We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beautiful place!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garig Gunak Barlu National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven Spirit Bay Wilderness Lodge
Cairns
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent beautiful place!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

excellent service, wonderful staff. beautiful place that will be in our memories forever. the view is spectacular so is the walking tracks. enjoyed the birds hide and the beaches. the pool was lika a true oasis and we loved all the sun loungers around the place. highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FiffiCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I first visited Seven Spirit Bay in @008 when it was a Peppers Resort. I had a lovley time and thought it a great resort, perhaps not what I expected in this location. Returning in May 2012 the main resort building is still great, the view from the dining room one of the best ever. The bedrooms are comfortable with all you need. the soft furnishings need to be updated. the separtae bathrooms, which freaked me in 2008 were ok in 2012. However my bathroom needs to be updated, eg broken basin and lights. The light was fixed immediately, couldn't replace the basin, but am sure they will be replaced over time. This would not stop me visiting.

The big plus the staff who were great, nothing too much trouble. The food was wonderful

A lovely resort for a 2-3 day stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carltonCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My family and I have just returned after four wonderful days at Seven Spirit. We had a fabulous time. Thankyou.

The location is superb and the staff are outstanding. This is paradise!

While it was hard to drag ourselves away from the fantastic pool and the picture perfect deserted beach, we also took advantage of some of the guided tours including a trip to Victoria Settlement, a trip along trepang creek in dinghy and wildlife watching at an enchanting wetland.

I highly recommend staying at least three days.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Day trip only. Let me tell you that this is a Wonderfull....stunning location. I stayed for about 4 to 5 hours. You can see the vision that the owner had. The flight into the landing strip was amazing in the view.....tropical paradise form the air. An open African safari style jeep for 8 takes you on a bush drive to the resort.a small meeting room or wedding room. Stunning views of the bay. A new pool deck. A swimming pool......but don't expect to be able to do laps. views views views views.......deep blue water....magical blue. Stunning looking restaurant and bar with a real old world feel...........again the view. Peace and quiet everywhere. The very old world habitats.......outside showers were a real surprise.You can really feel the Vision when this lodge was built when you look at the design of the habitats.It looks like a fun place for staff as well........rewarding place to work with nowhere to spend your money.......great place to save ..........great place to save. You could feel anyone working at Seven spirit bay would be very proud to have it on your CV.What would you do at a destination like this? So do your research carefully. Compare to what is available like lCape Don if you are a fishing fanatic!...............I did not expect such a place in such an isolated location. Peace quiet fishing and walking..................getting there was fun and I would go back for a 2 day romantic weekend with my wife. I might also consider a management retreat for under 20 people.If you have the time add it to your Kakadu experience. Add it to the list of lodges available in the Top End.I just remembered my day trip from 2 years ago.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotelsareourlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I stayed here for three nights at the very end of their seasons. It was an experience like no other. The people were amazing and the food was spectacular. I had never done anything like Seven Spirit Bay before and I don't think I'll get an experience like it ever again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samserena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We found this newly reopened and under new management remote Eco lodge after much searching and just chancing upon it, conflicting info on the web site and difficult to track down availability and how to book, but we navigated all of eventually to discover the most beautiful location with beautifully updated chalets which were up to Peppers standards previously but had not been operating for some years. They don't have it all quite right yet but there is a lot they do have right! The staff are young welcoming and waited on us hand and foot always looking to do more, Leith outstanding on hospitality, John and Shannon who greeted us off the small plane , kept up the unobtrusive but constant care in our happiness and wellbeing. The small plane via direct air was good, and is the only acess making it quiet and exclusive. Phil our fishing guide made our day out in the boat on Saturday one we will remember all of our lives, we all caught fish, ten different types of fish, and a dozen mud crabs, and a professional guide who timed the day out to perfection and then drove us back to the resort. phil happily rebaited our lines for hours while we caught fingermarks, mangrove jacks, blue salmon, all terrific eating, with the excitement of hooking the odd shark!!Facilities are perfect and in excellent order, two queen beds gave such
a spacious sleeping zone, quiet with only bird noises we had the most amazing close up view of the idyllic bay. things they haven't got rig, their marketing effort and content doesn't do the place justice, althouggh the benefit is that we got a great deal that we are sure will increase over time. We hope they keep it affordable and open, we liked the lack of air con, fans are fine, at least in the dry. Beautiful remote resort, excellent place to get off the mobile and email treadmill, hope they never put a t.v in there. Restaurant limited but was fine, loved our weekend, will highly recommend to family and friends. Ignore the old reviews, very out of date, Adrienne and Richard

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriennejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

I think this reviewer went overboard. Clearly a disgruntled tourist. Check out our review in the other page. Yes, it is expensive. It may well be worth it depending upon your expectations. The food is great. The location is great. The guides are......as we explained....a weak link in the chain. But the management was pretty responsive to our needs. I'm not sure what FFCT's problem is but the place is pretty special but also pretty pricey. I recommend you look at the other page for Seven Spirit Bay in order to come to a better assessment of this property.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IDOUCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garig Gunak Barlu National Park
0.1 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 36 in Darwin
850 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argus Hotel Darwin
Argus Hotel Darwin
#12 of 36 in Darwin
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.2 mi away
Hilton Darwin
Hilton Darwin
#7 of 36 in Darwin
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Spirit Bay Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Spirit Bay Wilderness Lodge

Property: Seven Spirit Bay Wilderness Lodge
Address: | Gurig National Park, Garig Gunak Barlu National Park, Northern Territory 0822, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Garig Gunak Barlu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Garig Gunak Barlu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Spirit Bay Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Spirit Bay is an iconic Northern Territory wilderness lodge and one of the very first luxury lodges in the outback. Built in 1990, the lodge is located on the western side of Port Essington in the Garig Gunak Barlu National Park on the Cobourg Peninsula. It is only accessible by boat from Black Point, or by air via the lodge's private airstrip at Vashon Head. Acquired by Outback Spirit in 2015, Seven Spirit Bay has received a new lease of life thanks to a $3.5 million redevelopment completed in April 2016. The original guest accommodation, known as 'habitats', have been completely transformed into ultra-luxurious rooms featuring architecturally designed ensuite bathrooms, beautiful furniture and a front balcony. Other improvements at the lodge include a new waste water treatment plant, new power generation system and a fully refurbished main lodge building. In addition to the lodge redevelopment, Seven Spirit Bay now features a fleet of expedition boats to explore the pristine waters of Port Essington and the Garig Gunak Barlu National Park. At a glance • Iconic NT lodge acquired by Outback Spirit in 2015. • $3.5 million redevelopment completed in April 2016 • Superb main lodge building with ocean views and palm fringed swimming pool • 12 Luxurious 'Habitats' featuring ensuite bathrooms • Exclusive to Outback Spirit guests • State-of-the-art fleet expedition boats • Commercial kitchen with in-house chef ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing