We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have found the perfect place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vacy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banjos Bushland Retreat
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Vacy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2012

When you are welcomed by friendly kangaroos you know you have found somewhere pretty special. You had won over our kids at that point! The views from the wraparound deck was amazing & with large (perfectly clean) windows we spent a long time just taking it all in. Travelling with four other families it was perfect. Each family had their own bedroom/s & bathroom & the cottages were very spacious & clean. We felt like we were at home instantly. We loved the open fire & relaxed in the very comfortable leather lounges. We made great use of the tennis court, putt-putt & games room. The wildlife coming right to our door was a great experience for us & the children. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer - we have booked for next year. Michelle

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CentralCoastMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 31, 2012

When first time guests choose to return to Banjos for another visit it really speaks for itself!
Jenny & Malcolm Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Banjos Bushland Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 122 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

Banjos is a lovely place to escape to for a getaway with family and friends. This was our third stay in Brumby's Run and we have already booked again for next year. The lodges are clean, the bedrooms are large and the living areas are spacious with lots of room for everyone. You can do as much or as little as you want and it caters for all ages. We always make good use of the games room which has a spa, sauna, billiard and a ping pong table. There is also a tennis court, 9 hole mini putt putt and children's play area which keeps all the big and little kids entertained all weekend! All you need to pack is your food and clothing as everything else is provided such as linen/towels, bathroom amenities and the kitchen is well stocked with plenty of crockery/utensils/cutlery. We've been here in the summer time but we particularly enjoy visiting in winter so we can sit around and enjoy the lovely fireplace. This is one of our favourite places to stay and can't wait until we return next year!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank dichow88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We've just come back from our second stay at Banjos. Our extended family of 11 went in October 2011 to celebrate our mother's 81st birthday and we had two houses (Brumbys Run and Clancys) and we had such a great time and wanted to spend longer so we went against this last Easter.

The houses are just brilliant! They are perfectly presented with every imaginable convenience, cutlery, crockery and cooking utensil that you would ever need for a large group. There are TVs and DVD players in every bedroom and every bedroom has its own nicely appointed ensuite. The houses have very high ceilings and floor to ceiling windows to maximise the views.

We had all our "family time" in Brumby's Run which easily caters for our family of 11 both in the dining room and on the verandah overlooking the valley. The "boys" had a great table tennis and pool competition in the games room and we went for walks each day.

Although we had four days at Banjos this Easter and we thought that would give us lots of time to explore the surrounding area, we actually only left Banjos on the Saturday as we had more than enough to do right there on the mountain.

Our adult kids had a great time and it was nice to just relax and take in the views of the valley. The only disappointing thing for us this trip was that there wasn't as much wildlife (wallabies, kookaburras and possums) as there was last trip. In October 2011 we had nine wallabies just about camped on our front lawn and we were hand feeding the possums and kookaburras.

One night we sat on the verandah and watched a big electrical storm come up the valley which was very spectacular and that gave us the excuse to use the fireplace where the big kids toasted marshmallows.

Lastly we'd just like to thank Jenny for all her assistance in organising our stays at Banjos. She is always keen to help and likes to make sure everything is perfect. She takes great pride in her property and it shows in all aspects of the presentation of Banjos.

Overall we've got to say its the perfect place for a large family or group getaway!

Room Tip: Brumby's Run works as a great central hub as it easily accommodates all the group and has the be...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lew_and_Geraldine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Banjo's rates itself as a five star resort that is private,secluded and very well equipped. It truly lives up to what you would expect with that build up.
Situated in the most relaxing environment I can imagine with wild life (birds, wallabies) always in view, there is everything at your fingertips that your stay may require.
In luxurious spacious surroundings, air conditioned and/or warmpth from a blazing wood fire you can relax,read, cook, play games or when feeling energetic, play tennis, tbilliards, table tennis or take a Spa or Suana (these facilities are only available too the three homes that make up the resort).
Banjo's is lovely, comfortable and woth every penny. Our family and a lot of our friends love the place.

Room Tip: Book to suit people numbers - all great.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255060tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The moment we walked in the front door of Banjos I knew we were in a special place. We were there in Winter and enjoyed a beautiful open fire whilst gazing out a kangaroos feeding and colorful birds in their native habitat. The facilities were all excellent, the kitchen was wonderfully stocked and the comfortable beds were dreamy. We were staying at Banjos with another family, and there was so much space ( both inside and out) that you could find a nook to read a book, play a board game or enjoy a bush walk without feeling disturbed- blissful. I highly recommend Banjos for aN energy renewing break from busy city life.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank KTTW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I spent the weekend there with my son and my grandfather (he's 90 years old). Even though it was raining for part of the weekend, we still have a totally enjoyable time. Hand feeding wild animals just outside the door of the lodge was amazing. The information provided by Banjos all along the way was spot on and I'm so glad we read it all so that we had the right stuff for the Kangaroos and birds... I mean hand feeding a Kookaburra - incredible.
We will return - 100% guaranteed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne_Small
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

As the organiser of a number of previous group getaways for our circle of friends the options for suitable accommodation to take our numbers had become increasingly difficult over the years as friends became attached and babies arrived. With more than 9 couples/families in our group now the options had become limited to holiday parks, or locations that offer several cabins (but nothing private just for us). That's until i came across Banjos.
Banjos ticked every one of my boxes and after staying there a fortnight ago i can tell you it exceeded my expectations.
One of the things we loved the most was the fact every couple/family got their own room, with king sized beds and enough room to fit a single bed &/or portacot for the kids. And even better each room has it's own bathroom! Gone are the days of tension due to some couple having to sleep in bunk beds or single beds. No one can complain at Banjos.
The lodges are so clean, comfortable and well stocked. The owners have really thought of everything. Magazines, books, stereo, big screen tv, fireplace, heaters, linen and towels, plenty of cutlery and crockery, and even essentials like tea and coffee, salt and pepper, cling wrap, foil, shampoo and conditioner. Even better is the fact they have thought about big groups like ours, who tend to congregate in the biggest of the lodges (Brumby’s Run) for meals and have therefore stocked it with enough plates, cutlery, glasses etc to cater to all 9 couples/families, rather than us having to take things from lodge to lodge.
My only worry in our lodge was that the floor to ceiling windows were so clean I had to warn my 3 year old there was a window there and not an open door!
As for things to do. There was no need for us to leave Banjos at all over the weekend. Whilst the kids would have been happy walking around the natural bushland surrounds of the lodges and riding their bikes around the verandahs there was so much else to do. The tennis court is immaculate, the table tennis and pool table kept us occupied, the big spa with windows opening it up to the natural beauty outside and a mini golf course 10 times better than our local one on the central coast.
Then there’s the friendly wildlife to feed, the scenic views and the peace and quiet (not that there’s much of that with kids ranging from 3months to 5 years among the group!)
I also want to say how wonderful the owners are. Throughout the enquiry and booking process the owners provided prompt responses and plenty of info. The information provided before arrival is so, so thorough and they even called during and after the stay to find out how we enjoyed the property.
I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Banjos to anyone, especially big groups like ours. Requests are already in to make this an annual getaway for our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nattyb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vacy
17.5 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
869 reviews
18.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
16.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.4 mi away
Eaglereach Wilderness Resort
19.0 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banjos Bushland Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banjos Bushland Retreat

Address: Moonabung Mountain Range, Vacy, New South Wales 2421, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Vacy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Vacy
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Banjos Bushland Retreat Vacy/Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing