We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot, ruined by greed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bargara Beach Caravan Park
Woombye, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice spot, ruined by greed”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Having stayed at this park numerous times during the 80's and 90's, I looked forward to a week during the Xmas season with my wife and 5 year old daughter. The c/park hasn't changed much in 30 years with the amenities still the same, the beach and parkland the same and more trees than I remember.

What has changed is attitude and why wouldn't we be surprised when we learn that the park is owned by the local Council who like most councils, revel in ripping people off. It would seem that the leasee/management can match the council in this regard as well.

In an age where value seems hard to come by, Bargara Beach Caravan Park is right up there for greed. $5 for a bag of ice. (poor ice at that) $2.50 pint/500ml of milk $7.30 for 2 ice creams etc etc Lucky there's a shopping center close by. I wonder what do you charge for a bag of ice during off peak?

We understand that business operates on profits, but knocking everyone off with exorbitant camping fees during the festive season and double dipping us with ridiculously high charges at the shop/kiosk adds insult to injury. Be ashamed. Your thieves.

They open the non powered sites to hordes of people. Pay at the office and off you go. Here's a map. Find somewhere to park your van or pitch your tent....if you can! It was ridiculous. Ropes and tent pegs intertwining everywhere, dangerous trip hazards and tree roots abound. Try and sleep when those around you are 5 and 10 feet away snoring? OHS safety is non existent and perhaps the council might undertake a safety audit before they end up with a law suit. Perhaps management also might like to consider their clients before their profits, because the people I spoke to at the park were less than impressed with your overcharging and lack of concern. In fact, staff attitude was pretty ordinary throughout, which I can understand considering the amount of people they had to cater for during Xmas.

How about you don't overbook the place hey? You know families bring kids and kids have new bikes for Xmas. Someone's child will get killed there one Xmas and you will be sued for negligence if you continue packing us in like sardines in pursuit of the almighty dollar. I cannot tell you how many kids I saw have a bingle avoiding cars during the week I stayed.

Oh!.... as in a previous post. It would make sense to clean the amenities blocks outside peak hour 7am-8am and 6pm to 7pm. You know, kinda like when roadwork signs appear on major roads between 6 and 8am weekdays. It really pisses people off, literally.

We'll visit Coral Coast again for sure, but it wont be at this caravan park. Very, very ordinary management. I wished I'd have come at a different time of year. It would be quite lovely.

Room Tip: Don't bother buying anything from the camp kiosk unless you have money to throw away. Make the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Summo4559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    64
    44
    14
    18
See reviews for
89
77
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

A brilliant camping spot with great access to the beach. The facilities were well maintained and always clean although shutting the amenities block from 730am till 830am is inconvenient at best. The on site store is handy and offers all you need in case of an emergency (milk, bread, gas etc). For all of the positives at the park it's just a shame the staff leave such a bad taste in your mouth. Unfriendly, uncompromising and exceedingly rude. If it was just myself who had issues with the staff I would write it off as a bad experience but time and time again we talked to campers who had run-ins with staff. Other than a staff that needs to look up the word hospitality Bargara beach caravan park is a nice little spot.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bertuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Great location, easy drive to Bundy, short walk to Main Street & cafés, easy beach access.......BUT amenities need to be bulldozed, filthy (even just after being cleaned), there was a horrid sewerage smell constantly and limited trees for shade (making our stay a HOT & smelly one.....) there was no escape from the heat, only the beach (good thing we enjoy the beach), the park has basic amenities and features but as I said great location.......we won't go back, there's got to be better around.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank FeeU68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

A really nice spacious campground with plenty of shady spots. Great location; just around the corner from the Mon Repos Turtle Encounter and a short drive from Bundaberg. There is a nice area with restaurants and cafés a short walk along the beach and a Woolworths nearby. The shoreline walk was really nice and although I was only here for a night I could easily have stayed longer.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Siobhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I chose the caravan park because of financial limitations, but I had a wonderful experience and would choose this set up over a hotel in the future.

I had a 1 bedroom, air-conditioned cabin facing the beach. The seaview was limited due to the trees, surf club and amenities building, but the park was literally across the road from the beach.

The cabin had a queen bed and 2 bunks, a full sized fridge and kitchen, kitted out with crockery and cooking utensils. It also had a microwave. the cabin came with a small dining table and lounge and had a balcony with table and chairs - perfect to read with the ocean breeze coming across. there were 2 ceiling fans and did I mention an ensuite??

It was nearly $50 a night cheaper than any hotel accommodation and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only drawback was the lack of a pool, not being very confident in the ocean.

it is at the far end of the esplanade and the shops are a fair walk. so unless you like complete beach in your holiday, I recommend you come with a car. although there is a bus and taxi service.

I loved the independence and being able to cook if I wanted. and of course people are relaxed and friendly. not something you see too often in hotels.

Room Tip: there are different sized cabins and once you've chosen your size you can't choose which cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Spent a family holiday for 8 nights at Bargara... good location across the road from the surf patrolled beach which has small waves suitable for kids! Had front powered site which was great as we could keep an eye on the kids playing across the road at the skate park, bike track and playground/BBQ area. Nice easy and scenic bike ride into the main street which has all you need with a few cafes, pub, takeaway, newsagent, butcher, convenience shop, chemist plus more....can also grab essentials milk, bread, ice and snacks at caravan kiosk. Clean amenities, camp kitchen in need of an upgrade and camp sites of good size without being on top of each other. A few other beaches within driving distance worth checking out and also found a couple of fishing spots. Was worthwhile taking a day trip to 1770 and Agnus Waters (1.5hrs drive north) - beautiful crystal clear waters up that way and good charter fishing location (which is what we were hoping for from Bargara).

Room Tip: Front powered site to the left of the caravan park entry - good location and viewing point of skate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kik44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

From booking to departure I found this a great park! The cabin that was assigned to us had unrestricted views of the ocean. It was clean, tidy and well worth the price!
Initially only my daughter and I were going to stay, but on the last minute my partner decided to come along - no probs! Our cabin had a double bed and bunks so we only had to pay extra for a linen set.
The location was great and only a short drive into Bundaburg which had recently been hit by devastating floods.
On 2 nights of our stay we enjoyed delicious fresh seafood cooked on the council BBQ's that we had purchased in Bundy. In
the mornings was able to get my caffeine fix from a cute little beachside kiosk!
Overall a great park and would return. I would also like to add that we left something in our cabin and staff called us to let us know and offered to mail it.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bargara
1.8 mi away
Kelly's Beach Resort
Kelly's Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Bargara
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
10.5 mi away
BIG4 Cane Village Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Woodgate Beach Tourist Park
0.5 mi away
Manta Bargara Resort
Manta Bargara Resort
#1 of 5 in Bargara
157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bargara Beach Motor Inn
Bargara Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 7 in Bargara
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bargara Beach Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bargara Beach Caravan Park

Property: Bargara Beach Caravan Park
Address: Bargara Beach Caravan Park 25 Fred Courtice Ave | Nielson Park, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Bargara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bargara Beach Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Bargara Beach along the Coral Coast this tropical holiday park is the perfect place offering everything you need and every accommodation option, for the perfect getaway. Bargara Beach Caravan Park has the best affordable beachside accommodation on offer in South East Queensland at the southern tip of the Great Barrier Reef. With cool ocean breezes and stunning views this is the ideal destination to relax and unwind. You can choose from 1 or 2 bedroom cabins or a number of powered and unpowered sites which offer shade or sun, grassed or concrete slabs and are suitable for all sized caravans, RV's and tents. Located only minutes from bustling cafes and restaurants, golf courses, fishing and surfing spots this holiday destination caters for every type of tourist. A few minutes drive is the world famous Mon Repos, the largest Loggerhead Turtle nesting site on Australia's east coast. The coastal fringe offers fantastic dive sites and access to Lady Elliot and Lady Musgrave islands where you can explore some of the world heritage listed Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bargara Beach Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bargara Beach Caravan Park Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing