We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Orange(Orange)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shenandoah Crossing(Gordonsville)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Culpeper)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Culpeper Inn(Culpeper)(Great Value!)
$93
$90
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
326
21
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
326
21
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscreme brulee french toastmy husband and icookiesbed and breakfastquick tourdvd playerquicheget awaya separate sitting roomwonderful experienceintimate weddingcakesmall weddingperfect choicelook forwardnext morningmadison room
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 350 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I LOVED our Holladay House Thanksigiving as well. Our motto is "Life is too short to repeat the same bed and breakfast" and we are on visit #3 here. The Holladay House is sooooooooooo welcoming, we feel like we are at home, only with lots of pampering and no work! It is luxurious, yet homey. We had not had Thankgiving dinner there, and thoroughly enjoyed it. From wine to ham AND turkey, cornbread AND regular stuffing, mashed potatoes AND sweet potatoes, wiht all the trimmings, of course, and THREE gourmet desserts!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The conversation wtih both Sharon's family and the other guests was delightful.

We live just an hour away, but think this is the perfect escapel Sharon has such attention to detail. Her soaps, both bath and hand, are always a treat. We enjoyed the new addition of a refrigerator and microwave upstairs for guest use.

Be sure to take the Coffee Lovers' tour if you are a coffee drinker. It is well worth it!

We always stay in the Oak Room. We never miss the chance to check out the antique stores, Corner Gallery (LOVE the jewelry there!!) and other interesting little shops right there in Orange. Although there are many wineries and historical things to do, we are happy with just "being" at the Holladay House. It's a place not to be missed!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandRRockville_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I have been making an annual trek to Sharon and Sam's Holladay House B&B for the past five years to enjoy the change of leaves and to soak up the area's history. But this B&B is more than just a place to hang your hat while exploring. From the scrumptious breakfasts made with local ingredients, the delicious locally roasted coffee, and the always out homemade cookies to the suggestions for things to do, reservations for intimate dinners, recommendations for shops to browse, Sharon does everything just so. This year we enjoyed a delicious Thanksgiving dinner at her home and even though none of the guests knew each other, by the end of the evening, we were talking together like old friends. I credit Sharon for creating such a relaxing atmosphere. We talk about returning to our "home away from home" and always book the Ivy Room, which we have come to think of as our room. We love the jetted tub, the private sitting room, and the comfortable bed with the romantic fireplace. We are planning a long weekend in June to do the coffee tour as well as visit some of the local wineries. If Sharon and Sam have their way, I don't think that we will run out of interesting things to do in Orange!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine4721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The owner was very sweet about us bringing two dogs with us! They had cute treats and doggy towels in our room for us. The breakfast was unexpected in a cool delicious way. The house itself is adorable and full of history. The location is great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband Roger and I had our last minute wedding at the Holladay House. Sharon the owner (along with her husband Sam) was more of a friend during the entire experience than the "innkeeper". Her caring touch was so appreciated on our special day. We had a very initmate ceremony (an elopement to get away from the stress!) that was absolute perfection. Sharon made the parlor a classic romantic scene and Don our Officiant was also a ray of sunshine! We stayed in the James Madison Suite and I felt like a queen! She helped us plan the entire trip's events and her genuine warmth made it a comfortable and pleasant experience. IT's not everyday a complete stranger makes me feel at home! I feel like I can be wary but Sharon and Sam have such an amazing disposition that we really felt welcome in their "home". Roger and I hope to emit that same sort of kindness and compassion to others as our new marriage progresses! Plus, Sharon has the scoop on the best romantic restaurants, the most historical vineyards, and where to get a chalkboard last minute in downtown Orange. We will be back as often as we can, including for our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were at Holladay House in the middle of our anniversary trip. Sharon was so helpful prior to our arrival. She made the arrangements for out "Meet the Madisons" tour at Montpelier and had breakfast ready early so we could arrive on time for our tour. We stayed in the Ivy Room and were so thankful for the jetted tub after driving and touring. The breakfast was gourmet, filling, beautiful (raspberries larger than I had ever seen) and delicious. We prefer a king bed so the queen was a change for us, but that is just us. The location is great. Will hopefully have opportunity to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews