We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I recently got married at the Holladay House B&B, and the hospitality and level of service given by the proprietors of this fine establishment are second to none. Sharon did an impeccable job of arraigning our ceremony, flowers, and wedding cake, all of which were fantastic. Though the owners, Sam and Sharon, were unable to be there during our stay, Sam's parents, Cathe and Darnell, did an outstanding job of having everything ready for our ceremony and making our wedding weekend perfect. We look forward to visiting the Holladay House again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyAndreatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
242
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was the first bed and breakfast my wife and I stayed in, and we weren't sure what to expect. However, Holladay house far exeded our expectations. It was one of the most relaxing experiences we ever had. The accomodations were warm, cosy and clean. But the real kicker was the personalized customer service, which I felt rivaled other 5-star hotels I've visited. Our host went above and beyond to make us feel welcome, and make our stay as worry-free as possible. She even helped me keep a couple surprises I had for my wife under wraps until the time was right.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden room. It had a private deck area and a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kester K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Holladay House (HH) location is an excellent stop on the way back to DC from points further south. On arrival, no further driving is needed. Excellent restaurant (Elmwood at Sparks) is literally a two minute walk down Main St. from HH. Great location for visiting Montpelier. Rooms and sheets are clean. Sam and Sharon are thoughtful hosts. Breakfast is delicious. Sharon really knows what she's doing with the food. Tasty coffee.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleyBumpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We spent two nights at Holladay House in charming Orange, Virginia and could not have been more thrilled with our stay. Sharon is simply a glorious hostess and went beyond the call of duty to take good care of us. Her restaurant recommendations were sublime and she accommodated my food allergy issues with ease. Our room was the James Madison Suite and was a perfect place to revel in the history and earlier days in the Piedmont. A short drive to Monticello gave us the opportunity to spend a leisurely day there before returning for another relaxation time and dinner within walking distance in town. Our room was spacious, extremely well appointed, clean beyond measure and comfortable in every way! We look forward to returning to Holladay House and Sharon's gracious hospitality.

Room Tip: If you want to be in the original part of the home, select the James Madison Suite or the Blue Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our second stay at the Holladay House was as charming as the first. The House is quaint, quiet and lovely; the food is fresh, local and delicious; and the hospitality is worthy of an historical Virginian home and town that is equally comfortable with itself and its visitors. We live only an hour away, but staying here is truly a refreshing get-away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Holladay House was the perfect relaxing escape we were looking for to celebrate our 6th wedding anniversary. Sam and Sharon were wonderful and accommodating hosts, literally always ready to help us with anything we needed to make our visit memorable. When we arrived, we had a list of some possible restaurants and wineries to visit, but were so glad we spoke with Sam about it first! His recommendations were spot on and we were able to save time and have an incredible day in and around Orange. When we returned, homemade cookies and the Ivy room were waiting for us - a large room that has a living room with sofa, big flat screen TV, double shower, 2 person jacuzzi, and fireplace. Furnished with charming antiques, the bedroom area even has its own very special door - the original large front door of the house with Lewis Holladay's initials. After a soak in the tub and a movie in the living room area, we felt totally spoiled. In the morning, breakfast was a delectable berry crumble with homemade granola, crustless quiche wrapped in ham, fresh fruit, toast and locally roasted coffee. It's clear that Sam and Sharon have a passion for this business and work hard to provide a customized experience for their guests. We’re looking forward to a longer stay next time, and would definitely book the Ivy room again.

Room Tip: The two rooms with the jacuzzi tubs are on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

In town for a family wedding, Holladay House was the perfect place to stay! Welcoming, accommodating for our late arrival, and with a delicious, fresh breakfast, we felt right at home. Our suite was immaculate and Sharon could not have been more cheerful and and helpful. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
22.5 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holladay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 155 West Main Street, Orange, VA 22960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holladay House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic downtown Orange, this stately Federal-style home (c.A. 1830) Is within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Free guided walking tours of the town are available. Only 3 miles from James Madison's Montpelier, and 30 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. Wineries and Civil War Battlefields are also nearby. 6 Guest rooms offer fireplaces, double-sized whirlpool tubs, private porches, and full suites. Enjoy made-from-scratch cookies, VA wine and craft beer on our side porch, or curl up in front of the original marble fireplace in our parlor. Free WIFI is accessible throughout the house. Full made-from-scratch gourmet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holladay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing