We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it is good they will come!”
Review of The Flying Duck

The Flying Duck
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Vacy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $36
Cuisines: European, Australian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Come as our guest, and leave as our friend
Tea Gardens, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If it is good they will come!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We live at Tea Gardens more than 80 ks. away and have been to the Flying Duck twice now. There are not many restaurants that we have returned to but, we will be back again and, will bring friends with us.Staff are friendly ,food is great and reasonably priced.
Ray L.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a lovely little find while on holidays!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Our young family was staying in a cabin in barringtons, and the local butcher recommended this place for nice food. (It was a little bit of a drive for us, but being a 39 degree day...the kids welcomed the drive in air conditioning!)
It was well worth it. A little French flair and escargot to add to our holiday experiences! So unexpected. Accommodated the 5 month, 2 y.o &10 y.o well...plenty if options to suit all tastes! Prices quite reasonable too. Staff extremely helpful. Wish we lived locally!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dianna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly Suprised”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Loved the quaint setting. We came across the restaurant by accident and what a happy accident that was. The staff were extremely helpful - and catered to our 10 month old daughter. Our meals were first class - and reasonably priced. We will pass through again the next time we are in Vacy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank men740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
“How many m's can I put in 'mmmmmmmm'?”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This place is fantastic! Stayed at a nearby cabin and was recommended to eat here and I'm so glad I did! I had the chicken Tuscany which was fantastic! Cooked to perfection. My boyfriend had the ham and pineapple pizza - best he's ever had. Massive chunks of pineapple and thin crispy ham.
And do not get me started on the strawberry crumble...get it, get it, get it. Get in your car and drive there now and get it!
Waitresses were lovely and helpful and greatly appreciated the $10 tip. Lovely place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kailey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Went here for my wedding anniversary on the basis of reviews on trip advisor. The Flying Duck was okay for a country cafe. But definitely not 5 star and I didn't see any food that looked like the desert photo. Won't be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nivek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Duck also viewed

 
Paterson, New South Wales
Dungog, New South Wales
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle

Been to The Flying Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing