We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsurpassable Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We recently visited the Holladay House B&B, which we found absolutely delightful! Sharon was warm, friendly and very easy to talk to. She made several recommendations for restaurants and sites to visit and they were all spot on. The B&B was immaculate, the people were friendly and the suite was perfect. Our breakfasts, which included fresh local fruits and veggies, were unique and delicious, were served nice and hot. The locally brewed coffee was really delicious.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is a very private suite with a nice little porch complete with bistro set. The bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BurgGirl620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

We are delighted you had such a wonderful time with us - we must admit we had a great time having you here :) And I'm especially glad you liked the whirlpool tub and new shower - we have a secret bathroom-crush on it :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 336 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

We enjoyed meeting Sharon and her in laws. The breakfasts were very good and Sharon was extremely hospitable and helpful ! They were very helpful in giving us with directions and tickets and tasting passes to wineries. Montpelier was extremely well restored and a great tour! We enjoyed Barboursville Winery(great wines and people)and ruins and Keswick (great wines),Gray Ghost(great wines and people), Jefferson (near Monticello), Pippin Hill(great wines and view)and Rebec(great wines) wineries. We. also, visited Fredericksburg Battlefield and town(great downtown and great distillery A. Smith Bowman), Spotsylvania Battlefield, Chancellorsville Battlefield and the Wilderness Battlefield. Great stay at Holladay House for all of the above plus friendliness of our host, Sharon!

Room Tip: chose Ivey Suite for location and the room was convenient for parking and ease of entering with lugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scot1ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

We had a blast helping you refine your plans to visit as much of the area as you could during your stay with us! You certainly hit a ton of the highlights, including much of the beverage providers that make this area special :) We look forward to your return where we can help you plan visits to more of the better kept secret places around here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our daughter's UVA graduation was last weekend and when I started looking a YEAR ago for someplace to stay in Charlottesville--I wasn't able to find ANYTHING! So I started looking in out lying areas and Orange was one of them. Luckily the Holladay House B & B had rooms available and let us book a year in advance! WHAT A FIND!!!! The house itself is charming and lovely and the rooms have many extras! (Ours had an awesome hot tub and shower!) The main areas are gorgeous and very welcoming filled with beautiful antiques! But the best part of our stay was our host Sharon and her family. She was warm and friendly from the moment we walked in and SO very accommodating for whatever we needed--especially for my husband. He is dairy and gluten free and Sharon not only made him special breakfasts, but even made him gluten free cookies and had them waiting for us in our room! She even went out and bought him almond milk and tomato juice for our second day there! Definitely above and beyond personalized service and if we are ever back in that area--we would most definitely stay with them again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you SO much for your comments about staying here - we LOVED hosting your family for UVA graduation weekend. We're pretty close to UVA, but not close enough to be in the middle of all the crowds :) We look forward to having you return with a little more free time to enjoy more of what this area has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We love staying here with Sharon and Sam. We feel like family. The rooms are so clean you can not find dust or dirt. The food is great . Sharon and Sam really go out of the way to make sure your stay is comfortable and you will have all your needs met. Just a great place we come back year after year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

We look forward to having you both here time and again - you ARE like family! We especially love how you take advantage of everything this area has to offer each time you're here: wineries, hiking trails, great restaurants... We look forward to your next year's visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was a second marriage for both of us and we didn't want anything big. But we also wanted something that would give us nice memories. I scanned the internet for a pet-friendly B&B or Inn somewhere in Virginia. I found Holladay House on Trip Advisor and checked out their web site. It was a really nice site with lots of pictures and they offered several packages including one called the 'Traditional Elopement' package. We weren't eloping, but it was a nice overnight stay and included the wedding officiate, a bridal bouquet and groom's boutonniere, sparkling wine from a local Virginia winery and the Inn Keeper, Sharon offered to be our unofficial photographer. Everything was lovely. Sharon set up the antique sitting room with white flowers and a place for the wine bucket and toasting glasses.

Holladay House is an old building. But they have kept it nicely and have updated the bathrooms and some rooms even include a jet tub. They have a beautiful formal dining room where breakfast is served. Because we brought the dog, our breakfast was delivered to our room. It was delicious. I'd really love to get the recipe for the crustless quiche she served. And the little puff pastry-like rolls with all the buttery layers were to die for.

Sharon and her family have thought of everything to make your stay perfect and has given us wonderful memories of our wedding day. Thanks Sharon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time planning and organizing your wedding! And thank you for letting us get a little fur-time in with your pet - we appreciate the pet-fix! I am emailing you the recipe for the crustless quiche as we speak... The puff pastry rolls were the Holladay Family Buttermilk Biscuits - I always make an extra for myself no matter what diet I'm on ;D We're glad you enjoyed your wedding - it was our pleasure to host all of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Holladay House was a great escape. Our stay in the blue room was super comfortable and every detail was considered like the fluffy robes for my husband and after we were drenched in a thunderstorm. We were so happy we were able to bring our little parrotlet Joey. He was safe and comfortable too. Sharon made delicious gluten free breakfasts and her in laws Darnell and Kathy made us feel right at home. Joey got plenty of attention from Kathy which he enjoyed. You just don't get thus level of service and comfort in a chain hotel. Visiting Monticello and Montpelier were dreams come true for me. Having Holladay House to come back to was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

We are honored to be the "icing on your cake" for your getaway. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and learning about your parrotlet - our first feathered guest! Though torrential rains did punctuate your visit, I'm glad you braved the weather for the short drives to Montpelier and Monticello - as you mentioned, sites not to be missed when visiting this area. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a very charming house within easy driving distance of Charlottesville and Shenandoah National Park. Sharon was more than accommodating of my vegetarian and my husband's grain-free dietary requirements. Our "special" food was specially delicious. This really is a lovely home, and Sharon is incredibly welcoming and accessible. We strongly recommend it for anyone visiting the Orange area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

We had a wonderful time hosting you both! We are SO glad you enjoyed breakfast - we love coming up with tasty breakfasts for "special diets". Many of my favorite breakfasts were found by creating a menu for folks with dietary concerns (like your grain-free apple cinnamon pancakes - we LOVE those!!) We hope to see you both again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.8 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#4 of 8 in Orange
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.4 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
246 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holladay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 155 W Main St, Orange, VA 22960-1528
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range: $164 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holladay House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Federal-style inn (1830) situated in the heart of historic downtown Orange. Within walking distance of restaurants, art galleries and shops. Only 3 miles from James Madison's Montpelier, and 30 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. Wineries and Civil War Battlefields are also nearby. 6 rooms/suites offer fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private porches, and free WiFi. Enjoy made-from-scratch cookies, VA wine and craft beer on our side porch, or curl up in front of the original marble fireplace in our parlor. Full made-from-scratch breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holladay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing