We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but needs maintaining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Point Resort
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location but needs maintaining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed in a sunset view 1 br apartment over a long weekend. Every night there were parties going on until the early hours and management did nothing to stop them. Our unit had all the basic but had sultanas under the couch and we encountered a cockroach on the lamp next to the bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkygirlCentralQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    45
    26
    23
    23
See reviews for
47
52
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

I recently stayed at The Point Resort during the Easter Holidays. Great location with good views of the ocean, nice rooms and friendly staff at reception desk. My only complaint was the outdoor spa was absolutely stone cold, if not for a that issue I would have given the Point 5 stars. C.J

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJones1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Arrived late afternoon. Asked at reception what price they had with ocean views and was disappointed .
Relatives had stayed at Christmas time and raved about it.
We booked into a 2 bedroom self contained ocean view room.
We found it hard to pack up and leave after 3 days will be back to stay longer.
Stayed late April .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and myself have just had a 5 night stay at this resort and didn't want to leave. We were amazed at how clean it was for an older apartment block and no ants, spiders, mozzies or midges were experienced, which is a credit to the landlords. The beachfront is spotless and well catered for with Cafe's, undercover seating and toilet blocks. We also loved the added touch on Anzac day to see the warplane flying along the front of the apartments and over the sea, a sight to witness.
Thanks again for a wonderful stay in apartment 305 on Level 3. We will be back.
Chris and Faye B from Brisbane.

Room Tip: 503 on Level 3 had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed for three nights and that was more than enough. Apartment was not the cleanest, smelly drainage from shower and sinks, small swimming pool.Under ground parking which never seemed to be locked when ever we drove in or out no matter what time of day or night. Management quite sarcastic.
The best thing was leaving. will not be returning and would not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mel530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bargara hotels

Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had a warm welcome when we got there to pick the keys up which was very nice.
Once we got into our rooms the one bedroom was missing curtains from a window which we ended up putting up a blanket to block the light at night. This problem was reported to the management straight away and their response was we will get on to it but they never did even after our 3 day stay.
One other bedroom, the main light didn't work so had to use the side lamps.
The drains and the air con were smelly, no ventilation in the bathrooms, making it worse not many windows were able to be opened to allow breeze through. The ocean across the road is the rocky part and the walk to the actual beach where the flags are is miles away.
The pool area was nice, the putt putt had no balls to play with, the table tennis table was broken so couldn't play (and no balls).\
As for 'secure undercover parking', not much secure about it when the roller door was not shut once the whole time. Also we were required to have a swipe card to access the building and our room. No swipe card was required to access the underground parking or lift at any hours, making it a very unsafe place as anyone can walk in and around the building. The front door to our room however did require the swipe card to open.
No Wi-Fi, no austar (maybe there was but could figure out how to view it as there where no instructions). Windows and walls were dirty, carpets need replacing and so does the couch, felt grotty sitting on it. Overall the apartment was quite small for a 3 bedroom unit.
Was very disappointed with our stay and to be honest couldn't wait to leave. Only place within walking distance was the golf club and that left a lot to be desired.
We wont be back and we would never recommend this to any one to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jameszx6r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

As a family of 4 we stayed in a 2 bed apartment for 2 nights so that we could see the turtles at Mon Repos. Whilst travelling to Bargara on the Saturday I received a phone call from a very nice man asking how far away were we and giving me a code to get the keys if we arrived after hours. We did arrive in time and met the gentleman who I'd spoken to on the phone. He was very lovely and helpful.
We got to the apartment and were very impressed - beautiful ocean views, nicely furnished and spotlessly clean. Kitchen was fully equipped with everything you could possibly need including a coffee plunger!!
Nice and comfortable with 2 bathrooms including a spa - what more could you want??
Sadly on Saturday the pool was closed due to an urgent maintenance issue, but hey, you can't help things like that and we'd been at the beach all morning so no-one was denied a swim.
Lovely place, well priced. I would definately recommend it.
(we were going to book at Kacy's but after reading managements response to comments on tripadvisor we were too afraid!!) Very glad we chose The Point - a lovely stay

Room Tip: 503 is a lovely apartment with a gorgeous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doobydisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bargara hotels
0.8 mi away
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
0.4 mi away
C Bargara Resort
C Bargara Resort
#3 of 5 in Bargara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kelly's Beach Resort
Kelly's Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Bargara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manta Bargara Resort
Manta Bargara Resort
#1 of 5 in Bargara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bargara Blue Resort
Bargara Blue Resort
#4 of 14 in Bargara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Resort

Property: The Point Resort
Address: 19-25 Esplanade, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Bargara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point Resort Bargara Beach located right on the waters edge comprises of modern 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments that have been architecturally designed for the Queensland climate. This is to create the ultimate beachside experience. The contemporary apartments include facilities to help you relax and unwind in your home away from home. The apartments either have a stunning view of the glistening waters of the Coral Sea, the spectacular sunsets over the hinterland or your own patio garden. The magnificent facilities set within extensive landscaped tropical gardens include a resort pool with sloped wading area, spa, barbecue area and mini putt putt golf course. Bargara Beach is located on the Coral Coast at the southern tip of the Great Barrier Reef and offers extensive local amenities including an 18 hole championship golf course and the extensively landscaped foreshore offering shaded seating, pagodas and barbeques. The township of Bargara offers many restaurants, cafes and a large Bistro and Hotel complex with alfresco dining. Bargara is ideally situated for a stopover on your drive north from Brisbane. With an average of 8 hours sunshine a day, Bargara offers close to a perfect temperate climate. Temperatures average within a 5 degree range of the perfect 25 degrees celsius all year. It is possible to spot migrating whales from the ocean facing balconies and just to the north there is the world famous Mon Repos Turtle Rookery where turtles come every year to lay thousands of eggs on the protected coastline. The reefs off Bargara Beach on the southern fringe of the Great Barrier Reef are rated in Australia's top ten shore diving sites and provide endless opportunities for snorkeling and diving enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Resort Bargara, Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing