We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia Beach, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed October 18, 2009

My husband and I were given a 2 day get a away by our son and daughter-in-law for Christmas. We saved the trip so we could see the leaves turning in the fall. We were pleasantly surprised. The house is just superb.
The Innkeepers Sam and Sharon were so down to earth. Sam is quite a historian and Sharon she is a GREAT COOK. Our breakfasts were delicious They made us feel right at home. I had to ask for the recipes. Sharon was on the money recommending places to eat dinner and helped us find all our other interests. Our room was comfortable and very clean. I am real picky about where I stay and was most comfortable. The Beds were very comfortable. I loved the sheets. They even called us to tell us that our friends could join us at the last minute. They called as soon as they had a cancellation.
I would recommend the Bed and Breakfast to anyone. I know we will re-visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dorsman5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
244
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Sharon and Sam as hoteliers are superb. Sharon is part 5 star chef, travel agent, and sommelier. Sam contribution as local historian, chamber of commerce and everything else under the sun cannot be discounted; we loved every minute of our stay as this couple and their B&B is an experience not to be missed. Rooms, baths, internet connections with gratis printers, fresh cookies on the mantle... everything was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abc095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, VA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

My husband and I celebrated my 50th birthday at the Holladay House, and we couldn't have had a more wonderful experience. The innkeeper, Sharon, was very gracious and accommodating, and I could go back every morning for her breakfast. (Her chocolate chip cookies are sinfully delicious as well.) Our room was immaculate. I was surprised by the fact that in a house that was built in the 1800's, you couldn't hear a sound from the other rooms. I didn't even realize there were other people there until we saw them at breakfast. And although Orange is a very small town, it's perfectly located for winery touring, visiting Montpelier, or hiking on Skyline Drive.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noncamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We stayed here on Oct. 2-6 and couldn't have picked the most perfect place. Our hostess was the most gracious and kind of any of the other B&B places we have stayed. Have already recommended to several people. Look forward to visiting again. Sharon did a fantastic job in making us feel welcomed and like home! Thanks again for an enjoyable stay.
Terry and Evelyn Eacho
Richmond, VA

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monagoVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

While in the Charlottesville area for a U2 concert, we made a reservation at the Inn. It was a very pleasant, but short stay. The Inn is pretty and very clean. Our room was bright and pleasant. The mornings breakfast was outstanding. We only stayed one night, but would love to revisit this grand Inn.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watermelontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Vernon, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Of the four B&B's we stayed at during our trip, the breakfast at the Holladay House was by far the best. Hosts were friendly, helpful and room was great.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NHSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

My wife and I traveled to Holladay House for a late August weekend to celebrate her birthday. Our hosts Sharon and Sam were wonderful and helped make this weekend very special for us. They have an instinctive knack for knowing exactly how much interaction guests desire and are happy to sit for conversations or retire with bright smiles depending on a guest's mood.

Sharon greeted us on our arrival and gave us each cookies during our tour. She then showed us to our room, insisting on taking our luggage down for us. She then offered to help us make dinner reservations. Sharon gave a stunningly accurate description of the restaurant we chose, right down to the amount of time dinner would take.

We stayed in the Garden Suite, which was very pretty. It has a wonderful side patio, perfect for a book and morning coffee. The room comes equipped with a large whirpool spa tub and a pair of extremely comfortable robes. It was perfect for a romantic getaway.

The breakfasts are delightful. They can be leisurely or quick depending on the needs of a guest. My wife and I relaxed during our breakfast on Saturday, choosing to spend more than an hour eating and enjoying coffee before taking a walk to the farmer's market (which has very tasty fruit and vegetables, including incredible heirloom tomatoes). On Sunday, we were in a bit of a rush. Sam and Sharon were able to accommodate our schedule, getting us fed and out the door within 15 minutes. The food was excellent. We had a crustless quiche on Saturday and to-die-for french toast on Sunday. The coffee, which is roasted at a local store nearby, was delicious. I am usually a one-cup-a-day guy, but had three before I called it quits. They were also happy to accommodate my wife's food restrictions, serving veggie sausage instead of bacon on request.

All in all, we could not have been happier. Sharon and Sam were wonderful hosts and helped make our weekend amazing. We look forward to visiting them again!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jdldore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.4 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
317 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
0.4 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holladay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 155 W Main St, Orange, VA 22960-1528
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holladay House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Federal-style inn (1830) situated in the heart of historic downtown Orange. Within walking distance of restaurants, art galleries and shops. Only 3 miles from James Madison's Montpelier, and 30 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. Wineries and Civil War Battlefields are also nearby. 6 rooms/suites offer fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private porches, and free WiFi. Enjoy made-from-scratch cookies, VA wine and craft beer on our side porch, or curl up in front of the original marble fireplace in our parlor. Full made-from-scratch breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Holladay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing