We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing romantic weekend in beautiful tranquility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eaglereach Wilderness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eaglereach Wilderness Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vacy
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Relaxing romantic weekend in beautiful tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Partner and I were there from the 28th Dec to the 30th Dec and from the moment we pulled into reception, we were greeted with such friendliness and professionalism. Not to mention complimentary wine on arrival in the bar area, as no hassle for us two but room was getting cleaned as the last guests in our lodge went over their checkout time. Like I said waiting with complimentary wine was jus perfect for us and we were impressed with this service, as it was service beyond expectations . Meals were lovely , alot of fun activities, lots of wildlife ( even they were content and comfortable at eaglereach . My partner enjoyed the day 2; breakfast , tennis, massage , 2 hour buggy hire , rainforest walk topped off with a dip in pool then finished our nite of with 2 main course out on balcony looking at kangaroos down below and pretty birds flying around . Eaglereach is a place I would love to visit again, thinking winter time :) so can crank that fireplace. The time we had at eaglereach is no doubt a lasting memory.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HunterCooee, General Manager at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Greetings Lozik
Your very positive review makes it all worthwhile for our whole team I will pass on your fantastic comments on every aspect of your stay. We look forward welcoming you back in winter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    80
    16
    10
    12
See reviews for
58
149
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Eaglereach is a gorgeous resort for those looking for a relaxing escape in the Aussie bush. You are surrounded by wildlife - kangaroos and wallabies graze all over the resort, right outside the lodges. There are lots of activities to keep both adults and kids amused, the staff are really lovely and will do anything they can to make your stay enjoyable. The only downside for us is that the on-site restaurant is not a great option for dinner, the food is over priced and disapointing generally, although the staff are warm and lovely. Breakfast is good though- a hot and continental buffet. We prefer to take our own food for most meals as there are full kitchen facilities in the lodges. It is possible to eat at one of the surrounding towns such as Vacy, Patterson or Gresford but it is a steep and twisted drive in the dark to get back to the resort, so is not ideal after a couple of drinks with dinner! We really enjoyed sitting at the bar on the balcony to the restaurant where you can have a few drinks whilst watching the kangaroo and bird feeding that takes place most afternoons at about 5:30pm. The view is just spectacular.
We had such a lovely, relaxing time. The resort is so quiet which is amazing at this time of year (Dec 2012) when most holiday destinations are so busy and crowded. At Eaglereach you can get away from everything. Highly recommended and we will be returning as soon as possible!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HunterCooee, General Manager at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Daniel C
Thank you for your comprehensive review on our resort and most importantly your commitment to return. Yes our major attraction is the native wildlife in its natural habitat also even with a full resort everyone has their own space in the 1000 acre (660ha) property from mountaintop to rain forest. Thank you also for your positive comments regarding our staff we are very proud of them and the effort they display to meet the needs of every guest. Yes breakfast is great however naturally we were disappointed that dinner didnot meet your expectations I would have thought that at $16 for entrees and $27 for mains was not excessive but of course we do have a wide range of take aways and of course as you indicated the full kitchens and BBQ in every lodge is appealing. We all look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallidays
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

A great location high on the hill and set in the beautiful Aussie bush.
My wife and I escaped the kids 14 and 18 for some much needed couple time.
Staying in early Dec 2012 we experienced all the seasons in the 2 1/2 days we were there.
Our accommodation was in the 6 roomed Jindalee resort complex with spa,pool table share kitchen and many friendly Kangaroos.
Meeting Emma at reception we were made to feel relaxed straight away.After a quick rundown of activities and resort location we headed to the room with our chockies and champagne.
Temp had hit about 40 C but not to worry the room had a great AC and out the back a hot tub which got a pretty fair run on our stay.
After heating up in the spa it was off to the pool to cool off and do a spot of reading.
Dinner was served with a bit of pre arrival input between the Chef Rob and my wife, regarding a gluten free meal
The same for breakfast, not a problem and the biggest slices of Gluten free bread i think we have seen.
Dinner on Sun was self Catered as the restaurant was closed and was washed down with a nice bottle of red.
Breaky buffet was yummy and plenty of Gluten free tucker.
Activities where a plenty although due to rain and heat tennis was given a miss but maybe next time.
Try the coffee sold at the reception pretty good.
This spot was great if you need to get away and recharge and finish that book you have been trying to read for the last 6 months.
It would be a great spot in the winter with a group of friends all in the Jindalee resort, fire up the indoor fire place rack the balls and finish off in the spa.
The only hiccup was our room No1 had a mysterious smell that would not go away so after a quick trip back to reception and a word to Emma another room free from any smell was organised and we were back on track.
This resort caters for all types young or old you just do what you want to do and use what you want to use.
Staff where great and always helpful.

Room Tip: BBQ available at resort and self catering is a good Idea unless you want to go out for a drive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSharkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HunterCooee, General Manager at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Greetings Crooko
Our whole team appreciated your review of the Resort you must have been on the Romance package which is a great value delight and yes the Jindalee Resort Room complex caters for a couple or for groups up to twelve. The facilities there include the turbo spa as you mentioned wide verandahs pool table massive lounge and wood fire plus a kitchen for groups. We are glad to accommodate special requirements for catering and I am glad chef Robert satisfied your wifes needs with gluten free meals. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Firstly, it was really hard not to like Eaglereach. It's location is so picturesque and the staff are very friendly and helpful, but the place lacks the finesse that would make this a 5 star experience. Check in was super quick and easy, our accommodation was like a 4 bedroom house with a splendid north facing wrap around balcony, massive lounge, dining and equipped kitchen. Take food with you if want to cook because nearby Gresford is very very expensive. The on site restaurant was a near two hour experience for garlic bread and two mains - steak which were cooked poorly, but saved by an amazingly rich red wine sauce. Breakfast was hearty in the bistro with a decent variety of all the faves, and very warm local service. But back to the lodge...despite the size, it is dated with the lounge musty smelling, the king size bed request was actually an uncomfortable double, a ceiling fan that creaked invasively whole night, but necessary due to the heat, a spa bath that didn't work - one of the reasons the lodge was booked, exposed nails in the floor board joins, a stereo system that didn't work. Little things that when added up impacted the overall experience. There is plenty of action and relaxation on offer. This place would be perfect in winter and suited for families with younger children. Would I come back? In winter, yes....think crisp cold natural surroundings, hearty roast meal, red wine, and fireplace with good friends and family...and warm local service. Some of the equipment such as the bikes, helmets and the tennis racquets are due for an upgrade.

Room Tip: Take food with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZaniCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HunterCooee, General Manager at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear ZaniCarter
Firstly we appreciate your indication that you intend returning to this nature based slice of Australia secondly we have taken notice of your comments and have ordered several replacement tennis rackets and a bicycle riding helmet as required the bikes are built for the rugged all weather tracks and trails which are common up here these were recommended by our supplier but we will look into it further. I have sent you an email via Tripadvisor requesting details of the lodge you stayed in so we can address you comments regarding the lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

From the moment I booked our stay
the Eaglereach the Staff were very thorough
and efficient.
Our stay felt very homely,
The layout worked well for our family of 4
Very close to Restaurants and Shopping
Our puppy loved it too.

We would recommend to overseas visitors

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HunterCooee, General Manager at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Greetings Rose Family
These good folks stayed at Eaglereach on the Water which is located on Lae Drive very close to Runaway Bay Gold Coast and yes many excellent restaurants bistros and shopping centres such as Harbourtown and Runaway Bay Shopping Centre are located nearby. Also two pools including a lap pool and its dog friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our stay at Eaglereach was wonderful and with 3 kids in tow, we wondered how we would entertain them. Kids were over the moon with some great family bonding time exploring, kayaking on the lagoon was a huge hit as was yabbying, 4wd, swimming, tennis. We all enjoyed daily buffet breakies and saw so many different animals. Kids never got tired of seeing walabies and their little joeys, kookaburras, possums at night, many lizards, even a green tree snake. Staff were lovely and always helpful and the cabins were enormous, with amazing views.
would highly recommend anyone going there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annmarie9989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HunterCooee, General Manager at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi Annmarie 9989 Yes a great choice to bring the kids to experience uniquely Australian nature based activities. As you would have seen we promote the Resort as an nature based wonderland where the wildlife is alive everywhere in their own natural habitat. What surprised us when we first pioneered the resort and ever since was how many Aussies had only seen the native wildlife in zoos and theme parks let alone our international visitors. We are also were so glad you mentioned exploring these is such a wide variety of eco systems from Mountain top to rain forest and of course the lagoon for kayaking and the dams for yabbying. The great feature of having 660 acres is there is room for everyone to relax or be as active as they wish without disturbing anyone else.
We look forward to welcoming you back with your team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just arrived back from 2 great nights at the Eaglereach Resort.

Our lodge was the Rocky Mountain and we could not have been happier, the views went on for ever, we regularly had 10-15 Kangaroos in the back which was amazing. The lodge itself is spacious, the kitchen clean and more of a homely feel than that of a hotel. If you want sleek and modern stick to the City. I felt everything was in keeping and nothing could have made our stay better.

We ate in the Bistro twice, the staff were friendly and again a very nice setting to eat. The menu was simple however the food was cooked well and reasonably priced.

You have to try and catch some Yabbies, we found out the best time is early in the morning or late in the afternoon, we even had a bite from a turtle!

I think the resort suits all scenarios, we came for a quiet couple weekend however we already are thinking it would be great to share with a group of friends, we do not have children yet however kids would love it too so all in all I'd reccomend a visit.

We checked out a local vineyard, it's about 25 mins away. It is a small family owned but we got to sit down with the owner, taste some wine and get a personal service. He even allowed us to drive off limits through the vineyards and by the river for some good photos and a quiet picnic spot. Wine is good quality and great value, plus the owner is a very nice chap! It's called Camyr Allyn nr East Gresford.

Room Tip: Im sure all rooms are great however Rocky Mountain won't disappoint. Buy some Roo food from Rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheStag247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HunterCooee, General Manager at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hi The Stag 247 frrom London
Great to have you stay with us and to share with the Tripadvisor audience your impression of your stay. You nailed it in one when you said " if you want sleek and modern stick to the city" We are proud to be an Aussie nature based resort alive with native animals like the Kangaroos which appealed to you so much. A favourite spot I would like to recommend is the Observatory deck at the Bistro to have a drink before dinner where the wildlife comes out for feeding and the lights on the Pacific seaboard deliver a superb spectacle. I am glad you enjoyed our closest vineyard and yes the owner operator is a great character. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vacy
18.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
22.0 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
19.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
20.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
19.5 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaglereach Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaglereach Wilderness Resort

Property: Eaglereach Wilderness Resort
Address: Summer hill Rd, Vacy, New South Wales 2421, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Vacy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vacy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaglereach Wilderness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award-winning mountaintop paradise alive with native animals in their natural habitat. Accommodation in s/c lodges 1-6 bedrooms and resort rooms 4 to 4.5 star. Bistro and bar offering casual to a la carte dining, day spa and eco systems from mountaintop to rain forest, all non-motorized activities and equipment free including mountain bikes, self-guided nature walks, kayaks, internet kiosk, DVD library.New Corroboree Meeting Place for conferences functions and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Eaglereach Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaglereach Wilderness Hotel Vacy
Hotel Eaglereach Wilderness
Eaglereach Wilderness Resort Vacy/Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing