We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE!”
Review of Kacy's Restaurant

Kacy's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Bargara
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Kacy's Restaurant is located on Bargara Beach in the heart of town; our focus is on popular food Australians like to eat every day. All ingredients are prepared by hand using fresh Queensland produce where possible. Kacys’ has an extensive wine cellar with over 2500 bottles a great range of draught and bottle beer’s we take particular care in presenting great draught beer chilled to perfection. The location and ambience of Kacys has to be experienced as working here is a delight. We look forward too seeing you soon.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“VERY NICE!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

we had our 40th wedding aneverssary at Kacys,
we had the hole family there, and we had a ball, the food was so beautiful set up.
some times
we needed more cutlery, , the staff need to be on there toes, when you have 4 dishes of different foods.
all in all very good, thank you for a lovely night!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyBundaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    154
    90
    53
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
“Good food, menu a little large”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Good food, menu a little large. The position is lovely, being on a corner. Drinks menu is very very extensive and has a good wine list.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food is always delicious”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great food, extensive menu, the service was excellent as always, I had the seafood pie which is really a delicious mornay with a herb crust, it was really delicious. It was a perfect Bargara winters day and stunning with the sea view in the sun, good value restaurant !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband proposed to me here many years ago, but our return was a disappointment.

The biggest issue with Kacy's is the extensive menu. There must be at least 60 dishes on the menu. we always worry with this much choice, because we believe that you cant possibly perfect that many dishes and have them prepared freshly.

On arrival we had to wait for our reserved table to be set, and needed to wait in the entry (we would have been happy to wait at the bar).

it was a moderately busy night. When seated we waited a further 15 mins before being asked for our drink order (maybe I'm picky, but I don't mind waiting in a restaurant, as long as i can enjoy a cold drink).

When our entrée arrived, it turned out my husband had received the wrong dish. We had ordered him the 'Spiced calamari with Asian salad', but the the kitchen had prepared the spicy calamari (similar name but quite different entrée - no salad), it took us a moment to realise the mistake, but then we decided it didn't matter, and just accepted the dish. The food itself was good, but not what he had ordered. my chilli prawns were good, not exceptional, but acceptable.

When our main arrived, my husbands medium-rare steak was more like med-well done. my eggplant stack was larger than I had expected (its an entree) but was a little lacking in flavour. Nobody came to ask how our meals were.

The staff were friendly, but at these prices I would expect more 'service'. at 9.45 we were told that if we wanted desserts, we would need to order them now. when we declined the waiter walked to the kitchen door and shouted that it was ok to pack up the kitchen. It felt like we were being kicked out...

We enjoy the lunch menu at Kacy's but this was our first, and likely last, evening meal at Kacy's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaMaxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kacys, Guest Relations Manager at Kacy's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear AustraliaMaxie,

Kacy's regrets that we did not meet your expectations, especially when it was such a special occasion.
Freshness and consistent quality of our dishes is the exact reason for having such a large menu selection, the reasons being we have multiple choices for all ingredients that we prepare this ensures rapid turnover of all prepared food, that is labelled and dated by the chef that prepares the food.
Kacy's is without doubt unrivalled as far as eating out goes in the greater Bundaberg region so anyone reading this review come and try for yourself and make up your own mind.

Kind regards
Annabell Pia
Customer service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Kacys... Over the many years it has been open, Kacys has been known for average service, but the food is always consistently good. It's a bit overpriced for what you get, but the dinner menu is also quite enormous and is mostly local seafood. You probably need sides with most of the mains, but you probably won't get asked if you want them by your waiter (just a tip).

For breakfast there is no table service so you are required to order at the counter, and the menu is more of a reasonable size with all the usual favourites.

Kacys is all about breezy, relaxed dining. I would recommend going for lunch, when you'll be able to see and appreciate the location, set opposite the beach among a lush garden.

Probably the best for atmosphere in Bundaberg.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriahansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kacy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kacy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing