We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely Maintained Park with Basic Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bargara Beach Caravan Park
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Nice park, well maintained with basic facilities, but suitable for grey nomads. Recommend - powered sites 1 – 14 are at the front of the park, odd numbers face the sea, even numbers have plenty of grass area and trees in front. Most sites have concrete slabs. $ 32 per night 2A, a bit expensive given the basic nature of the park. Stay six nights and get 7th free.
Facilities : The combined toilets and showers block were clean, but old and in need of total renovation. There is a small out-door camp kitchen and laundry. Without a satellite dish TV reception is poor, there is good telephone and internet coverage (Telstra), water pressure is good and dump point. Few annual cabins, but at the back of the park.
Likes : Directly opposite the beach with lovely walking paths along the Esplanade.
Dislikes : Facilities blocks are old.
Local Information : Short walk to shops. Close to golf and bowling clubs.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SioDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 225 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

I just noticed someone make a comment similar to one I am making. The manager Jody tried to overcharge and when we wouldn't pay more, she kicked me, my Husband, sister, brother-in-law, and our two children between us (13 months and 3 years) out after telling us they had watched us setting up all afternoon. They threatened to call the cops if we weren't out within an hour. I told her it took us all afternoon to set up, we weren't unreasonable and wanted to work something out, that we had little children and no-where else to go (at 4pm Good Friday), offered more money, and they said "too bad, the decision has been made and you must leave or we'll call the cops". I called the cops myself and they said they wouldn't get involved because we were there legally and were FULLY PAID in advance. Nevertheless we left because they were so rude it would have ruined our holiday. The AWESOME people at ELLIOTT HEADS HOLIDAY PARK took us in 5 minutes before closing, with only our name, and allowed us to fix them up the next day, letting us set up and finally start to relax.

Room Tip: Camping grounds have no allocated spaces so everyone ends up on top of each other and terribly disor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BargaraBeachCvanPark, Manager at Bargara Beach Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you for your feedback Angela G. We appreciate all feedback and comments as this helps us to improve our popular caravan park and improve the experience our guests have when they visit us. That is why we check Trip Advisors comments regularly, so we can continue to improve and invest in Bargara Beach Caravan Park.

We felt very disappointed to read your commentary Angela. Most concerning, we feel your comments are not a factual account of what happened. Therefore, I would like to provide context to all future guests of our caravan park. I would also like to invite you, Angela and your husband to contact me directly to discuss your concerns.

As with all booking procedures, we are required to ask the number of people travelling in your party to ensure we can cater for your needs as well as providing a safe place for our guests. We are a very busy tourist park, and for a range of insurance and safety reasons we need to know exactly how many people are on site and where they are located.

We asked you directly on 4 occasions the number of persons in your group: at the time you placed your reservation, when you confirmed the booking, on check-in and prior to asking you to leave. On each of these occasions you informed us of just 2 adults, which you paid for. When we noticed 4 tents and a large marquee on your site, encroaching onto other paid guests sites, we believed there were more than 2 adults planning on staying on the site. Our management spoke to your husband and offered a spare site for your friends, so you could spread out, but he declined the offer. It was later when we noticed 6 adults and children on one site. Having been asked on numerous occasions, as well as given ample opportunity to do the right thing and settle your account, you opted to be dishonest and fraudulent, which is why we refunded your monies paid and asked you to leave.

Your actions impacted on those camping around you. You had too many people on your site both in terms of its location and what you had paid for. Caravan parks are about enjoyment for all, shared spaces and community – it is not fair for others in the camping community when you do the wrong thing, especially at busy times like Easter.

We pride ourselves on being fair and equitable with all of our guests. As a team we try to do everything we can to ensure our customer’s experiences are pleasant, relaxing and enjoyable. When one groups actions impact on other, we take this very serious as everyone deserves their hard earned break.

Your actions also impacted directly on us Angela. When you choose to stay at Bargara Beach Caravan Park, you choose to do so under the terms and conditions set out to out on our website, when you book and when you check in. This includes paying for all people who are staying on your site. We have to run our business safely and to a profit so we can continue to invest in Bargara Beach Caravan Park, so many more people can continue to come and enjoy their stay in the park and the region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

wish i'd read the reviews before going. The manager is extremely arogant and overcharges everyone. We were overcharged and threatened with eviction, within 5 minutes of arrival. She has absolutely zero customer service skills and no manners. The other staff are all lovely, and were not at all suprised by my opinion of the manager. My tip would be to book for only two people on a site, then pay for extras day by day. That way you are less likely to be overcharged by her ridiculous fees. The location is good, but we will definately not go back while Jody is the manager. Such a shame that one person can ruin a beautiful place.

Room Tip: Pay minimum site fees on booking (ie two people only) - there is no chance of any refunds or amendin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank familyof5_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BargaraBeachCvanPark, Manager at Bargara Beach Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

We appreciate your feedback Family of 5 and are very sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay. We would like to address your comments specifically, as we feel it does not truly reflect on what occurred during your check-in.

When you clarified the number of people in your party you confirmed 2 adults and 2 children, the same as when you made your initial reservation and subsequent booking. At some point you omitted your 3rd, school aged, child and despite our staff politely asking you to pay for your additional child, preferred to dispute why you should. Our accommodation is reasonably priced and we want to be fair with all of our customers and only expect the same in return.

We have insurance and safety considerations which we take very seriously. Knowing how many people are on site and where they are located is a very important part of our risk and emergency management planning.

We ask all of our guests to provide the correct details so that we understand the exact number of people staying within the caravan park and for the exact duration. The site fees are very clear for all to understand and are listed on our website and on other supplier sites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Great caravan park, but I wish they would clean the ammenties later not as people are getting up, Why not leave it till after 10am like everywhere else, when eveyone has gone out? Yes there are two, but if the park is full could be a problem. Also dirt is walked in straight away on the clean floor as is still wet. Could do with cement paths to first block to avoid them getting dirty from the dirt walked in, especaillty if it is wet weather. Also needs new taps on the basins & Handryers near the toilets.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

This has to be one of the best sites we have visited, we came for one night and stayed for three. From the start the staff were friendly and helpful, the facilities clean and the surroundings spectacular. we rate a park by the people who visit and stay, the camp kitchen was a great meeting place[ complete with resident possum], we left with a few more friends, due to the great amostphere. Do not miss the turtles and the great walks. Also the fish and chips down in the town.we will be back There were no negatives from us happy campers
Tony and Maggie Brisbane

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The location of this caravan park is spectacular, however the manager is anything but! On arrival, the female manager overcharged us and when asked about the fee, she told us to 'Deal with it or be evicted!'. Then she overcharged another family directly behind us...when they asked why, she told them it was school holiday rates and if they wanted to stay, they would pay up or loose the money they'd already paid. She was rude to the kids and very unapproachable. Bargara is a lovely place to stay, but we will be staying at other accommodation next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BargaraBeachCvanPark, Owner at Bargara Beach Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Hi Melissa P

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that you did not have a very pleasant experience at our caravan park.

The staff member that you refer to in your complaint left our company shortly after you posted your complaint. She was not the manager as you report.

We are extremely sorry that you received this poor level of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We just spent one week here over the school holiday period and couldn't have been more impressed. Being school holiday time, there were lots off kids around which suited us perfectly. Our young kids were never bored, as there was always someone to ride around with, kick a football with or just chat to. There is a playground for the kids and plenty of grassed areas to play in. The amentities block was clean and you never had to wait for a shower or toilet. The beach is across the road and there is a walking track which goes along the water and into town. The caravan park is about one kilometre from the town, so easily within walking distance. We loved Bargara, it has everything you need; cafes, pub, convenience store, post office, etc. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ham75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bargara hotels
1.8 mi away
Kellys Beach Resort
Kellys Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Bargara
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
0.5 mi away
C Bargara Resort
C Bargara Resort
#1 of 5 in Bargara
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bargara Beach Motor Inn
Bargara Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 7 in Bargara
36 reviews
1 mi away
Bargara Shoreline Apartments
0.5 mi away
Manta Bargara Resort
Manta Bargara Resort
#2 of 5 in Bargara
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bargara Beach Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bargara Beach Caravan Park

Address: Bargara Beach Caravan Park 25 Fred Courtice Ave | Nielson Park, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Bargara
Price Range: $76 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bargara Beach Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Bargara Beach along the Coral Coast this tropical holiday park is the perfect place offering everything you need and every accommodation option, for the perfect getaway. Bargara Beach Caravan Park has the best affordable beachside accommodation on offer in South East Queensland at the southern tip of the Great Barrier Reef. With cool ocean breezes and stunning views this is the ideal destination to relax and unwind. You can choose from 1 or 2 bedroom cabins or a number of powered and unpowered sites which offer shade or sun, grassed or concrete slabs and are suitable for all sized caravans, RV's and tents. Located only minutes from bustling cafes and restaurants, golf courses, fishing and surfing spots this holiday destination caters for every type of tourist. A few minutes drive is the world famous Mon Repos, the largest Loggerhead Turtle nesting site on Australia's east coast. The coastal fringe offers fantastic dive sites and access to Lady Elliot and Lady Musgrave islands where you can explore some of the world heritage listed Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bargara Beach Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bargara Beach Caravan Park Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing