We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eaglereach Wilderness Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vacy
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gourmet Heaven”
Reviewed November 14, 2006

My Fiance and me recently stayed in Eaglereach, whilst holidaying from UK. Set in such a beautiful part of Australia on a mountain with wildlife galore. We had a really beautiful and peacefull time but what really set the place apart from everywhere else was the restaurant. The food was amazing and service so friendly and warm. We ate all over Australia on our holiday and this place far outweighed all of the other restaurants we tried, it just hada really good vibe about it, very rustic with well presented food. Apparantly the head chef used to work on Richard Bransons private island in the Caribbean.Very impressed. Recomend this place to any food lovers, perfect for a romantic escape.

  • Liked — nature,peace,tranquility,views
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    80
    16
    10
    12
See reviews for
58
150
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2006

We booked a romance package which we found on the hotel website, it included breakfast, evening meal, buggy hire and massage, great bargain and would recommend it.

We stayed in the shared lodge which had about 3 to 4 other rooms, for a bit extra you can have your own lodge. The place has stunning views and just to sit outside in the peace and quiet with Kangaroos running around outside is bliss. The resort has one shop with limited goods available, but would suggest that you bring any food or snacks you may want with you as there is nothing close! We ate at the only restaurant on the resort and the food was amazing. The other positive was the great rainforest walks and the massage.

However, it just didn't quite hit the mark and live up to the expectations that the reviews here and its own website set.

- The lodges are basic, and we had used soap and shower gel still in the bathroom. We reported it, but despite insisting housekeeping had gone back and cleaned it again it remained the same when we got back. We spoke to reception again and said someone would talk to us tomorrow, but they never did, which is poor customer service.
- We also didn't get the chocolates that were part of the package that we booked, and no mention of it.
- The other thing to be aware of is that we used the golf cart buggy, it was a bit battered and light was broken. However, when we checked out they asked if we had done it! So make sure you detail any damage like you would when you hire a rental car.
- And do not bothering getting up for the guided tour, the tour guide is the worst on the planet, he didn't really explain anything and just walked ahead and waited at the bottom of the walk. The few times he bothered to stop and explain something he started while half the group were still catching up. A woman got stung by something during the tour and he didn't even bother to see if she was ok despite her being in uncomfortable pain.

Overall, would say give it a go if for the scenery and wildlife alone. But not somewhere I would bother going back to.

  • Liked — The views and wildlife
  • Disliked — The tour guide
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't bother getting up for tour, go in your own time.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thechinesecockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2006

Being reasonably accomplished travellers from England, enjoying both high luxury and third world locations, Eagle Reach was an unexpected and special find in August 2006.

Good recommendations, through personal contacts in Kuoni and others, had indicated this place as being a must stop for peace and relaxation - an “oasis” away from the stresses and strains of today’s rigorous world.

On this visit to Australia we intended to drive up the East coast from Sydney to visit friends at Surfers Paradise. Eagle Reach is a comfortable drive of about two hours from Sydney and after leaving the Pacific Highway, the excellent directions we were provided with were easy to follow through beautiful countryside.

Our accommodation at Eagle Reach was named Wanji II, being a “one-bed roomed spa lodge” (comfortable four poster bed), with all first class amenities – lounge with wood burning stove, dining area, well appointed kitchen, spacious terrace with barbeque and loungers, and an amazing large secluded outdoor heated Jacuzzi/Spa pool – absolutely fabulous even despite being Winter whilst we were there!

The lodges are almost exclusively in their own private locations, the only neighbours we ever encountered were the “locals”, the kangaroos that were frequently around the lodge.

As would be expected in this vast unspoilt and preserved mountain wilderness, there are no boutiques, shops, clubs, etc., thank goodness! However, the friendly staff in the reception lodge can be of assistance in every way to advise and cater for a variety of requirements. The resort has an excellent Gourmet Restaurant with an accomplished young but experienced team of Chefs.

There is also a well stocked bar and terrace adjoining the Restaurant where twice daily one can view the kangaroos feeding. In addition, though we did not have time to avail ourselves of it, there is an excellent Spa Centre for further relaxation!

For people wishing to explore there are several interesting trail walks, some with an accompanying guide who is knowledgeable with regard to foliage and fauna in the locality, and history of this unique area. There is also a lagoon with picnic and fishing areas, with picnic food being available from the restaurant.

Regrettably, our time here had to be limited, and although we had initially booked two days we immediately wanted to and did extend our stay by an additional night. This is truly a place one could spend much longer at and undoubtedly this would be most therapeutic. The resort is situated within driving distance to Newcastle and also to the Hunter Valley and it’s wineries, thus providing so much to explore for wine lovers. Excellent wines can also be obtained from the restaurant with knowledgeable advice being given.

To sum up, our experience of this resort was truly memorable. The lodge was certainly 5*, but though our requirement of this superb establishment was 5* in every respect, those expecting 5* daily room service may be disappointed – everything is provided for you to do as you wish, or not! We will certainly visit again when our travels allow, we feel most privileged to have been there already and cherish the memories.

  • Liked — Spacious, clean, luxurious, privacy, spa pool, comfortable four poster, etc., etc.
  • Disliked — Difficult to say, it fullfilled our expectations completely.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Rashleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redland Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2006

Eaglereach Wilderness Resort --- We spent three nights ( not enough time ) at this resort. My wife and I stayed in a beautiful wood cabin with the most unbelievable viws surrounded by birds, wallabies and kangaroos. Our cabin had a fireplace nice furniture and comfortable bed.
We also visited nearby vinyards approx 20mins drive away.
These local wineries were founded by welsh settlers in the 1800 and the wines are unique and excellent.
At Ealglereach we enjoyed the restaurant meals and the large breakfasts. Wine tasting prior to dinner held on the balcony overlooking the gathering of Australian wildlife was a very wonderful and unque expereience.
We also enjoyed long walks and fishing in the stocked dam.
We can not wait to get back and have another, only longer holiday this time at this beautiful one of a kind resort.

Helpful?
1 Thank lomamatkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gorokan
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2006

what a fantastic place the food was great the lodges were 10 out of 10 they were great the staff could not do enufe to help u nothing was a problem the views r great u realy need to go and see for ur self its a lovely drive up the mountain it is all secured so no one can get into the resort u can just relax and feel so at home it was a great experience u see evry thing in it s natural enviroment what a place thanks eaglreach we will be back for sure and we will bring friends thats how good it was :)

  • Liked — lovely and clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — a must to go u will love it
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missymooau2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 9, 2006

I stayed at Eaglereach in Sept 2005 and LOVED IT !!! My partner and I stayed in a two bedroom spa lodge called THE GALLERY - OH MY !!! The views, the roos, the space, the outdoor spa !! the list goes on.... I nearly cried just because of the view it was amazing. I have lived in Sydney all my life and had always heard about this property but never had the chance to go. Finally I went and I tell you that I intend to go back again and again and again....

I have read the other reviews that say "In the middle of Nowhere" - Isnt that the entire reason you would go? No phones to ring, no traffic, no hustle bustle and your on top of a mountain listening to the cows in the valley below. To me thats a holiday, a break away or a romantic weekend for two.

We BBQ'd and had a spa on the verandah, put the stereo on and had an absolute ball. I would recommend this place for a girls weekend away and I intend to the do that for my belated 30th.

Eaglereach is the most phenomenal place I have ever been to. Looking out over the Barrington tops with 180 degree views having breakfast with the wild kangaroos on your own porch was a dream come true. Thanks Eaglereach and see you very soon :-)

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2006

We went here to celebrate our first anniversary, based on the belief that it would be a relaxing, romantic retreat. What we found was anything but romantic.
Upon entering our cabin for the first time we found a large Huntsman spider in the shower and numerous spiderwebs around the cabin. There were large amounts of ants swarming around, as well as moths and other unidentifiable spiders in the cabin. Our room looked as though it hadn't been cleaned, and there was a coating of dust over everything.
After our first night we discovered that one of our exterior doors had no working lock so that anyone could enter at any time. There was no water pressure whatsoever, and the food was extremely high priced for the amount you received.
The only positive aspect of the weekend were the kangaroos and wallabies everywhere. We would not recommend this to our family or our friends.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonbung, Chief Executive at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2008
We are very sorry these guests were disappointed with their accommodation yes we do make mistakes occasionally and will respond immediately at the time by providing alternative accommodation or fixing the problem . Regarding their comment about dining the cabins and lodges are self catering however there is a range of food options on site from a la carte in the award winning restaurant to BBQ packs picnic hampers and pizzas.
Sincerely
Paul Miley
Chief Executive
pmiley@eaglereach.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vacy
17.8 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
855 reviews
21.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
17.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
18.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
19.3 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaglereach Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaglereach Wilderness Resort

Property: Eaglereach Wilderness Resort
Address: Summer hill Rd, Vacy, New South Wales 2421, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Vacy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vacy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaglereach Wilderness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award-winning mountaintop paradise alive with native animals in their natural habitat. Accommodation in s/c lodges 1-6 bedrooms and resort rooms 4 to 4.5 star. Bistro and bar offering casual to a la carte dining, day spa and eco systems from mountaintop to rain forest, all non-motorized activities and equipment free including mountain bikes, self-guided nature walks, kayaks, internet kiosk, DVD library.New Corroboree Meeting Place for conferences functions and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eaglereach Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaglereach Wilderness Hotel Vacy
Hotel Eaglereach Wilderness
Eaglereach Wilderness Resort Vacy/Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing