We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"why stay anywhere else"”
Review of Dunelm House B&B

Dunelm House B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunelm House B&B
Ranked #5 of 7 Bargara B&B and Inns
Underwood Logan City Qld Australia
1 review
“"why stay anywhere else"”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Couldn't have picked a nicer place to stay for our first B & B experience. From the minute we were greeted by the hosts Penny and Dave, we felt right at home. Nothing was too much for them. Clean, comfy and cosy, and port and chocolates, just waiting to be tasted, There is nothing better than waking up to the smell of breakfast being cooked. Not only fresh fruit salad, cereal, yoghurt, tea, coffee and toast, the bacon eggs sausages tomato and mushrooms, were cooked beautifully. To top it off, no cleaning up after. I wasn't even allowed to help clean the table. Each room is also air-conditioned. Guest lounge had all the comforts of home, with a front verandah to sit and relax and watch the world go by. Had it not have been raining, there is also a swimming pool out back for guests to use..Why would you stay anywhere else, after experiencing this...Thank you.
Linda and Peter..... Brisbane Qld.

Room Tip: Just walk in the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatbrecky, Owner at Dunelm House B&B, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Hi, thank you for your wonderful response. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us,
as much as we enjoyed your company. We hope to see you again when you visit Bargara.

Dave and Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I highly recommend visiting this quaint little B & B as it's not just the wonderful feel of the hotel it's also the way you are well looked after during your stay. The people running the place make you feel at home and it's central to everything and how can you go wrong with some chocolates and port to send you to sleep before bedtime and after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moondust405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Our host was hospitable and gracious and the room was large, clean and comfortable. Our breakfast was a bountiful and beautifully cooked. We could not have wished or wanted for more. This B&B is up for sale so this review is current at this until the property is sold.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlturner007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

If all B & B's were like Dunelm House, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The rooms are luxurious as well as being cosy. Five minutes after meeting the hosts, Penny & Dave, it's as though you have been friends forever. Your every comfort seems standard. Each bedroom has an ensuite and the communal lounge seems like home [except for the port and evening chocolates]. Imagine waking up to fresh bread, home made fruit salad, eggs, bacon, sausages, tomatoes, cereals, yoghurt, home made jam, fresh juice, tea & coffee, I can't think of a better way to start the day [and no dishes]. This is the norm at Dunelm. Australia wake up....this is the way to do it. If I am away from home, I want to be pampered and Penny & Dave do it better than anyone else. if you haven't tried the B & B experience, this is the way to start. Hooray for Dunelm.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

From the comfy beds, the relaxing loung room and the extremely hospitable hosts to the gourmet breakfast, Dunelm B&B was the perfect place to stay. Penny and David were so lovely and warm we can’t wait to come back and visit again!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bargara hotels
2.1 mi away
Kelly's Beach Resort
Kelly's Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Bargara
210 reviews
2.0 mi away
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
2.2 mi away
Manta Bargara Resort
Manta Bargara Resort
#1 of 5 in Bargara
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex
2.2 mi away
Bargara Beach Motor Inn
Bargara Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 7 in Bargara
33 reviews
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
Bargara Beach Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bargara
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunelm House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunelm House B&B

Property: Dunelm House B&B
Address: 540 Bargara Rd, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bargara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunelm House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunelm House Bed and Breakfast is a comfortable renovated cane farmers house, surrounded by the cane fields of Bundaberg and Bargara. Our three rooms have queen beds, private ensuites, and airconditioning. The third room also has a large single bed in it, great as a twin or for a child.Our free breakfast each morning consisting of Fruit, Yoghurt, Cereals & Toast plus Bacon, Eggs, Sausage, Tomatoes, Mushrooms, Tea, Coffee & Juice. We also offer complimentary Port & Chocolates in the lounge each evening.Bundaberg/Bargara is a great place to visit, safe beaches good Barrier Reef diving, lots of attractions to visit and we are only a 4 hour drive North of Brisbane. Free off road undercover parking is provided.Relax on the veranda or in the guest lounge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dunelm House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunelm House B&B Bargara, Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing