We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just okay”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Point Resort
Alexandra Headland, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just okay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

The position is quite good, only a few minutes walk to shops. The unit was just okay, we were above the underground garage so the door going up and down was noisy. The kitchen was well stocked with crockery etc.. The bathroom window opened out onto the walkway to the other units, so needed to be closed every time we showered or used the toilet, the floors above could see into the bathroom. I didn't met the manager but my son said he was grumpy on checkin. My main negative point was the outside table, chairs, tiles and glass ballastrading was filthy. This had not been cleaned in a long time!!! Overall, I wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank leesinexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    46
    26
    23
    23
See reviews for
47
53
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I am just looking to book an apartment again in the Bargara area noticed The Point Resort and read reviews. We stayed there for 2 nights last year. We were late for our nominated check in time and very shocked to find a still uncleaned apartment. The cleaner followed us in and apologised and proceeded to change sheets and clean bathrooms. She then told us she wasn't told this apartment needed cleaning, 45 minutes later she left not cleaning the floors. We got into our not fully cleaned apartment over an hour late. I went to discuss my dissapointment with the elderly male manager who shrugged his shoulders and said these thing happen in this industry - no sorry - brushed me off - treated me like I shouldn't complain. I wonder how he would be if we left over an hour after checkout. To you Sir "without our bookings you don't have a job".

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bargara hotels

Ipswich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I stayed here with my netball team for Counrty Carnival and it was beautiful we had many different rooms booked out for all teh teams and we all loved it! The pool was great, the staff were friendly and the sunsets and sunrises-oh my they are beautiful! We went or walked in the morning adn I got some great photos but am unable to upload at this time. All teh rooms were very clean and it has great security. Its not too far from the local pub/restraunt which had lovely breakfasts and dinners!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Stayed 3 nights with my husband in room 206. Booked 1BR Ocean King room on the day of arrival and received a 2BR/2 bathroom apartment. Paid $165 per night. Fully self contained apartment with everything you would need. Even a waiters friend bottle opener in the draw. 10 minute walk to Bargara beach and restaurants & 5 minutes to golf course. Great view from the balcony. Weather was intermittent rain which was heavy at times but still could have the balcony doors open even when it was pouring. Lovely breeze and very pleasant listening to the waves crashing on rocks.

Under cover parking is included however Internet access is not and was exhorbitant at $15 per day or $50 per week of stay. Accomodation has pay TV, dishwasher, washing machine and drier and even a spa bath.

Although overall The Point is great it did have a few minor negatives. The king size bed was quite hard; the bath towels are small and stratchy; rooms are not serviced unless you stay more than a week so you still have to make beds; you have to remove your own garbage/trash on departure or incur additional cleaning charges; there is no light in the shower so it is very dark - too dark to shave your legs ladies and the front door howls - yes howls - in the wind. But the tv is large and works; there is a 2nd tv in the bedroom; there is a DVD player too and the water pressure in the shower is good and strong.

Tip: 1st floor is actually on the ground level and would be noisy due to people walking past.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DragonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We are offered a good accommodation in Bundaberg city, however we decided to stay at Bargara and choose The Point Resort since Manta was fully booked during Xmas and New Year period. But we regret and was disappointed. We booked a one bedroom but it seems like the place is a studio (with partitioned wall) and is very small. The balcony door doesnt locked and we don't feel secure as we are located at the low level. There was no fly-screen balcony door so the flies keep flying in. Air-cond remote control doesnt work properly and the next day we request for the batteries to be change. Toilet paper was used by previous guest so we have to buy our own toilet paper - good thing there was a box of tissue in the bathroom! There was no shower cap provided either. Worst of all, the shower water pressure is so low that we didnt have a proper shower (we like a good shower after a long day out especially on a summer heat). We understand the environmental saving shower cap pressure (many ppl would install these at their own home so did we) but this water pressure is so low that it felt like one drop of water is coming out per sec. Also poor supply of towels. No daily servicing of the room as we had expected. The only good thing is the balcony is of good size, there's mini putt putt, pool, table tennis/game room, bbq area and undercover carpark. I recommend you go somewhere else for the price of this accommodation, there are many heaps more better ones.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MemberReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We had a nice 3 night stay at the Point at Bargara. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bed was nice and firm. The kitchen was well equiped. The bathroom was clean but poorly designed which left it feeling like a sauna after a couple of showers. We had a ground floor unit with an ocean view which allowed us to enjoy the sights and sounds of the coast line. The biggest frustration for us was the other guests that were smoking on the balconies and their stench was being blown into our unit which meant that we had to close the door quite frequently.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpdaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We spent three nights at The Point on a Date Weekend with my husband and thankfully it was raining on the saturday and spent the day in bed..........YES I was sick. The room was lovely with modern decor and suprisingly the bed was very comfy. We did take our own pillows which always helps. The managers Richard and Keitha are really nice and were very happy to have a chat and answer any of our questions. We had secretly been hoping for an upgrade to an ocean view but to be fair our apartment overlooked a nice golf course. We have stayed in quite a few different resorts and soem we would never go back to but we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gentilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bargara hotels
0.8 mi away
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
0.4 mi away
C Bargara Resort
C Bargara Resort
#3 of 5 in Bargara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kelly's Beach Resort
Kelly's Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Bargara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manta Bargara Resort
Manta Bargara Resort
#1 of 5 in Bargara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bargara Blue Resort
Bargara Blue Resort
#5 of 13 in Bargara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Resort

Property: The Point Resort
Address: 19-25 Esplanade, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Bargara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point Resort Bargara Beach located right on the waters edge comprises of modern 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments that have been architecturally designed for the Queensland climate. This is to create the ultimate beachside experience. The contemporary apartments include facilities to help you relax and unwind in your home away from home. The apartments either have a stunning view of the glistening waters of the Coral Sea, the spectacular sunsets over the hinterland or your own patio garden. The magnificent facilities set within extensive landscaped tropical gardens include a resort pool with sloped wading area, spa, barbecue area and mini putt putt golf course. Bargara Beach is located on the Coral Coast at the southern tip of the Great Barrier Reef and offers extensive local amenities including an 18 hole championship golf course and the extensively landscaped foreshore offering shaded seating, pagodas and barbeques. The township of Bargara offers many restaurants, cafes and a large Bistro and Hotel complex with alfresco dining. Bargara is ideally situated for a stopover on your drive north from Brisbane. With an average of 8 hours sunshine a day, Bargara offers close to a perfect temperate climate. Temperatures average within a 5 degree range of the perfect 25 degrees celsius all year. It is possible to spot migrating whales from the ocean facing balconies and just to the north there is the world famous Mon Repos Turtle Rookery where turtles come every year to lay thousands of eggs on the protected coastline. The reefs off Bargara Beach on the southern fringe of the Great Barrier Reef are rated in Australia's top ten shore diving sites and provide endless opportunities for snorkeling and diving enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Resort Bargara, Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing