We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor welcome...rude and arrogant manager...basic motel...great Indian restuarant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ascot Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wahroonga
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“poor welcome...rude and arrogant manager...basic motel...great Indian restuarant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by a stressed rude lady ...said had room then it wasn't ready after we paid. we wanted put bags in and go across town to airpirt ... if hadn't already paid I just would have gone elsewhere.

getting in room ... we were given huge room 4 beds...felt like we got chsrged for all 4! wasn't cheap.

car park was dirty....big bins out in open...stick behind a covEr/fence...looked shocking.

Indian restuarant only saved it.

won't go again to this place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nivek1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    26
    24
    21
See reviews for
25
26
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stopped on our way from Brisbane to Melbourne via Sydney. When leaving the next morning, we confirmed our booking for the return trip 16 days later. We informed management that the family room was suitable for our return trip and we only needed 1 family type room. We indicated that we had originally booked 2 rooms but only one family room was required. We have 2 disabled sons and it was important for our family to stay in one larger room
When we arrived on our return journey, we were charged for 2 rooms even though we changed the reservation. Goodbye an extra $100. Management were not interested and curtly dismissed our concerns.
We will NEVER return to this place where half the appliances don't work. Who would know that the TV needed to be on for the kettle to work.
The place is convenient but not worth the hassle. Recommend that you look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Double check your booking. Mistakes are invariably in their favour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wahroonga hotels

Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Clean, functional,good size room but bathroom very small. Electric jug broken so no hot drinks, reception not interested in knowing. They didn't pass on seniors discount to us even though they advertise it. Said we booked late in day so they dont give it. Indian restaurant was the best discovery- fabulous food and service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We found the Ascot Motor Inn to be clean and comfortable and on arrival we received a very friendly welcome. The room was basic but had all the facilities we needed, the bathroom/toilet was clean, tea and coffee making facilities were available, a flat-scrren TV with Foxtel and the continental breakfast was quite adequate. The motel is currently undergoing renovations so the outside looks a little like a building site but the manager told me that although they were running behind schedule, the renovations are due to be finished soon. Yes, it is probably no more than a 3 star premises but we had a good nights sleep, a pretty decent breakfast and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakers Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Frankly, I had a pleasant week stay at Ascot Motor Inn. The service was excellent and most importantly, the cuisine at Deepa'S Indian Restaurant and Steakhouse located at Ascot Motor Inn was just to die for!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badariah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here before and thought I would never return. However, accommodation in Sydney on the weekend can be difficult to find at a reasonable price. And so found myself here again.

Firstly this is not luxury accommodation. It is very basic, however the manager has made some improvements with fresh paint and a good tv (flatscreen on the wall). There is still a long way to go before this motel reaches the minimum standard expected in the price range. eg Curtains that shut for privacy, a bed that doesn't sink on one side and bathrooms that are not patched in several places.

So new beds and curtains please!

Room Tip: At the back of the building away from the noise and a room with a new bed if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maestr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed for a week as we were working in the area. Standard rooms are very basic. Deluxe rooms a little more comfortable and worth paying the extra for. This is a standard roadside motel so don't expect much however it's clean and well maintained with good linen & comfortable beds so for the price, more than acceptable. Have certainly seen far worse. It has a pool and a restaurant on site which are both convenient for relaxing after work or travelling. We checked out the local area for alternatives and there really weren't any. Ate at the restaurant a few times and it was OK. Pub in Hornsby didn't offer much more alternative and the accommodation was worse than here. I wouldn't stay in this area if I didn't have to - it has nothing to offer.

Room Tip: Get deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tez823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wahroonga
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Thornleigh
Hotel Ibis Thornleigh
#1 of 1 in Thornleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pennant Hills Waldorf Apartment Hotel
4.9 mi away
Killara Inn Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments North Ryde
3.3 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde
0.0 mi away
Wahroonga Waldorf Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Motor Inn

Property: Ascot Motor Inn
Address: 18 Ingram Rd, Wahroonga, Hornsby, New South Wales 2076, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Hornsby > Wahroonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wahroonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ascot Motor Inn provides a modern, comfortable standard of accommodation at an affordable price. We will beat any price. A Wahroonga landmark, conveniently located at Pearce's Corner at the end of F3 Freeway. Newly renovated rooms, award winning restaurant, function/conference room, breakfast to rooms, swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ascot Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing