Movies under the stars too!!
Food was lovely and at no time did we ever feel crowded by other guests.
I have stayed in far more expensive places on the Gold Coast and Sunshine Coast and they have failed to capture the holiday atmosphere. Bali in Aus!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourSay, Manager at Kelly's Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
We are so happy that you and your family had a great time here!! Thanks so much for the great review!!

Hopefully you opted to be apart of our Loyal Guest program so you can take advantage of the awesome incentives we offer to our Repeat Guests!

Thanks again and we hope to look after you again one day!!

May 2012 bring you and your family lots of love and happiness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We went there on business and I was booked into Cabon 30. It had not been cleaned. They changed me to Cabin 13 - the bed had not been made up. I refused to carry my luggage again until they found a properly prepared cabin for me - # 10 it was, and they moved my stuff. Next morning, another member on our team told that she had to make her bed from the sheets off the bed in the loft. The pond/creek was in a shocking state as it had not rained. They were clearnly not interested in providing water for it. Weeds everywhere and hundread of toad tadpoles - they weren't interested in eradicating them. Saw the manager walk past the breakfast buffet and help himself to a hash brown by hand, and eating it as he left the dining.room. Our one evening meal provided by them was great - good kitchen at night. Even though the breakfast was buffet, they handed out the food!! I came in later one morning, and what was left was cold. Needs new managers!

Room Tip: Don't take your bags out of your car until you check your cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourSay, Manager at Kelly's Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are deeply sorry that you didn't have a positive experiance while here for the business conference.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologise again for the terrible mix up with your cabins. As stated while you were here we were having real difficulty with our new houskeepers, which please know this is not an excuse, no matter what trouble we were having this should not affect our guests experiance with us. We are now having weekly meetings with the housekeepers and communite daily on all discrepancies, no matter how small, in an attempt to intill high quality standards into the houskepping function of the resort. We are committed to ensuring this very important function of our business continues to improve.

Our pond and creek is part of a classified nature reserve that we as resort managers are not to interfer with. The landcare group that manage the area ask us not to interfer with the reserve to ensure nature takes its course. Landcare also ask us not to remove the grass weed from the pond as it creates homes and nests for the varierty of birds, fish and reptiles who live in the resort and the reserve. With help from landcare we erradicate toads at the larve stage of the reproductive cycle, however we never get all the little critters.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the evening meal. We are sorry that your breakfast experience was less than desired. Please be assured the manager is aware of his ill manners and is more than embarresed!

We hope you enjoyed your time in Bargara and thanks again for taking the time to provide feedback on your experiance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bargara hotels
1.6 mi away
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
1.4 mi away
C Bargara Resort
C Bargara Resort
#2 of 5 in Bargara
195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manta Bargara Resort
Manta Bargara Resort
#1 of 5 in Bargara
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex
1.1 mi away
Bargara Gardens Motel & Holiday Villas
1.8 mi away
Bargara Beach Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly's Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly's Beach Resort

Property: Kelly's Beach Resort
Address: Kellys Beach Resort 6-10 Trevors Rd | near Bundaberg, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bargara
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bargara
#4 Family Hotel in Bargara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kelly's Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Eco-Certified resort located a block back from the beach in Bargara, Queensland, on the Southern Great Barrier Reef. The neighboring nature reserve shelters guests offering a peaceful and relaxing experience. There are 40 Eco Villas on 5.5 acres of gardens with shady pathways and lawn areas. The 2 bedroom self-contained and standalone units are ideal for couples, families and have the capacity for groups. *Fully Licensed Resort with Restaurant and 2 Bars *3 Function Areas *Heated Swimming Pool *Children's Pool *Spa & Sauna *Tennis Court *Games Room *BBQs Areas *Kiosk & Tours Desk *Coach Parking *Tour Packages Available *Free WIFI (Limits Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kelly's Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellys Beach Hotel
Kelly's Beach Resort Bargara, Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing