We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Mayhurst Inn(Orange)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$265
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shenandoah Crossing(Gordonsville)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
326
21
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
326
21
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscreme brulee french toastmy husband and icookiesbed and breakfastquick tourdvd playerquicheget awaya separate sitting roomwonderful experienceintimate weddingcakesmall weddingperfect choicelook forwardnext morningmadison room
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 350 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I spent a very nice weekend here in December. We were greeted warmly by Sharon and stayed in the James Madison suite which was so cozy and quaint. Loved the living room and separate fireplace in there (especially as the weather was rainy and cold). Borrowed a movie from their collection after a dinner at a local restaurant. Had great recommendations from Sharon to visit Honah Lee Winery (well worth the stop) and Barboursville and then on to Montpelier. Breakfast was so good - Sharon is an amazing cook! However, I can't stop thinking about her shortbread cookies which are to die for! We will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellabella_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thanks so much for your review! The John Madison Suite is a perfect "cold weather" cozy room with it's fireplace :) Remind me to make the shortbreads the next time you come - lots of our repeat guests put in their cookie requests while making their next reservation :) Have a great winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I had a fabulous night away on a trip from Washington, D.C. to the Wintergreen resort outside Charlottesvile, VA. We stayed in the Ivy Suite, which was luxuriously adorned with a large bathroom with Jacuzzi tub and a 50" flat screen TV. The DVD collection was substantial. The breakfast was also outstanding, consistent of yogurt parfait and bacon and egg dish. We also ordered an awesome chocolate lava cake for dessert, and got a the wine tasting package, including free tastings at Barboursville Vineyards.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank am686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thanks so much for your review! I'm so glad you were able to relax in the Ivy Suite - it's a great room to watch one of the many DVDs we have available for our guests to borrow. And that homemade dark chocolate lava cake is a guest favorite! In fact, we plan to add a few more "late night desserts" to our menu in Spring 2014 due to the popularity of the lava cakes :) You'll have to try one on your next visit and tell us which is your favorite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I finally used a gift certificate that our son gave us last Christmas! We arrived on a cold, rainy day to find a cozy fire in the living room fireplace, a home twinkling with holiday decorations, delicious home-baked cookies, and the lovely Oak Room where we stayed the night. Holladay House is a gem! The location was great, the accommodations were excellent and the breakfast simply delicious. Sharon made us dinner reservations that evening at Elmwood at Sparks across the street. Perfect for a rainy evening. And we enjoyed the coffee package - a beautiful mug, a pound of delicious house blend coffee, and a terrific tour of Orange County County Roasters with owner Al Welker. We learned about the coffee roasting process and sampled many varieties. Caffeine heaven! We will definitely be back to do more Orange County exploring.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanefb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thanks for taking the time out of holiday shopping to write this review :) We might be a bit biased, but we think the inn lends itself to sparkly holiday decorations :) This inn is so cozy in the wintertime. And you have discovered another gem in the area: Orange County Coffee Roaster's Al Welker. We love the folks where we buy our coffee! Looking forward to helping you plan your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Holladay House. The location is perfect for seeing the mountains of Virginia and Charlottesville. The breakfast is amazing. The home is beautiful and Sharon is an outstanding hostess! We will definitely be back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DerekHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review! We enjoyed having you both here as well! And you're right - when we say our location is in Central VA, we mean CENTRAL Virginia! Looking forward to your return stay -- and let us know if we might help you plan out an itinerary :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Holladay House has easy access parking behind the B&B. Our room the Ivy Suite was one of two rooms located at the rear of the building. The room did not have a view but the amenities more than made up for that. The B&B is within walking distance to the visitor’s center located in the train station, and several restaurants. We picked up a self-guided walking tour of the historical area. In addition, James Madison’s home, Montpelier is just a short drive as well as Jefferson’s Monticello. Our stay included a hot air balloon ride, our first that was very exciting. Of the four B&B’s we have stayed so far in Virginia, the breakfast and seating arrangement were our favorite. Overall, we had a very enjoyable 42nd wedding anniversary experience. Thank you Sharon!

Room Tip: The free WiFi had an excellent signal in the Ivy Suite and a 50 inch TV.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear 42nd-ers:
You're welcome! We loved having you here for such a special occasion!

The fall foliage hot air balloon ride must have been stunning! Did you know the hot air balloon rides run all year long - including the winter? It's actually not that cold up there during that time frame and is a fantastic time to really see the rolling landscape without barriers :)

As for our breakfast seating - we're happy to have both a large table and two-person tables so folks may choose how conversational they want to be in the morning - especially before their first cup of coffee!

Happy Anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews