We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park going down hill fast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bargara Beach Caravan Park
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Park going down hill fast”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Over the years we have enjoyed our stay at bargara beach caravan park until Jody and partner started managing the park. We have noticed each year many of our friends who have had bad dealings with management are not returning - some have been going to the park for 25 plus years. It seems you dont question or complain about anything as you will be told to leave even if you right - this happens all the time. The park is beautiful but the toilet block is often dirty within an hour of being cleaned due to wet grass being walked in, even if people wipe their feet on the mat. If they were cleaned after 10am not at 8.30 this wouldn't happen, As stated by Jody there are 2 toilet blocks but when one of the ladies block is closed at 8.30 there are not enough toilets and showers to cater for the amount of women needing to use the one block at this peak time. The garbage bins are never washed and often smell terrible and the grass was so long on our site, you very rarely see the managers in the park doing much at all. The TV reception is very poor and some guest leave early because they get no reception (especially if weather is bad). I have to wonder if you weren't related to the boss Jody would you still be manager

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank pat i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    62
    43
    14
    18
See reviews for
87
74
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in an open plan cabin, they are very small, not the cleanest either, floor was sticky to walk on so I had to mop but good price for budget cabin. Location is just beautiful right in front of the ocean would come back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank disneydreamer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in a cabin right on the water it was lovely to hear the waves crash on the rocks while going to sleep and waking up.We stayed 1 night and it was big enough the bed was very comfortable for a cabin. The hosts were very friendly, we didnt book just went in the location is great and it appeared to be booked out. Only 1 negative was a dog barking at 6.30 am who woke us up.

Room Tip: Take your linen and doona.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel2262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taringa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night in a rented Apollo motorhome. Our motorhome was late by 6 hours and we were unable to make it to the caravan park before closing time. We phoned ahead and were given the access information to get in.

We nearly didn't book this caravan park due to negative feedback left previously, however, we had no problem at all with the management or staff and were very happy with the service and our stay.

The park is a lovely, well maintaned park. Lots of grass, trees and birds. The toilet blocks are old but very clean. We would definitely stay again.

The beachside cafe precinct at Bargara was lovely. Salt Restaurant for breakfast is a must!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We camped at Bargara beach park and had a lovely relaxed time.The bathrooms are old but spacious and clean.The baby bath and change table is great.Got the site we asked for when I made the booking,staff we very helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My husband and I had booked ahead and stayed for three nights for the May day weekend this year. Great park with great views but we were disappointed to be given the only site of a lovely grassed park with no grass. We were also given a site where we backed onto another van (have never been so close to another van - needed to put up the side flap for privacy). We assumed they must have been heavily booked but there were spare blocks everywhere. Our only complaint is why pack everyone in little clusters? The fellow adjacent had a van each side, two backing onto him and then heaps of spaces all around. He was telling us he used to own a park and they used to fill up every other site, then fill the inbetween ones. Our only other complaint was the same as someone else said - wrong time for cleaning of the toilet facilities. My husband wondered if it was a way they hoped to move people on prior to 10 am. Otherwise great spot and we will come again, we we have been more than once already.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BargaraBeachCvanPark, Manager at Bargara Beach Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Hi Beth L

Thank you for your important feedback. We are sorry that you were a little disappointed with the site you were given both in terms of the amount of grass on it and the position in the park.

We rely on our guests to communicate with us if they are disappointed or received something that they had not expected. We would appreciate it, if you have any concerns, to speak to us straight away, so that we can rectify them to ensure you are totally happy. We would have moved you at your convenience to a more suitable site had we have known of you displeasure.

In relation to your question about the cleaning of the Amenities. We commence cleaning at 7.30am, shutting down 1 of the 4 different blocks as we go. We place signs on the doors notifying guests of the other open amenities which are less than a 15 second walk away. We finish cleaning the amenities around 12.30pm. We take pride in the cleanliness of our facilities.

We look forward to seeing you again soon Beth L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I come from Germany to visit Mother in this park. I arrive in campervan with my partner after 10pm on the 6th of December 2011. The office and gate was closed. We sleep outside of park because tired from travel.

Next day Mother asks management to allow me to bring van in to clean and get packed ready for trip in Australia. Manager refused. Mother tried to let me in with her gate key, manager run out screaming and shouting and blocking the path. The manager said I was to sign form for temporary admittance, when I go to office she say not available any more.

After our 8 weeks travelling we have to bring all luggage from outside of park to Mothers manufactured residence, making many trips back and forth. It would have been so easy for us to go straight to her residence.

My Mother has lived in this caravan park for seven years and I visit two times. This very bad treatment ruined our holiday. The attitude of the management was very bad and gives overseas travellers the wrong opinion of Australia and Bargara.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
22 Thank aceofclubs63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BargaraBeachCvanPark, Owner at Bargara Beach Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
We welcome factual feedback from guests that stay at Bargara Beach Caravan Park and we treat all feedback as a very valuable tool to try to better our business so that other guests experiences are pleasant and they have an enjoyable time.

We do not, however, welcome feedback from people that did not stay at Bargara Beach Caravan Park or fabricate stories for their own political gain.

Our management team is highly professional and their customer service skills applauded by all previous employers. Our staff have also been trained to a very high level of customer service and as Owners are very confident in their ability.

I welcome you Swimless, to contact me personally, via our contact details on our website, to discuss your issues, as your comments do not relate to our tourism business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bargara hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bargara
1.8 mi away
Kelly's Beach Resort
Kelly's Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Bargara
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
0.5 mi away
C Bargara Resort
C Bargara Resort
#2 of 5 in Bargara
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
BIG4 Cane Village Holiday Park
22.1 mi away
Woodgate Beach Tourist Park
0.5 mi away
Manta Bargara Resort
Manta Bargara Resort
#1 of 5 in Bargara
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bargara Beach Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bargara Beach Caravan Park

Property: Bargara Beach Caravan Park
Address: Bargara Beach Caravan Park 25 Fred Courtice Ave | Nielson Park, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Bargara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bargara Beach Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Bargara Beach along the Coral Coast this tropical holiday park is the perfect place offering everything you need and every accommodation option, for the perfect getaway. Bargara Beach Caravan Park has the best affordable beachside accommodation on offer in South East Queensland at the southern tip of the Great Barrier Reef. With cool ocean breezes and stunning views this is the ideal destination to relax and unwind. You can choose from 1 or 2 bedroom cabins or a number of powered and unpowered sites which offer shade or sun, grassed or concrete slabs and are suitable for all sized caravans, RV's and tents. Located only minutes from bustling cafes and restaurants, golf courses, fishing and surfing spots this holiday destination caters for every type of tourist. A few minutes drive is the world famous Mon Repos, the largest Loggerhead Turtle nesting site on Australia's east coast. The coastal fringe offers fantastic dive sites and access to Lady Elliot and Lady Musgrave islands where you can explore some of the world heritage listed Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bargara Beach Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bargara Beach Caravan Park Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing