We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Romantic Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Alexandria, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Romantic Escape”
Reviewed November 16, 2007

Wondeful place to go for a peaceful romantic getaway. The Bed and Breakfast was designed well, giving you the feel of an old house but with modern comforts. Owners Sam and Sharon were very friendly, made us feel very welcome. Every thing was kept very clean and tidy, no issues at all in the room or the house. Breakfast was served in a formal dining room but with a comfortable feel, and was delicious! We plan to recommend Holladay House B&B to all our friends!!

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Snoopdoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
243
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

I had a very hard pregnancy and after our son was born my husband, son and I wanted to get out of town to a nice B&B. We looked online and were drawn to the quaint town of Orange. We chose the Holladay House because they were on the main street, which was convenient with a newborn so we could walk to everything, and my husband loved that they were one of the oldest buildings in the town.

Our trip began with a beautiful scenic drive. When we got there Sharon and Sam greeted us at the door and helped us drag all our things to our room. We treated ourselves to the Ivy Suite, which was on the lower level, giving us more privacy. What a beautiful room! The hot tub was very large, which is great because my husband is very tall. It is the first time we went to a B&B where my husband actually fit in the hot tub with me. Many B&B's advertise big tubs, but don't deliver. The Holladay House did; and the robes were sooo comfortable! It was so nice to relax while the little one was sleeping in the next room.

Sharon recommend a wonderful place for dinner, which took us one minute to walk to. Delicious food! That evening we had one of the best sleeps in a while (minus our little one waking up a couple times).

Then, in the morning, what a treat to have someone make breakfast for us! We brought the baby with us, and Sharon and Sam offered MANY baby items for us to use, though we didn't need them, it was so nice that they were prepared for that! And the breakfast! Oh my goodness. Sharon is a wonderful cook!! We had the French Toast. YUMMY! We would have asked for seconds if we had room in our tummies.

We highly recommend this B&B to anyone who has children, or is looking for a romantic weekend. We already booked our Anniversary. This time we will stay in the Garden Suite and get the Aphrodite Package. We heard that the chocolate lava cake is to die for. This time though, we will leave the little one at home with the grandparents.

  • Liked — food and service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank curle42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2007

Our Stay at the holiday house was perfect! Our room was beautiful, our hosts were exceptional and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Liked — The breakfast was excellent.
  • Disliked — No complaints, we had a great time.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank brannekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norhtern Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

The proprietors of this B&B were very nice and and helpful to make sure our stay was enjoyable. However, while the B&B was decent I noticed some odd things. First of all, we stayed in their two luxury suites -the Garden suite and the Ivy suite. In the Garden suite there was a stain on the carpet and both knobs were broken off the ice conditioner. Because we couldn't adjust it, I ended up freezing that night until I pulled the broken knob off and adjusted it manually in the middle of the night. In the Ivy suite there was a stain on the ceiling of the bathroom. When I took a bath in the jacuzzi of the Ivy suite there was hair in the tub from the trap which had not been cleaned out thoughly. The suites are downstairs and once people start moving around upstairs getting ready for breakfast you hear every footstep. All of this did not seem in line with charging top dollar for the suites. Breakfast was good but not inspired (better the second day). The B&B is on a main street of Orange and there is a lot of noise from traffic, even though we were in the back of the house.The B&B accepts both children and dogs and both were in attendence and making noise the weekend we went. My advice is not to go to this B&B if you want a romantic, quiet weekend.

  • Liked — the hosts went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful
  • Disliked — routine maintenance not done, loudness of other guests
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mamachick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 13, 2007
We regret that this guest's stay was anything other than fantastic, and were surprised when we read this review!

This guest arrived after a last minute reservation on Labor Day Weekend, our busiest weekend of the year. We went to great lengths to make their stay enjoyable, including moving them to another room on the second night because their first room was unavailble for a two-night stay. We even scheduled a special breakfast time for them, because our house was full and we wanted to ensure that their breakfast was peaceful and relaxing.

These guests were very kind and appreciative of our efforts, and we enjoyed having them stay with us. As we do with all of our guests, we asked them repeatedly throughout their stay if they were enjoying themselves and if everything was meeting or exceeding their expectations. In response, they returned smiles and compliments, and told us that everything was great. We never received any indication of any problems, or any statements of dissatisfaction.

Hence our surprise at reading this review! We take immense pride in offering clean accomodations in a warm and friendly atmosphere, as all of the positive reviews on this site and others attest. We also work hard at providing a delicious breakfast, and have recieved nothing but accolades regarding the meals we serve, and the fresh-baked cookies we provide in the afternoon.

Had we known about the negative experience these guests were having, we would have done everything possible to make things right while they were here. We have offered these guests an opportunity to visit again so that we can correct any problems, and we sincerely wish that they give us that opportunity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

We cannot say enough great things about the Holladay House. Sam and Sharon are excellent hosts: friendly, diligent, and accommodating. We went there for my wife's birthday, and I ordered a bouquet for our room; the flowers were beautiful (and lasted for quite a while, too). The breakfasts they served were delicious; they also gave excellent recommendations for eating options in Orange, and suggested some great places to visit (including Montpellier, which they helped us get discount tickets for as well). If you want to visit the region, the Holladay House is an excellent option.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SamRayburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Excellent stay provided by excellent innkeepers. We felt that we were special friends coming home to wonderful hospitality in a clean, accommodating environment. We highly recommend a stay and will definitely return!

  • Liked — Hospitality of the innkeepers and breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Luv2travelVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2007

We were looking for an out of the way place to stay for Memorial Day that was not far from Charlottsville, Culpepper, and Skyline Drive. The Holladay House was a great alternative to staying at a typical hotel or lesser B&B. The House was built in 1830, but our suite and the entire place were still in great shape. The decor was authentic and very nicely done -a real step back in time. Our hosts were very friendly and accommodating - with plenty of good advice. The food and treats were great too. We discovered more to do than we could possibly accomplish in three days and plan to return many times to enjoy the wonderful hospitality of the Orange area and the Holladay House in particular.

  • Liked — Curb appeal and decor
  • Disliked — Back entrance
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank SkylineHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
22.5 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.8 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holladay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 155 West Main Street, Orange, VA 22960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holladay House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Federal-style inn (1830) situated in the heart of historic downtown Orange. Within walking distance of restaurants, art galleries and shops. Only 3 miles from James Madison's Montpelier, and 30 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. Wineries and Civil War Battlefields are also nearby. 6 rooms/suites offer fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private porches, and free WiFi. Enjoy made-from-scratch cookies, VA wine and craft beer on our side porch, or curl up in front of the original marble fireplace in our parlor. Full made-from-scratch breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holladay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing