We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Friendly =)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The owner was very sweet about us bringing two dogs with us! They had cute treats and doggy towels in our room for us. The breakfast was unexpected in a cool delicious way. The house itself is adorable and full of history. The location is great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 333 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband Roger and I had our last minute wedding at the Holladay House. Sharon the owner (along with her husband Sam) was more of a friend during the entire experience than the "innkeeper". Her caring touch was so appreciated on our special day. We had a very initmate ceremony (an elopement to get away from the stress!) that was absolute perfection. Sharon made the parlor a classic romantic scene and Don our Officiant was also a ray of sunshine! We stayed in the James Madison Suite and I felt like a queen! She helped us plan the entire trip's events and her genuine warmth made it a comfortable and pleasant experience. IT's not everyday a complete stranger makes me feel at home! I feel like I can be wary but Sharon and Sam have such an amazing disposition that we really felt welcome in their "home". Roger and I hope to emit that same sort of kindness and compassion to others as our new marriage progresses! Plus, Sharon has the scoop on the best romantic restaurants, the most historical vineyards, and where to get a chalkboard last minute in downtown Orange. We will be back as often as we can, including for our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were at Holladay House in the middle of our anniversary trip. Sharon was so helpful prior to our arrival. She made the arrangements for out "Meet the Madisons" tour at Montpelier and had breakfast ready early so we could arrive on time for our tour. We stayed in the Ivy Room and were so thankful for the jetted tub after driving and touring. The breakfast was gourmet, filling, beautiful (raspberries larger than I had ever seen) and delicious. We prefer a king bed so the queen was a change for us, but that is just us. The location is great. Will hopefully have opportunity to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was our third stay at Holladay House and it truly feels like our home away from home. The room was impeccable even though we arrived a couple of hours early, breakfast was delicious, and the innkeepers are both knowledgable and friendly. We will visiting again in the spring and look forward to our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue room, we love the decor!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My new husband and I were looking for a place to have a small wedding ceremony/elopement. We chose the Holladay House Bed and Breakfast based on the packages offered and prices. What a great choice. The service here is excellent. Sharon had everything just as we wanted it. She asked many questions to ensure that she provided what we expected. Her hospitality is unmatched. The bouquet and boutinere were very nice. Our wedding cake was beautiful. We were offered a choice of wine or champagne, Breakfast was also included in our elopement package. We stayed in the John Madison room, which was very spacious and comfortable. It had an adjoined sitting room. We had dinner at the Silk Mill Grille. It is not very fancy but the service is excellent. The food here is good as well. We were given free dessert with our dinner. We definitely recommend this Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My new husband and I were looking for a place for a small elopment - we got so much more! From the elegant room to all the amenities. The double shower and whirlpool tub and the breakfast and homemade cookies. I cannot say enough about the hospitality and Sharon made us feel so at home and was so knowledgeable about the area and things to do and places to visit. We definately plan on visiting again. We definately recommend this B & B !! Tim & Robin Adams

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ivy Suite - great for honeymoons or romantic get away
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My partner and I decided to get out of Richmond for 1 night this weekend and settled upon The Holladay House. I am so glad that we did. The service was outstanding and genuine. We felt very welcome. I added the Cupid Package and it was an easy process to reserve the room online and Sharon followed up promptly with a few questions and an introduction. The package included a bottle of VA wine (she selected based on the description I gave her of our likes and dislikes), a fruit and cheese tray, and 65.00 towards dining at a local restaurant. She selected the perfect wine considering I gave her very little to go on, as we aren't terribly picky. It was a white from Gray Ghost Vineyards (Seyval Blanc, perhaps) and went perfectly with the mild cheeses and fruit. She also made a reservation for us at Elmwood at Sparks and had the certificate there waiting on us. We even had to shift our check-in and she offered to adjust our reservation time as well. She really went out of her way to accommodate us. We booked the John Madison room, which was very spacious and comfortable. We heard some street noise as the house is nearly 200 years old and the room sits directly on Main St, but it was not disruptive and we heard absolutely nothing from other occupants. The dinner at Elmwood at Sparks was truly wonderful, one of the better meals we have had since being in VA for nearly 2 years. My partner stated the scallops were the best he had ever had. After dinner, we walked around downtown a bit then headed back to the room and watched a movie from the DVD collection provided. The next morning, we went down for breakfast at 9 and were greeted warmly by Sharon who started us out with locally roasted coffee followed by a delicious blackberry / granola bake dish, that was almost desert like but not too heavy. The main dish was equally delicious and was similar to a quiche with egg, cheese, sour cream, and sausage...and perhaps some other ingredients, but the point is that it was tasty! She had asked us our plans for the day, which included some wine tasting. She then provided us with suggestions and complimentary passes to Prince Michel and Old House Vineyards. Of the 2, we favored Old House more.

I felt that Sharon did an outstanding job in making us feel welcome and it was like staying with a close friend who wants to make sure you have a great time and provides anything you could need or want. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and it is in a great location right in the quaint downtown of Orange; perfect for exploring the beautiful countryside and wineries.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank georgeglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.4 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
318 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
0.4 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holladay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 155 W Main St, Orange, VA 22960-1528
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range: $174 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holladay House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Federal-style inn (1830) situated in the heart of historic downtown Orange. Within walking distance of restaurants, art galleries and shops. Only 3 miles from James Madison's Montpelier, and 30 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. Wineries and Civil War Battlefields are also nearby. 6 rooms/suites offer fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private porches, and free WiFi. Enjoy made-from-scratch cookies, VA wine and craft beer on our side porch, or curl up in front of the original marble fireplace in our parlor. Full made-from-scratch breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holladay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing