We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the ideal location, but a nice B&B” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not the ideal location, but a nice B&B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

Pros: breakfast, proximity to Montpelier, friendly inn keepers, close to vineyards

Cons: Doorway ceilings too low (made for people under 6 feet tall), views (across the street from a gas station), limited dining choices in town

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCPete27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
242
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

My husband and I wanted to get away from the city for a weekend and were pleasantly surprised by the wonderful and gracious accomdations and hosts of the Holladay House. The room was immaculate and the hot tub was awesome! Very comfortable and cozy. The breakfast was delicious and we were made to feel right at home. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend with luxurious accomodations, good food and good wine!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AbitaDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

My husband and I were given a 2 day get a away by our son and daughter-in-law for Christmas. We saved the trip so we could see the leaves turning in the fall. We were pleasantly surprised. The house is just superb.
The Innkeepers Sam and Sharon were so down to earth. Sam is quite a historian and Sharon she is a GREAT COOK. Our breakfasts were delicious They made us feel right at home. I had to ask for the recipes. Sharon was on the money recommending places to eat dinner and helped us find all our other interests. Our room was comfortable and very clean. I am real picky about where I stay and was most comfortable. The Beds were very comfortable. I loved the sheets. They even called us to tell us that our friends could join us at the last minute. They called as soon as they had a cancellation.
I would recommend the Bed and Breakfast to anyone. I know we will re-visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dorsman5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

Sharon and Sam as hoteliers are superb. Sharon is part 5 star chef, travel agent, and sommelier. Sam contribution as local historian, chamber of commerce and everything else under the sun cannot be discounted; we loved every minute of our stay as this couple and their B&B is an experience not to be missed. Rooms, baths, internet connections with gratis printers, fresh cookies on the mantle... everything was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abc095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, VA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

My husband and I celebrated my 50th birthday at the Holladay House, and we couldn't have had a more wonderful experience. The innkeeper, Sharon, was very gracious and accommodating, and I could go back every morning for her breakfast. (Her chocolate chip cookies are sinfully delicious as well.) Our room was immaculate. I was surprised by the fact that in a house that was built in the 1800's, you couldn't hear a sound from the other rooms. I didn't even realize there were other people there until we saw them at breakfast. And although Orange is a very small town, it's perfectly located for winery touring, visiting Montpelier, or hiking on Skyline Drive.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noncamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

We stayed here on Oct. 2-6 and couldn't have picked the most perfect place. Our hostess was the most gracious and kind of any of the other B&B places we have stayed. Have already recommended to several people. Look forward to visiting again. Sharon did a fantastic job in making us feel welcomed and like home! Thanks again for an enjoyable stay.
Terry and Evelyn Eacho
Richmond, VA

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monagoVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

While in the Charlottesville area for a U2 concert, we made a reservation at the Inn. It was a very pleasant, but short stay. The Inn is pretty and very clean. Our room was bright and pleasant. The mornings breakfast was outstanding. We only stayed one night, but would love to revisit this grand Inn.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watermelontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
22.5 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.8 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holladay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 155 West Main Street, Orange, VA 22960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holladay House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic downtown Orange, this stately Federal-style home (c.A. 1830) Is within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Free guided walking tours of the town are available. Only 3 miles from James Madison's Montpelier, and 30 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. Wineries and Civil War Battlefields are also nearby. 6 Guest rooms offer fireplaces, double-sized whirlpool tubs, private porches, and full suites. Enjoy made-from-scratch cookies, VA wine and craft beer on our side porch, or curl up in front of the original marble fireplace in our parlor. Free WIFI is accessible throughout the house. Full made-from-scratch gourmet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holladay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing